We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Town”

Vila Vella (Old Town)
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.97*
and up
Costa Brava Half-day Trip from Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This National Monument is the only surviving walled city on the Catalan coast.
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stunning, peaceful, with fantastic views of Tossa and the coast line, its like stepping back in time, let your imagination flow

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lobey10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,274
    332
    21
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Very well preserved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Old Town it's impeccable. The municipality has done a great job in conserving and restoring this place filled with history. Part of the houses are restaurants and they offer a great view. When you visit Tossa you feel like you are in another world. Everything is so calm and serene. All you have to do is enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank anateo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely views, worth the walk up, less able may struggle but there is a little train that goes up. There is also a nice restaurant where you can have drinks. Very calming.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Most authentic resort on Costa Brava”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you would like to visit somewhere on the Costa Brava that still has an authentic Spanish feel then try the Vila Vella in Tossa. I was somewhat sceptical when my partner suggested going to Tossa de Mar and that was not helped by the coach drop offs from Barcelona Airport stopping at Callela, Malgrat, Santa Susana, Blanes & Lloret de Mar which all remind me of the things I don't like about Spain (i.e English Bars, big faceless hotels, a long straight strip of bars and restaurants and nothing of any character). I guess you could say I'm a travel snob but when we got to Tossa de Mar then my faith was restored. Here was still a resort of small hotels, classier shops, rather than the usual tourist rubbish and then there is the old town which has quaint little streets and no blaring music. This resort suits couples & families rather than groups of youngsters who are betting suited to Lloret so that Tossa can retain its charm.
Restaurants in the old town at the Castle end tend to be dearer as you would expect but there are some cheaper ones around the Church square area (a menu of the day can be had for around 13 Euros to include starter, main, dessert and a 1/4 bottle of wine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GARYLE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unforgettable !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The highlight of our week was to visit this stunning, ancient site.
We took a deep breath and decided to tackle the rather steep climb around the outside of the citadel, and were treated to breathtaking views of the coast and countryside around us.
I was totally unprepared for what we found 'at the top' I expected a few ruins, but found the most amazing and fascinating old town imaginable, still inhabited if you look carefully enough. We spent ages exploring all the alleyways, nooks and crannies, as well as climbing to the very top where the lighthouse is. Yes, it's a little touristy in places with rather pricey restaurants, but they keep the place buzzing and add to the atmosphere.
You can also access this site by walking through the old town and in through the ancient old gateway now open to the outside world.
So much history, it takes little effort to imagine what life must have been like back then.
I loved it !!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank annew12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vila Vella (Old Town) also viewed

Costa Brava, Province of Girona
 

Been to Vila Vella (Old Town)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing