We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see”

Vila Vella (Old Town)
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.66*
and up
Costa Brava Half-day Trip from Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This National Monument is the only surviving walled city on the Catalan coast.
Moscow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The perfect place to walk. Look at the photos - it's really great)
I hear, there is a ship to Tossa from Calella. We use a train to get to Blanes and after - a bus to Tossa. Near the bus station there is a tourist office - take a map and walk) Or you can choose the little trainy to Villa Vella - it's near the station too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marie_around_Z_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,303
    341
    22
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
276 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Different from other Costa Brava towns”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Different from other Costa Brava towns, Tossa de Mar has been a real town, not just a fishing village, for centuries. The lovely 17-18th century old town gives clear evidence of Tossa's long history. Nowadays the old town is full of nice shops and restaurants, offering an opportunity for an enjoyable stroll after a day at the beach

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nikolay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We parked up and walked across the beach to the old town at Tossa de Mar, it was like approaching an oversized sandcastle, with flag topped turrets and sandblasted walls. It was a gorgeous sunny day, and we spent about an hour meandering it's paved paths and cobbled streets, enjoying spectacular ocean views of the twinkling Meditteranean. Such a beautiful place, so well preserved and looked after, I would definately recommend a visit here.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EliIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
160 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Walking into history and across bridges”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The old town is sprinkled with historic buildings, several museums including a jewish history museum, and maintains a large portion of preserved ancient city wall. Girona also has 11 bridges to traverse the River Onyar in mamny places. There is a good resemblance to te Arno running through Florence. Although we were there during some significant rain, we enjoyed the stroll.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mez1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Patatas Bravas”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a lovely walk up the hill to the lighthouse and walked back around the old town walls. This is the best feature of Tossa de Mar.

When we got to the top of the hill we had a wonderfully refreshing beer and shared some Patatas Bravas. Amazing!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LincolnshireFussPot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vila Vella (Old Town) also viewed

Costa Brava, Province of Girona
 

Been to Vila Vella (Old Town)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing