We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Value, Service not Quite 4-Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed October 17, 2010

My wife and two sons, 12 and 15, stayed for four nights at the Gran Hotel Reymar in late August. We did quite a bit of driving to towns on the Costa Brava and we were happy with our choice of Tossa de Mar as a destination - it is a good mix of charm and enough going on to a have a good seledction of restaurants, without the overdevelopment of nearby towns such as Lloret de Mar.

This hotel is at an excellent location, right on the beach with a nice pool and within a short walking distance of the sights and restaurants in Town. We had a car but there is no reason to drive within Town and there is a parking garage at the hotel. The first night of our stay there was no room in the garage, which was frustrating, especially since there really was no good alternative. That was an example of why I struggle whether this is a 4 or 3-star hotel. It clearly fits in the 4-star category for location, cleanliness, and the breakfast was excellent (we did not eat in the hotel other than for breakfast).

There were a few items that should be noted and that might be helpful. We had reserved a balcony for our room and one without for the kids. It turns out that the balcony room cost twice as much as the non-balcony room and was on the 3rd or 4th floor overlooking an alley. It was clearly not worth it and we switched to a room at half the price after the first night. Also, the kids; room was down the hall overlooking the alley and smelled of smoke from people (I believe employees) smoking outside. Therefore, I recommend asking for a room away from that area and to avoid balcony rooms - they are not worth it. Other than that issue, the rooms were very reasonably priced considering the location. Nothing very fancy, but just fine for a family vacation. From what we saw of other hotels in the area, I think the price was right if you avoid the balcony room.

One other complaint. When paying for the sale (mildly annoying but consistent with other hotels' policy in Spain) and checking out, the credit card payment was processed in US Dollars, thereby requiring the bank the hotel uses to charge a 2 or 3% conversion fee and at an exchange rate not as favorable as my credit card company. When I asked about it, the response was "we don't get any more than the designated amount of Euros". I decided not to argue, but when I arrived home I complained to Best Western and they refunded the difference (about $50 in this case). I don't know why the hotel did not put through the charge in euros to provide the best exchange rate to the customer, but it is not a good policy. However, Best Western stepped up and provided a refund.

Even with that issue, I would recommend this hotel. It is a good value in the basic room, the pool is nice, it is well located, there is an excellent adjoining beach and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RockyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (664)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 664 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2010

My partner & I stayed for 3 nights ( 30th September until October 3rd ). Everything far exceeded our expectations. The location and surroundings could not be bettered. The staff were helpful and friendly and as we had a half board package we could choose lunch or dinner to go with breakfast. Food was well presently, good quality and delicious. Must mention the coffee at breakfast which was the best in any hotel for many years. We also had free use of the spa facility, which was well appointed. The outside facitilites were outstanding with direct access to the beach. Just the place to enjoy beautiful Tossa de Mar. Top marks to everyone !

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry_Martin1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We booked the hotel for 4 nights after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We booked via the hotels own website and got a great deal, less than £60 per room per night. Most of the other agents were charging double this rate.

The rooms were were allocated did not have a balcony but for this price I wasnt too bothered.

The rooms were very clean with daily maid service. We only had B&B but the breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice.

With regards to previous comments about the prices, all I can say is that the bar is no more expensive than other bars and restaurants around the town (Euro 2.50 for a pint of beer). Compare this to the prices over the border in France which are double!

The pool area was very nice and very clean, there were plenty of sunbeds but no parasols.

The beach is just outside the hotel and is excellent for snorkelling around the rocks. The sand isnt that great as its gritty/stoney. The beach bar is also owned by the hotel and is good value.

There is Wifi (which was included in our rate) around the hotel but the connection speeds are quite slow.

As for Tossa de Mar, I was a little sceptical before I arrived and imagined it to be like Lloret de Mar i.e Blackpool with Sun. I was totally wrong - it is a charming small town without the neon lights and lager louts. There are plenty of nice restaurants around all offering good value. Take a walk around the castle/walls there are some lovely places.

For trips further afield, the bus station is a 10 minute walk and there is a direct bus to Barcelona every hour or so. It takes 1 hour 20mins and costs around 20 Euros. If you plan to visit the Camp Nou for the tour, buy the tickets from the bus station as they are cheaper and mean that you dont have to wait in the massive queue at the stadium.

For transfers to and from Girona Airport we used Juan Carlos Moreno at taxiossademar.com who was very nice and charged a flat rate of 55 euros.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mike-cheshire-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We traveled to Tossa de Mar for two nights (a really fantastic choice for anyone looking for a place to stay in Costa Brava). We drove through Lloret de Mar which seemed much flashier and more developed. Tossa was a great size - lots of restaurants to choose from and places to explore but still fairly small and quaint.
This hotel was a really good choice. The lobby/bar/restaurant were all very nice (amazing views while having breakfast) and having a pool was a big plus. The beaches are beautiful but they can be crowded, especially on weekends and it was nice to have a quiet place where we could rest in comfy lounge chairs. The rooms were small, but modern with nice, clean bathrooms. We reserved the cheapest room in the hotel. While our view was of the wall to the building next door, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllieDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed at Gran Hotel Reymar for 3 nights. At the time of the booking, I specifically requested a sea-view room on a high floor, with a king or queen-size bed. When we arrived at the hotel, we found that our room was on the ground floor, with absolutely no view at all and there were twin beds. Clearly it was the hotel's mistake, but they did not do anything to make up for it. We had to upgrade to a suite and pay a difference of €95 per day.

The location of the hotel is quite convenient. It's located on a hill just behind the Mar Menuda beach and the beach is easily accessible. The city center is a 10-minute walk from the hotel. There is a market, a dive center and a number of cafés nearby so you don't have to walk to the city center every time you need something. However, bear in mind that there are not too many taxis in Tossa and the only taxi stop is near the bus-stop in the city center, i.e. a 15-minute walk from the hotel. If you will be needing a taxi to go to places around Tossa, it might be a good idea to pick a more central hotel.

The rooms are average. The hotel was supposedly renewed just recently but it sure doesn't look that way. It's clean, but everything looks old. When we tried to close the electric blinds in our room, the fuse blew off and the blinds just wouldn't close and we did not have electricity for the rest of the night.

They tell you there's a safe in the room. What they don't tell you is that you have to pay to use the safe! I don't remember the exact amount we paid, but it was something like €10 per day, which is ridiculous. I don't know any other hotel that makes you pay to use a safe.

My husband went to the SPA for a 60-minute "aromatherapy massage", which was supposed to be a full body massage, but somehow the massage therapist only massaged his arms and shoulders! When he asked if this wasn't supposed to be a full body massage, the answer was, no, this is how we do it here. Well, I wish they had told us before my husband wasted an hour at the SPA and paid €80 just to have his arms and shoulders rubbed!

The breakfast was ok, open buffet with not too many varieties, but not too bad. We did not have lunch or dinner at the hotel.

Generally, the staff isn't helpful at all and only very few of them speak English.

So overall, this is an average hotel that deserves 3 stars, not 4, if you ask me, even though it is priced like a 5-star hotel. I should nevertheless emphasize that unfortunately there are not too many good hotels in Tossa and thus, Gran Reymar is one of the best hotels in town.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pixie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We stayed in Room 1001. This is a family room and was HUGE. This room has a massive terrace on the front and gives you direct and un interupted ocean views and views all over tossa. Definatley the best room in the house as we saw other rooms that our friends stayed in.

Breakfast offers a huge selection of cold foods and a small but varied selection of hot foods. They even have Chanpagne on offer for breakfast included in the breakfast.

10 minute walk to the town centre. parking comes at a small cost of EUR12 per day, but who cares .. you are on holiday !! If you have a problem with Eur12 to park at the hotel you should really stay home !!!

Definatley will return, we have rebooked as we are comming from australia in August this year with a group of 20 of our friends and we are staying again !!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank firstclassboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

The hotel is more than adequate and has one of the best views of the beautiful harbor. Rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. The dining room has a fantastic view of the ocean and town. The beach is right outside the hotel. Free coffee is available just by calling room service.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veloman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Mar Menuda
Golden Mar Menuda
#11 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
779 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#15 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa

Address: Playa Mar Menuda s/n | Mar Menuda Private Beach, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#7 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: $106 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premier Gran Hotel Reymar, located on the seafront in Tossa de Mar on the Costa Brava, and just minutes from the town centre. The hotel is located on the more private Mar Menuda beach, separated from the main beach by a rocky outcrop, and a wonderful place for both adults and kids to sunbathe, swim, go snorkelling or even scuba diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tossa De Mar
Tossa De Mar Best Western
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing