We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not everyone wants to hear La Macarena belted out at night ...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Horta Rosell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Horta Rosell
Ranked #2 of 17 Tossa de Mar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not everyone wants to hear La Macarena belted out at night ...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I should make it clear that I did not stay at this B and B on my holiday, and it seems that most guests have a good experience. BUT many people go to Tossa de Mar because it's generally a quiet town. The entertainment in the garden of the Horta Rosell ruins that for anyone who does not choose to go this hotel - you can hear it from any other hotel or apartment on the streets nearby. It's far too loud and not to everyone's taste.

I'm usually quite tolerant of what other people choose to do on holiday, but this ruined at least two of my evenings, when I wanted to sit and read on my balcony but was forced to listen to the sort of music that I usually avoid. So, just a warning to anyone considering staying anywhere near Tossa's bus station - take your earplugs! Even better - Horta Rosell, please have some consideration for other holidaymakers and turn down the racket.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Silvergirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miquel B, Guest Relations Manager at Hostal Horta Rosell, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thankyou very much for your comments about our establishment that you didn't stay at.

We have only just taken over and opened this b&b. We try to offer a homely, clean and personal accommodation. Obviously being enthusiastic newbies we have made mistakes, however personally I don't think that our twice weekly music nights are such. We really try hard to give our guests a happy and memorable holiday, this means thinking about the majority. Guests that wish to read can do so, in the tranquility of our beautiful garden, we have a great selection of books that people leave, share, borrow and exchange. However also there are lots of people who enjoy dancing and listening to the Spanish guitar whilst sipping drinks in the Romantic garden. Therefore twice a week for two hours 9pm-11pm we have hosted evenings where yes, the Macarena has been played but mostly rumba Catalana, 60's, 70's, pop, Sevillanas and even Eric Clapton's sesson musician have featured! All in a candle lit garden that now has over 85 varieties of indigenous plants, trees and flowers. Our 'music nights' have been for making friends, and hopefully have added to the summer holiday ,Tossa de mar memories that make our village so special.
Tossa is without a doubt the most beautiful spot on the Costa Brava, perhaps the best in Spain, you can walk through a well conserved, medieval village, eat at great restaurants without the expensive price tag, swim in blue flagged, cristal waters, practice many different sports, there are wonderful walks, museums, you can enjoy beautiful views with hundreds of spots for quiet reading but there also has to be a little evening entertainment too for those that want it.

Tossa is and has away been a village for variety, acceptance towards everyone and hopefully always will be. Everyone has different tastes and we have hopefully filled the gap for happy, soulful music between 9 and 11pm Mondays and Fridays.

We thankyou again for writing about us and await your review about the establishment that you actually DID stay at.

Yours Sincerely
Andrea Maw, music lover, gardener and adopted Tossenc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    33
    7
    7
    0
See reviews for
17
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skelleftea, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed there this summer and we where very pleased.Clean,great atmosphere,fantastic Mojitos,fantastic staff.Dont miss.No A/C .Small rooms.Basic breakfast.Looking forward to return.Really nice gardenbar

Room Tip: Rooms toward the garden on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miquel B, Owner at Hostal Horta Rosell, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
THANKYOU SO MUCH for your review. Your feedback is essential for our growth. It's great to hear that you had a nice time staying with us.
We know that we are a modest set up (short on TV's and AIR CON) and that isn't to everyones' high tec taste. However, if you are looking for cleanliness, a comfortable bed, smiley staff and great drinks in a lovely garden, we fit the bill completely.
We REALLY do want you to return to us for your next visit in beautiful Tossa de mar. I shall waiting to greet you with a huge smile.

THANKYOU AGAIN. Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant hotel in Tossa. Close to the bus station. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. Staff are really helpful. Some pleasant evening entertainment. Busy road nearby so some traffic noise. Breakfast basic and not recommended

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miquel B, Owner at Hostal Horta Rosell, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thankyou for your review. It was kind of you to take the time to post it. We take all our reviews very seriously and will try to improve for 2014. We really want our guests to think of us as a home for their next visit to Tossa de mar. Thankyou Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Horta Rosell for 4 nights from 18 - 22 July, it exceeded our expectations, the bedrooms are basic but spotlessly clean with good quality bedding, a lovely modern bathroom which got cleaned everyday to a very good standard, the weather was very hot so the fan in the room was a godsend, we stayed in room 301 overlooking the beautiful garden it was lovely to look at in the day, but come night time it really was magical all lit up with fairy lights and candles I can see why it is called Romantic Bar, it was also nice to have breakfast in the garden which included fresh bread, cheese, meats, cereal, yogurt, cakes and fresh fruit juice, it is served till midday so need to rush in the morning.

We arrived on Thursday which is when the Mojito party is held, (Mojito offered at a discounted price) a very good night with a great atmosphere, the best strawberry Mojito I have ever had! The following evening they had live music with a singer/guitarist called Alex he was excellent another great night! The bar is very popular with the Spanish but everyone is made welcome by the lovely staff especially Andrea the owner she goes out of her way to ensure all guests are happy, she knows all the good restaurants too!
I would recommended this b&b to anyone thinking of visiting Tossa De Mar for a few nights you will be pleasantly surprised I was, even if you are staying elsewhere give the bar (Romantic Bar) a try I am sure you will be made most welcome!
Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dscam007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miquel B, Owner at Hostal Horta Rosell, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thankyou so much for the lovely review and taking the time to post it. It's greatly appreciated.
We will be closing our doors soon to the 2013 season soon and will keep all our uptodate news and postings of improvements made on our FB site throught out the winter. HORTA ROSELL Tossa de mar. Looking forward to seeing all our friends again in 2014. Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great value for money in Tossa de Mar. Very convinient location, close to the beach and 2 mins from the bus station. Rooms are basic, spacious, spotlessly clean and rather modern. Showers are very good, great water pressure. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, but though it was really hot during our stay, it has not turned out to be a problem. Breakfast is plentiful (no hot food though) and fresh, served until 12! Horta Rosell's garden has already been mentioned in almost all the reviews here; it is very charming and lovely indeed! Great place to enjoy the breakfast or an excellent mojito in the evening. Major credit to the staff, they are all very friendly and helpful! Special thanks to Natalia for all the help. Andrea (the owner) is very attentive and friendly. I would not hesitate staying in Horta Rosell again if ever back in Tossa mainly because of the staff. The only negative comment I have is about the poor sound insulation. I am a light sleeper, so the room on the street side was too noisy for me. Fortunately we were able to change to a garden room, no problems there. Muchos gracias, thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ato-81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miquel B, Owner at Hostal Horta Rosell, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a great review about us. It's really appreciated and it helps us to improve and grow. We look forward to seeing you again. Warm regards Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

For a B&B I would say you would have difficulty beating this in Tossa, with space at a premium this place has a lovely garden and with the new addition of sun beds to relax in after a day sun bathing with a strawberry Mohito at your side, you cant choose a better place. In a great location just a short walk to the beach, old town and a number of shops this ticks all the boxes for us. First time to Costa Brava as unfortunately I have made too many assumptions about the Costa's, But I have to say Tossa is lovely and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay.
Bedrooms - very clean and comfy with double doors opening to the balcony and garden our room was just right for us. If I had one wish list item to add, it would be a small fridge as no air con and as we enjoy a drink in the afternoon in the room before going to dinner this would have been nice, 'but as reminded by hubby it is a b&b not a hotel. This would certainly not put me off going again or recommindiong it to friends and family.
Bathroom - clean with very good shower and hot water always availble with clean towles, again couldnt ask for more, as too often in hotels I have been to I have endured many a cold shower. toilet and sink area also very clean.
Staff & owner - staff are really nice, friendly and always seem to be smiling, as said in another review a credit to the hotel. Another benefit Andrea will give you some very good accurate advice about places to eat. I would recommend asking her first as spent the first 2/3 nights eating rubbish and following her advice had some lovely meals out La Luna being a favorite Tapas.
Breakfast - this was very nice and eating it in the garden was pleasent.
Drinks - definately recommend the Strawberry mohito a favourite of mine and all prices for drinks are good.
Overall our experience was a very good one owing to location, cleaniless, staff and pleasent surroundings. I would recommend this and would return if ever back in Tossa again. Another bonus is the bus station is aboout 200 metres across the road so not much walking and lumping of cases to put up with. So give it a try I'm sure you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 504202Sunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miquel B, Owner at Hostal Horta Rosell, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thankyou for the great review. I've been wracking my brain thinking of a 'great' reply. It's so important to have feedback and when it's lovely, it makes my heart soar. I know exactly who you are because the best bit of my job is getting to know our guests. We have been VERY lucky to have opened this year and had fantastic feedback straight away and most of all BRILLANT guests, like yourselves. Thankyou again and come back and see us soon....Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just returned from a four night break in Tossa staying at this lovely little B &B.
The staff are very friendly and were always keen to help. Andrea the owner is more than happy to assist, and advised us on restaurants, attractions etc.
The hotel is spotless clean with very pleasant surroundings.
Breakfast in the lovely garden was a perfect start to the day, then drinks in the twinkling lights at night was just the perfect end.
Would definitely recommend and I hope to return to this little haven!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lyn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miquel B, Owner at Hostal Horta Rosell, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thankyou so much for your lovely review! It was very kind and thoughtful. Our B&B doesn't ( budget restrictions) have a lot of the amenities that other hotels and B&B's in our beautiful village offer however we try and do our best in friendly service, cleanliness and local knowledge. If you are thinking of ever coming to Tossa again, please return to us!!! There will be a Mojito waiting for you in our garden. Warm regards...Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#6 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
GHT Hotel Neptuno
GHT Hotel Neptuno
#4 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
#14 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#13 of 42 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Horta Rosell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Horta Rosell

Property: Hostal Horta Rosell
Address: Pola, 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Horta Rosell 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome awaits you at Rosell b&b guest house. A home-from-home in beautiful Tossa de mar, Costa Brava, with spotless, comfortable guest rooms. Superbly situated in the centre of the village, 200m from the beachfront. The downstairs has been completely refurbished this year and boasts its own beautiful cocktail, suntrap garden.The buffet breakfast is served until 12.00midday. Free wifi zone, a 24-hour reception, safety deposit boxes, bar, beautiful garden, family rooms available,Each room is simply furnished,has it’s own balcony and ensuite bathroomThe Rosell can organise bicycle and car rental. Excursions can also be arranged to nearby places of interest, for example Barcelona or Girona. We even run our own golfing and fishing excursions..B&B Rosell is 1 minutes’ walk from the bus station, with routes to the nearby Lloret de Mar. Tossa de Mar’s iconic castle, Villa Vella is 5 minutes away by foot. There is easy access to the AP7 Motorway, and Girona Airport is a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Horta Rosell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Horta Rosell Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing