We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous building, friendly staff, rooms a bit dated but clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Diana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Diana
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gorgeous building, friendly staff, rooms a bit dated but clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a fab stay here in this really unique hotel. The architecture is quite transporting--we enjoyed sipping coffee in the common areas, admiring the glass and tile work.

Location and staff were fantastic. Breakfast was also noteworthy--everything you could want. My only small criticism would be the decor of the rooms themselves... just a bit dated, but clean. The room didn't really match the magnificence of the rest of the place. (That being said, we did not have one of those deluxe sea-view rooms--those are probably nicer!)

Room Tip: The extra expense of a sea view is probably worth the money here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corsica17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. Actually, we are currently working in improvements in our rooms decoration. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    167
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
142
355
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel is beautiful with mosaics and stained glass windows and it is situated directly across from the beach with wonderful views of the castel walls of Tossa. We have stayed in Hotel Diana twice and look forward to visiting again the next time we are in Spain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ksikorski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Tossa De Mar was our last stop after spending three weeks in Spain and the perfect place to unwind after a hectic few weeks of sight seeing. We stayed for three nights and loved every minute of it. The hotel appearance was fantastic the staff very welcoming and accommodating explaining exactly where we needed to park our car and which parking was the best value for money. When we walked into our room it was very spacious with a large bathroom, an anti-room with a couple of couches which opened onto a balcony with one of the most spectacular views we had seen in our travels. We opened the curtains walked out and viewed everything that Tossa De Mar had to offer. The dining below, the hotel courtyard, the beach, the promenade and of course the castle on the hill. This was the best value for money hotel that we had stayed in whilst in Spain and would certainly recommend that it be put on the must stay places if travelling in this area! David and Nicki

Room Tip: Ensure you request a room with a balcony on the Castle side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county down
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel and splashed out on the suite on the top floor. The exterior and interior of this hotel is a trip back in time and an incredibly romantic setting, particularly for those who appreciate architecture. However, I must be completely honest and say that on entering our suite, I was a little disappointed considering its cost. I fully appreciate that, as a listed building, there is a limit to the extent of refurbishment that is feasible but the rooms desperately need a facelift to be in keeping with the rest of the premises and to fulfill my notion of the word "suite". The advantage of the suite is that you have the entire top floor comprising of 3 terraces on which to dine or sunbathe and admire the incredible view. It must be emphasised that this room is unsuitable for those with disabilities due to the stair and step climbing involved.
On a more positive note, breakfast served in the beautiful courtyard was delicious and the hotel reception staff were warm and friendly.
I will certainly revisit this little gem but I will choose a less expensive room with a sea view. Tossa is one of the most beautiful places I have stayed with high quality reataurants at reasonable prices. If you intend to climb uphill to the fort/castle in the evening, I suggest you wear a mosquito bracelet. Oh and La Lluna really does serve the best tapas in Spain!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CountyDownHotelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We understand you did not find our Suite as excellent as it should have been, and we appologise for not meeting your expectations. We are working hard to make some improvements in our room decoration and services, and hopefully we will be better in a near future.

We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Mandeville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights, we have mixed feelings, both of us enjoyed the resort and felt that location wise, Hotel Diana was the best. The building is super with Gaudi influences but the bedroom was small and the bathroom was tiny, the rooms were spotless but it was all very old, yes recently redecorated but old fittings in the bathroom, the bed was very hard and tiny only 4 foot ish wide . For the price they charge I think we would try elsewhere in the future as the resort is fantastic.The bedroom was not the kind of room that was very welcoming. Cleaning staff were great, the main waiter at (a good) breakfast was grumpy and reception staff efficient but lacking in charisma. This could be a great hotel if it had modernised bedrooms and bathrooms and a bit more friendliness. It is very hard to find but aim for the sea front which you can drive along to unload your luggage think twice about using there own car park unless you run a Smart car or similar as it is tiny and underground.

Room Tip: Facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank symro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We appreciate every review of our guests, and we apologize for not meeting your expectations, and for any inconvenience you might have had during your stay at Hotel Diana. We will do everything that is in our hand to improve our service. We are actually planning improvements in the rooms and bathrooms, but I can not assure when will this be done. Please, if you ever come back to Tossa de Mar, check our website, and hopefully we will have made some big improvements in our rooms.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Hotel Diana is quaint and cute, with simple rooms, some of which have excellent views of the Mediterranean. The major plus of this hotel is its location. The main entrance of the hotel opens to a major square on the town's pedestrian street (which ultimately leads up to the Vila Vella). The other side of the hotel leads to its restaurant and finally the beachfront area. Even though you find yourself in the middle of all the town's activity, the hotel is rather quite at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcA0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I spent a weekend here with my grown up daughter and our rooms were both roomy and comfortable. The people on reception were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fine. The location next to the beach was great. I would definitely go back (but hopefully not on a weekend when the town has a beach disco competition!). Tossa de Mar is lovely - the castle, the small streets, the beach. A lovely hotel in a lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hardingly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry if your stay was disturbed by the disco music on the beach. It was a single party organized by the City Council, and we have already shown our disconfort to the City Council, and hopefully it will not happen again.

We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tossa de Mar
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#6 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#8 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#14 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
10.6 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Property: Hotel Diana
Address: Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diana 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Diana Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing