We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveler rating
131
86
24
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
131
86
24
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view outdoor pool is we spent most of the time junior suite both lunch and dinner hot options favorite hotel breakfast was delicious close to town tea coffee making facilities enjoyable stay location is fantastic pool towels per day top floor an upgrade del mar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 256 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2017

Having read the reviews of the hotel we were really looking forward to staying here and while it is fair to say we had a great holiday in Tossa de Mar, and this hotel had many fantastic features, I have to also add that there were a few things that let it down.
First of all what the hotel did well it did very well and overall most people would agree that it is a very nice hotel. The views from the restaurants and the roof areas are fantastic, as good as you will get anywhere.
Now the food, we were on half board and you could have either lunch or dinner as part of the deal. Both of these options are waiter service and the hotel has service off to a fine art. There are four courses for both lunch and dinner and I would say they are all in the "fine dining" style.....in other words very small portions and not all to everyones taste. Having said that, whenever we dined in we did not leave hungry despite the small portions, more we usually felt that we had not had food that we had enjoyed.
Breakfast was buffet style. I thried the cooked breakfast the first morning.....the bacon was poor, the scrambled eggs were very sloppy and the sausage did not look fully cooked. Howvever.....the continental breakfast was the best I have had anywhere....a fantastic choice of cooked meats, cheese, cereal, fruit, pastries etc etc....in fact I was glad the cooked items were so bad as I really enjoyed my ontinental breakfast every day.
The rooms are very comfortable, we like a harder bed, the aircon was just right and they are kept very clean. Ours had tea/ coffee making equipment but the hotel does not supply tea or coffee.....although they dont tell you that!
The pool area was never full and thede were plenty of beds apart from the ones under the shades that some guests had "booked" with towels....but hardly ever used them.
The jacussi pool looked great and we could nof wait to use it but we had to come out because of the awfull smell of the drains beside it.
The staff are either very friendly or they ignore you.
Also a negative point is the expensive cost of renting a safe...it was free in another hotel where we stayed here last year.
As others have said the wifi is a joke.
The hotel has a fantastic location in a lovely place and many of my complaints are minor and we tended to just joke about it. We wil certainly come back to Tossa de mar again but maybe will look at other hotels before we book.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bobhaskett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Hotel Reym... S, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Dear Bob,
Thanks for letting us know that you had a great holiday and that the hotel has fantastic features.
Of course, we will also take into account all your information in order to improve and surprise you in a positive way if we have the chance to see you again.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017

Excellent Staff, Room, Meals, Location and all round service from arrival to departure.
Very clean and our room had balcony facing the Castle and large beach at the front of the Hotel on 6th Floor. The pool was excellent for quick cooling off with plenty of space for deck chairs at poolside and also the upper deck beside the Flag.
Meal times: breakfast and lunch time was fine although would have preferred earlier Dinner than 8.00pm until 10.15pm. Need to remember the Hotel is on the sea side overlooking the small beach and road with one way traffic is not suitable for Coach entry to the Hotel. We had to get dropped off our Coach from Gerona Airport at the Tossa Bus Station then call Premier Gran Hotel for Minibus for transfer to Hotel.
You pay 39 euro for a Safe Deposit Box.

Room tip: Number 6 or 7 floor is best for views and quieter. Very good lifts to all floors.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SaintAndrew2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Hotel Reym... S, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Dear Saint Andrew,
Thanks for such a nice review. And thanks for enjoying the hotel, staff, meals and services. We do work every day to meet our customers' needs and it is a pleasure to know that enjoyed your stay with us. It is indeed all we look for!!. We hope to have you around soon!
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2017 via mobile

We have two rooms, an ocean view and and ocean view suite. The view from both is terrific but the difference in the rooms is significant.

Smaller room appears totally renovated. Suite is tired and sparse with a totally useless parlor room with no electrical outlets, etc. it's just kind of there. The bathroom looks like it hasn't been touched since the late 1970's.

There are several restaurant, bar type areas which are quite nice but if the food is like the breakfast buffet, I'd skip it. The coffee maker they use for several hundred people is a joke and just makes you laugh.

The pool area is really nice but the changing room where the towels are smells like a baby's dirty diaper has been simmer in a pot of ammonia for 3 days.

Not that it matters on vacation but the hotel would be better served if they charged for wifi as opposed to providing a service that doesn't work.

And no coffee maker in our suite! The kids have one in the renovated smaller room but not in the suite?

There is a 4 star hotel next door (which is what this is supposed to be) and we'll be staying there next time.

Not impressed but hope it helps.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Duffiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Hotel Reym... S, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Duffiera,
Thanks for your information. We like that you enjoyed the location and views and we are sorry for not being able to give you all the free services you demanded.
Of course, we will work harder to improve and surprise you on a positive if we have the chance to see you again.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2017

I found the only problem in the heatwave was the fact that many sunbeds had no shade. More parasols would be a good idea. I don't know wether the management noticed that guests were huddled together in the central area under the sun shades whilst the sunbeds with no shade were virtually empty.

Yes the beds are very hard, on holiday I do like a comfortable bed but every day I woke with backache at the Reymar

Food This is not an hotel for guests who want meat, potatoes, 2 vegetables and gravy for dinner every night but if you are happy to try Catalan dishes cooked and served very well then you will not be disappointed.
I found every meal well cooked despite what other guests have said. OK you may not have eaten the various kinds of fish on offer but be brave and try them.

The desserts were to die for as well.

Staff were helpful especially a mention for Aaron who found my sunhat for me.

The hotel is built on a hill and it has many levels you must be aware of this if you have mobility issues.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Grumpel94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Hotel Reym... S, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2017

Dear Grumpel,
Thanks for your info. We like to hear that you liked the profesionality of our staff as well as our meals homemade with products from the local market. We never have problems with sunbed shades, but you are right with the heatwave and we will take into account this situations in order to improve.
We hope to see you soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017 via mobile

Was a little unsure what this hotel would be like. We normally book 5 star. But what a wonderful surprise. The hotel is modern in style over split levels. There are plenty of spacious seating areas both in the shade and outside areas. We were greeted by a very helpful receptionist and a very cheerful guy called Aaron took our bags and showed us to our room.

Room was white in decor but with a great blackout curtain. Bed very comfortable, good wardrobe space and there was a kettle to make tea and coffee. Excellent air conditioning by the way! Small but nice balcony which overlooked the smaller of the two beaches.

Food we couldn't rate highly enough. We booked half board which was perfect because you can choose to have either lunch or dinner. Both of these meals are selected from a 4 course menu. The desserts were AMAZING Seriously the cream and milk here are great which makes for fabulous creamy cakes like St Marc's cake.
The breakfast is contential in style but there were some hot cooked dishes. Most mornings I had water melon, yogurt and a Danish pastry.
The only thing that was a little strange is that you could not order coffee after dinner. So my husband went on a few occasions and got a coffee from the bar. No big deal but just a little odd.

The pool area was lovely and this is the first hotel I have ever stayed in that no one reserved a bed so we got one whenever we wanted one.

Staff are friendly and hard working. We looked in on the Spa but didn't use it.

Overall had a brilliant week and are looking forward to returning someday.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank cat5855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Hotel Reym... S, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2017

Dear Client,
We do appreciate you sent us such a nice review. We do work every day to meet our customers' needs and it is a pleasure to know that you felt like at home here with us. We hope to have you around soon!
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews