We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and convenient”
Review of Hotel Mar Bella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mar Bella
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Simple and convenient”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

No-frills. A great base camp for a family holiday if all you want is somewhere to sleep and keep your stuff. The decor is dated and the bathroom is compact but it serves the purpose.
Our room had a large window which simply allowed for some airflow as there was no air-conditioning, and the view outside was simply of the wall of the next building, though you can upgrade to a room with a balcony over the street.
We made full use of the all-inclusive option. All meals are served in the nearby Tossa Beach Hotel which is only a minute away, and the bar also provides snacks. Drinks are also available to Marbella guests in the Tossa Centre across the road. Both of these buildings have pools which are small but family friendly and there are plenty of sun loungers.
The beach is only a short walk down the road and there are many souvenir shops along the way. Make sure you bring sandals or buy some when you get there as the main beach is quite sharp (teeny tiny golden stones rather than sand) but the water is beautiful and perfect for snorkling.
Tossa de Mar is a beautiful town, with stunning views, and if you like to keep active there is a gorgeous path running up the side of the old castle walls with a lovely little coffee shop right at the top.
The rooms are clean and simple with beds made and towels changed daily. If all you want is somewhere with a bed, a bathroom and some storage it’s great!
Ideal for families who like to get out and about.

Room Tip: Upper floors will probably be quieter, but there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Reebee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    16
    13
    9
See reviews for
13
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel once it had become an 'overflow' for tossa beach and tossa center. If you don't mind a dated room, keys that weigh a tonne, and a fairly public balcony, you'll do fine. To be honest with this hotel, you eat, swim, entertain at the other hotels, so really the only thing you have to do here is sleep and wash, and if you have a sense of humour you'll be fine! It is fairly noisy but most of spain is as their day goes late, however we weren't overly bothered by it. Everything was clean fresh towels, and beds changed I'd say twice a week, but really your the only person sleeping in them so who cares!?! Overall a pretty good stay, staff were friendly and other visitors were always chatty, one thing they needed to do was privatise their balconies as they are shared with a small fence between but again all we did on them was dry clothes so no problems there. Close to shops and beach and only about a minutes walk to the main hotels for food which is fantastic! Not 5* in anyway but if your not picky and just want a comfy bed to rest your head on, you'll be fine!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squeak577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My family and I stayed at Hotel Mar Bella in August 2011. We were not expecting the ritz but basic doesn't even describe this place. The room we were given had no balcony just a large window with no safety bar looking at a brick wall. I was so worried one of my small children would fall- we kept it closed all week. With no aircon this was the pitts. When complaining about this to the rather rude receptionist we were informed we could move for 100 euros to a room with a balcony. As we felt it was a health and safety issue we would of expected tobe moved immediatly and spoke with the Manager/owner who was unbelivably rude and nasty ( no wonder his reception staff were also rude).

We were all inclusive and used the facilities of the two sister hotels. The dining room is downstairs and quite oppressive the food is quite good to be fair- also the staff slightly better mannered. The pools in each hotel are small with few recliners although we were always ok the get a seat. The drinks are good. At night everything slows off around 11pm and lights out around 12pm you have to then go to your room no choice- this can make you feel very unwelcome. In a nut shell nice resort with lovely beach and shops Hotel very very basic with rude staff...would reccommend you give it a miss

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tossa de Mar hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here for 6 days, 2 adults and 2 children. Friendly and helpful staff. We only stayed in this hotel just to sleep. We went all inclusive but we used tossa beach for the all inclusive, which was only a couple of mins away. Food and drink was good, cannot complain for the price we paid for the 4 of us. Tossa de mar it's self is a lovely and clean resort, we would defo return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Precious195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I think for the price we paid I couldn't ask for much more. Yes, we were dropped off at the main road, about 2 min walk from the hotel, but the driver gave us proper directions where to go. Great location, very central, everything is close by. No lift in the hotel is quite a minus, I don't mind a bit of exercise but with the heavy luggage them steep stone steps are less fun. The building is old and has great acoustics, but we didn't come here to listen to others to be honest..
Extremely friendly staff, well at least they were to us (family of 2). We even got a room with a balcony and one extra bed at no extra charge, which was a very pleasant surprise. The room had only one built-in wardrobe, one little bedside table and a dressing table - pretty basic. I did not expect (unlike some) to find a fridge, air con or hair dryer in the room as it still is a 1* hotel! And that's stated in hotels description as well. Rooms get cleaned spotlessly, beds made and towels changed daily. As the hotel is located right in the middle of town you should expect some noise, especially over the weekend, but it really didn't bother us too much as we slept like babies after long, hot & very active days :) No ants in our room whatsoever. TV- only Spanish channels and you'd have to pay 30 Euro deposit for the remote control.
Food was quite good, we were eating same stuff as people who paid for 4* holidays at Tossa Beach/Centre hotel, much better and more variety at weekends though - when there's mostly Spanish clientèle.. Again, very friendly and helpful service & staff.
Me and my young daughter fell in love with Tossa de Mar, it's quite small yet absolutely charming place with lots to do and to see (without spending a fortune), if you care. It does get very busy with tourists in August, so next time might consider some other month for travel. Will definitely be coming back and hopefully be able to get another good deal at Mar Bella, the beauty of Tossa and good experiences pay well off for the lack of some 'luxuries'.

Room Tip: The balconies ARE connected to each other. Glass bottom boat trip highly recommended as well as tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jurgita_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakes
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We .stayed .at HOTEL MAR BELLA and ate at the sister hotel. TOSSA BEACH.
HOTEL MAR BELLA was a one star hotel and very basic. No fridge, no air con and no safe..It was however very clean and well serviced but the walls were paper thin and we heard all the nocturnal activities of the couple next door, not condusive to a good nights sleep. Also the noise outside was prevelantm especially at the weekend.....
.The swimming pools at the sister hotels were minute. The all inclusive was ok for the drinks but the food was repetative and bland, in fact for three days I didn't eat at all and on the last night after seeing the offering of either fish or sausages for evening dinner we eat out.. . 7.
Tossoa itself is a lovely romantic town, but if I went again, I would fly from Girona rather than Barcelona, because its a lot shorter transfer time and I would definately not go to any of the Tossa Beach, Centre or Mar Bella Hotels...











AND

T

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieposielakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Hotel situated 5 minutes from the beach. The hotel staff speaks English. The Hotel can't provide breakfast, but it was not a problem, because there are many cafes nearby... or you can buy some staff in the supermarket nearby. Most of the rooms have balconies with a nice view with two chairs.
There is no lift and it was not so easy to climb to the second floor (by the way, there is also third floor). The walls are too thin, so you can hear your neighbors very good... So it was not so easy to fall asleep.There were loads of small ants in our room... we asked other livers: they had the same problem...

Room Tip: You should choose the room not at the main avenue and not on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vadzim9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
SM Hotels Turissa
SM Hotels Turissa
#24 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#38 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
#15 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
#14 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simeon
Hotel Simeon
#19 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Bella

Property: Hotel Mar Bella
Address: Avda Costa Brava 21, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Mar Bella 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mar Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Bella Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Mar Bella Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing