We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a 3 days stay”
Review of Hotel Diana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Diana
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Very kind and friendly service. Simple but confortable room (chose the ones with seasight, if possible). Nice location. Very nice building (former colonial villa). Free internet. Parking available only in a separate location (10 minutes walking). Breakfast could be improved.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment; the hotel Diana has one the best location you can have in Tossa de Mar, add the architecture beauty of the building and their great staff, make it “THE” place to enjoy an unforgettable vacations.

We hope you visit us again, and maybe you would like to try our suite with the absolutely very best sea view and Tossa de mar castle view you can get in Tossa de mar.

Best Regards.

Alex Tagle / Director
Hoteles Delfín y Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 690 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

Chosen on basis of reviews and because I liked the look of it, we stayed four days. Slightly worried by the look of the bedrooms but they turned out to be just fine. We had a room overlooking the square with shutters. Room simply furnished but with everything hotels normally provide - bedside lights, mini-bar, t.v. (sky news), air-con. Beds comfortable and room beautifully cleaned every day. The bathroom amenities as well as the usual shampoos and sewing kits also contained spare toothbrushes and shaving kit which is really thoughtful. Best of all was breakfast with a wide choice of very good food and coffee. Juices weren't freshly squeezed but I wasn't expecting them to be in a 2* hotel and they tasted pretty good. All the staff we came across were helpful and friendly. Beach towels can be got from reception for a €10 deposit. Nothing more positive to add that hasn't already been said. It is a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panama27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your words; you have described our Hotel, the service and our rooms in the best true possible way, I really thank you for been so honest and truthful in you comment.

Thank you for been our customer; I hope you came back again and aloud us to take care of you better than the last time.

Best Regards.

Alex Tagle / Director
Hoteles Delfín y Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is a fabulous hotel, it has everything you need. Location is great and service is great. We will be back. The upside: location, service, comfort. Downside: the breakfast in the morning has room to improve. The orange juice was from a box (too bad in Spain where oranges are awesome) and fruit was a little bit passed.... Apart from that, it was fantastic. If they improve the breakfast they serve, then things will be just EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvina3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Dear Costumer,

Thank you for your opinion; You can not be more right to qualify the Hotel Diana as a fabulous hotel, it has great service, great location and gorgeous architecture, but as you say we have room to improve and because that I will take serious note of your idea of fresh orange juice during the breakfast, thank you for your idea, I will start to work to make it happen.

I hope that by the time you will visit us again we will have improve those defects that you have point to us, thanks gain.

Best Regards.

Alex Tagle / Director
Hoteles Delfín y Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We really enjoyed this hotel. Not sure why it is only a 2 star. That made me hesitate before booking but I am glad I did. It is in a great location in the centre of the town and only across the road from the beach. Breakfast was good quality food and a nice variety.
The room was basic (Tiny bath) but very clean and comfortable. The AC worked well and I needed it. The staff are really friendly, helpful and attentive. I did not see any kids here and it is probably more suited to couples. My only complaint is paying to use a room safe. €4 a night for something that should be free. But I would still happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 09_04_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2011

Dear Costumer,

Thank you for you words; the hotel Diana has 2 stars because it is consider a historical building and it is protected, we have the duty to keep it as close to the original as possible, so the government does not let us change anything unless it is identical as original, at the moment most of our efforts are dedicated to maintain the building the best we can and I believe we are doing a pretty good job.

It is true, most of our customers are couples, because I believe that families are looking more for Hotels with activities for children, but still we have few families who visit us every year.

We also will be very happy that you stay with us again; maybe next time you may consider to try our suite, I am sure you will love it.

Best Regards.

Alex Tagle / Director
Hoteles Delfín y Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel has in an impressive but somewhat quirky old building directly on the main beachfront in Tossa, and right in the old town, is extremely well located once you find it, but, because it is right in the middle of the dense center, quite difficult to find as you enter Tossa--we found one sign in one location among the dozens of hotel direction signs. We parked some distance away and located it on foot. Once there, no problems to report. Desk staff were very friendly and helpful, room adequately sized with a nice terrace with a view of the castle, pleasant buffet breakfast, DSL worked well, bed was fine, a somewhat idiosyncratic bathroom arrangement with the toilet and bidet in one room and the sink and shower/tub in another, but this was not a major issue for us.

We would gladly return.

Room Tip: Views of the beach are definitely a big plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2011

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment; It is true, the Hotel Diana is right in the old town, fact that make it difficult to find, so we recommend our customers to e-mail us, so we can send you a map of how to get to us easy, it also could be a solution to call us, so we can guide you all the way until the front door.

It makes me so happy that you are considering visiting us again, and if I may suggest next time you should try our suite, I am sure you will love it.

Best Regards.

Alex Tagle / Director
Hoteles Delfín y Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved it. Teresa at the front desk was so kind and helpful. Breakfast buffet (with cava!) was one of the best we've seen in Europe. Art nouveau architectural style was uniquely fun. Mike - Portland, US

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9,823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Dear Costumer,

Thank you for your comment; Teresa from the Recepcion front desk is on the way to becoming a celebrity here in Tossa de Mar, because you are the third person who mention her and I am not surprise because she is all you say and much more.

We know that our breakfast is good, and we know that still have areas where to improve, for next time you visit us I am sure we will have got better, please give us you opinion again by then.

Best Regards.

Alex Tagle / Director
Hoteles Delfín y Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a week in late April/early May 2011. We asked for a room on one of the top floors with a sea view, which we got and payed extra for. The view is stunning really, over the beach and the castle. And it also have a reasonably good sized balcony. If you choose to have a room to the back, it's with a smaller balcony ("french"), looking out over a pretty, small square.

It's located as central as you can get in Tossa. Right in the middle of everything, with loads of restaurants, bars and shops just outside the hotel - and the city beach of course. If you come with the coach from Girona Airport, it's about 8 mins walk from the bus station.

The room was quite spartan, nothing special really. However it was good to have a fridge in the room and the bathroom was quite spacious.

The rest of the hotel was quite magnificent though. Apparently designed of a apprentice of Gaudi, and the the various rooms downstairs were lovely, as well as the little courtyard where you could have your breakfast. The selection there was very good. Fresh bread (rolls, baguettes, croissants, pastries..), fresh fruit, various cheese,yoghurt, cereals and some hot food. The hotel seemed to have guests from Spain, France as well as other countries in Europe and seem to cater fo all these.

The staff were lovely. Very helpful and gave us personal recommendations about restaurants etc. It was a lovely stay. Maybe they should improve the standard of the rooms a bit though, get softer beds. The ones they have now where quite hard.

But, would definitely stay here again. The prices were very reasonable, and even if the rooms were quite simple, you just can't beat the location and the look of the premises.

One tips - if you go to Tossa and like animals -. go to the dog shelter and take some of their dogs for a walk. We did that twice, and it felt really rewarding.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPlatypus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director at Hotel Diana, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear Costumer,

Thank you for your words; You describe the hotel very well, thank you to take the time to be so kind with us; We are very proud of our breakfast and we know that our receptionist and all the hotel staff do their very best to take care of our costumer as they are our own family.

I will take serious note of the comment about the rooms, I guarantee you that we will do our very best to get better over time, I urge you to came back and visit us again to check by your self our true improvement.

Thank you again.

Best Regards.

Alex Tagle / Director
Hoteles Delfín y Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
785 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,965 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Golden Mar Menuda
Golden Mar Menuda
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#15 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Address: Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#1 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: $99 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Diana Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing