We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay for the View”
Review of El Celler de Mar

El Celler de Mar
Ranked #123 of 177 Restaurants in Tossa de Mar
Cuisines: Spanish
Description: This was listed, with reviews, bur has been deleted. It is NOT closed,please reinstate restaurant and reviews to date. thanks. SS/DE for Tossa de Mar
Restaurant details
Description: This was listed, with reviews, bur has been deleted. It is NOT closed,please reinstate restaurant and reviews to date. thanks. SS/DE for Tossa de Mar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pay for the View”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Paying for the location. Food was average and not value for money. Service was average. The setting was great overlooking the beach. Alright for a quick bite but nothing exceptional or to rave about.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teamstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    24
    10
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Lovely for lunch”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Popped for lunch ,in the shade. We all shared tapas (omelette, peppers, and ham) with a couple of rolls, tuna and a ham and cheese. A couple of large draft beers and some good wine of the house made it a very good lunch, made more fun by watching the flotsam coming off the Lloret boat!
So glad we chose Tossa De Mar

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank val-leasowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent service and location”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I think mine was one of the good reviews from last year that disappeared.

No matter, we went again this year. We love this place for its seafront location, and views of the vila vella. We stopped here several times for afternoon drinks and ice creams to cool down under the awning after the beach, and evening drinks and light snacks in the evening. We didn't have main meals here but only because our meals are included in our stay at the Golden Bahia, but the pizzas and grills we saw being served always looked very appetising.

What clinches it for us amongst the plethora of seafront cafes is the service. It was nice to be recognised as a returning visitor from previous years, and waitresses Kristina and Maria were always very friendly to our young son; going out of their way to entertain him in quiet spells. We aren't alone in liking it as it is always quite busy in the evening, but the service never diminishes.

And finally ... if you do go there, pat their nice dogs in their gated garden. :)

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fomzine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks.England
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,069 helpful votes
“Nice seafront position,good food and service.”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Very popular sea front location offering the usual fare but also some decent tapas (goats cheese,iberico ham). We generally only have a drink here in the evenings but have at least two lunches under the velum away from the midday sun. Two big tapas, a bocadillo atun and half a litre of house wine comes to €16- the Rosado is fruity but the red is a bit firm,more of a “steak dinner” wine.
Good friendly service

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Silverswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warks.England
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,069 helpful votes
“Great for food,drink and people watching.”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Situated in a prime position on the promenade this is very popular at lunchtime with locals and visitors arriving off the boats. Not fine dining but a really good selection of well presented and cooked items off the menu (pictures,I'm afraid).Freshly made tapas are really tasty.Really good fruity rose by the carafe. Portions are substantial and it can be a good choice under the velum in the evenings for dinner or just a drink,sitting on the front row of tables watching the world go by.
Note- El Cellar de Mar has had 4 previous good reviews listed but for some reason they were deleted so we have to start again.

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Silverswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Celler de Mar also viewed

Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 

Been to El Celler de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing