We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location; bad staff and poor food”
Review of Hotel Mar Bella

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mar Bella
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from 11th July - 15th and booked it all from travel republic. We understood that it would be basic for the price that we paid. One thing I would say is DO NOT BOOK TRANSFERS WITH TRAVEL REPUBLIC. They dropped us off at some random place in Tossa and we had to find the hotel ourselves wandering around with our luggage in the heat.

Nethertheless; after finding the hotel we booked in with no problems, staff spoke very good English. We were on the first floor which was fine as there are no lifts in the hotel. Got to our room, very spacious with a small balcony that looked out on to one of the side streets. I was quite happy with the room. There were even blankets in the wardrobe which came in handy when the temperature cooled in the evening. The room was clean and I had no complaints about it at all; apart from the towels maybe being tiny!

When we were given our key we thought ohmygod! It's like a huge boulder; we didn't realise that you have to give the key back to reception EVERYTIME you leave the building. I don't see what the point is in this and it's quite annoying having to go to reception to pick up the key and hand it in every time you want to go out.

The food and drink is served in another hotel which is a 2 minute walk away (just opposite over a bridge). Breakfast is served from 7:30am - 9:30am with lunch 1pm - around 2:30pm and dinner 7:30pm - 9:30pm. Snacks are served at various times throughout these but none past 9:30pm. You can always get drinks which include: alcoholic and non-alcoholic cocktails (gran torino is a must), soft drinks, juice, vodka, schnapps, tea, coffee, wine, beer and various others. The drinks selection is great I must say. You're only allowed 2 drinks per wristband at any one time.

Snacks include: hot dogs, burgers, cheese/cheese and ham toasties and fries. One thing I would mention is the food is VERY processed here and it doesn't taste great but you get used to it. You're only allowed 2 snacks per wristband here too (which I see as pointless because if you want more; you're gonna get it anyway).

Breakfast = croissants, cold meats, salads, egg (with green bits in?!), cold beans, cooked meat.. VERY basic.

Lunch is the same as dinner = pasta, watery sauce, potato (different sort every day!), and meat (chicken,fish,beef) and sometimes fries.

I would not eat here EVER again. DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU ARE A VEGETARIAN!!! I struggled all week. All I could eat was dry pasta and potato for a week. I got so fed up with it. One thing I can say is that the desserts were nice. Vanilla/chocolate and cream ice cream to try every day. Needless to say I was quite annoyed that I paid for all inclusive and this was all I could eat.

Other than the food which would be my only complaint; everything else was good. It's about a 7 minute walk to the beach and Tossa as a whole is a lovely place! There's not a lot to do here but then it's a beach holiday; there never is. I would visit again but I would NOT go all inclusive.

Room Tip: Do not go all inclusive - ESPECIALLY if you're vegetarian!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamsynx20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 60 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

Book Holiday on the 28th June 2011. Travel company kept pushing this Hotel stating it was a 3 star and all inclusive. Travel did not tell us that the Hotel did not have any lfts and that you had to go the Hotel Tossa Beach for a the meals and drinks. You can imagine how we felt when we arrive at the Hotel Marbella and found out that there was no lift and that we were on the 3rd floor, My husband suffers with rheumatoid arithritis,I then asked the receptionist if he could move us to the the first floor, he then called the assistant manager who came and informed us that we would not be able to move today and it would cost us 20 euros a day to move to the 1st floor. The room on the 3rd floor had 4 beds in it you could not move and there was no drawer space. After 2 days we had enough and paid the hotel 100 euros to move rooms, this was a rip off. The food at the Tossa Beach was cold, the cutlery was dirty, crockery also dirty. We only 3 meals at the hotel . So from the Tuesday we eat out and did not use the Hotel at all. The staff in both Hotels were unfriendly and also spoke very little english. One thing I can say the room was clean. This holiday was not cheap so we feel that we have been ripped off.
We go to Spain several times a year. I have never stayed in anything like this and we don't want to again

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elephant13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

On arriving at the hotel Mar Bella we were informed that our holiday provider low cost holidays had not booked us into the hotel. Despite having the relevant paperwork confirming our booking we were made to feel that the fact that low cost holidays had not booked us in was our fault. We had to ask to speak to the manager as the male receptionist was very unhelpful and were promptly informed that despite a room not being booked for us we would be put into a temporary room for the evening and then moved the following morning. When expressing my disatisfaction at this as we wished to unpack and did not wish to wait around in the morning to change rooms we were rudely told "well how much stuff do you need to unpack". We were then placed in a room on the top floor which had no ventilation (we couldnt even open the window) and had clearly not been cleaned with a blood stain on the floor by the sink and the shower water ran discoloured. We didnt anticipate much from the hotel for the low price we paid but at the very least expected it to be clean! The following morning after several complaints to the receptionist and manager we were eventually moved rooms (by this point we had missed the breakfast times). We were informed we would be placed in a room with a balcony for our troubles but this was later denied by the manager and we were put in a back room which we were actually pleasantly suprised by. The room which was spotlessly clean and spacious in size a far cry from the first room however only achieved by consistent complaints. On the Wednesday however we returned to the room and there was a strong smell of parafin when asking the same reception guy why he didnt have a clue and told us hed get the maintenance man (needless to say he never arrived so god knows what the smell was) The facilities of the linked hotel Tossa beach were basic but okay however the entertainment provided was poor and you got the fealing you were pushed to leave at 11am and forced to leave by 12pm. The food seldom changed however this did little to bother us as we speant very little time utilising the all inclusive. One point that is worth noting is how rude the gentleman who ran the snack bar was to british tourists on asking for a hot dog and chips we were provided with a hotdog and told to wait for 10 minutes for the chips when stating that our hotdog would be cold by this point and we would have prefered to have waited for both we were told rudely why "would you want both together" logic to us brits but obviously not to the spanish. Would not recomend this hotel for anyone but if your planning to get a cheap getaway and use very little of the facilities like we did then ull be fine just make sure they clean your room first thumbs up to the cleaners once they were actually utilised!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lawyer1Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

only 1 star but rooms better than some 3 star, towels changed every day even sheets changed during our 1 week stay. staff very pleasant. you eat in tossa beach hotel 1 minute walk away food generally very good and you can drink there on in tossa center hotel opposite, both hotels spotlessly clean and can use pools in either.tossa de mar is a lovely wee town with lots of streets to explore. a few english pubs, if you fancy a taste of home sherwoods just a few yards from marbella has english bacon and sausages mmmm. would recommend these hotels to anyone only fault is come 11 oclock you cannot sit outside as all the chairs are put away, apart from that very good

Room Tip: ask for room on first floor as no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank elin0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Mar Bella 1* "annex" of 4* Tossa Beach/Centre which I took a risk on when booking as there were no reviews at the time! Chose this hotel being the cheapest option and I must say it suited us fine. It was clean, functional, basic and interestingly situated on one of the towns main streets towards the old quarter and a short walk from the all inclusive option at the Tossa Beach/Centre. The staff who worked between the three hotels were helpful and welcoming. The food at the Tossa Beach was amazingly good.

We should have hired a car from the airport as the resort agents (2) were asking alot of money in comparison. We changed our plans and walked.

Local coastal walks from Tossa were scenic, peaceful and very, very lovely. We, a mature couple did the following ones easily with a lazy few hours on the beach before making our way back.

Cala Llarado 3km
Platjade de Llorell 3.5km
Cala Bona 3km
Cala Pola 4km

We booked with Travel Republic and everything went very smoothly.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
11  Thank LsaKingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I recently stayed at the Mar bella for 5 days for a short girly holiday.
I had never stayed in a one star hotel so my expectations were very low .
on arrival the receptionist was very helpful with providing us with our keys, all inclusive wristbands and showing us the directions for the other hotel where we would go to eat and drink.

pre warning there are no lifts so make sure your strong enough to carry your bags up the stairs.

Our room was situated on the third floor and it was really clean and tidy. we also had a balcony which we requested at the time when booking the holiday. Fair to say all of worries about staying in a one star was wiped away as this hotel is basic yet very pleasant to stay in.

if you are all inclusive you will have all your meals and drinks at the tossa beach hotel with the additional option to drink at the tossa centre hotel. both hotels are not even a 3 minute walk away from the mar bella hotel so there's no worries about getting home at night .

Food was very nice and there was always a good variety of food to eat so no complaints there .

entertainment was bingo karaoke discos and people playing instruments.

the area itself is a quiet and peaceful town with some really fab shops if you like beady jewellery and make up. There's also a market every Thursday.

for all the party people who like to have fun (like myself ) this is not the place for you how ever there is a night club that opens on a Friday and Saturday night ONLY,,tried it out one night and it was alright .... llorett de mar is the best place for a night out and taxi to get there from tossa will cost around 20 -25 euro's .

overall the hotel is nice place the rooms are cleaned and the towels are changed every day as you would expect and the staff are quite helpful....It was a bargain holiday for me so I cant complain. Hope this helps if your thinking of booking :-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pinkchoclate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This hotel is the annex of the Tossa Beach/Tossa Centre Hotel, with all food and snacks being served in
the Tossa Beach and drinks served in both.
We were a little concerned about the 1* rating, but found the Mar Bella to be clean and totally adequate. The room was fairly spacious and the maids did a good job cleaning the bathroom, sweeping and washing the floors, making the beds and providing fresh towels daily.
The beds are slightly hard, but nothing to moan about.
As we were all inclusive we had our meals in the Tossa Beach hotel, which is bright and modern. The food was varied and of good quality, but there is a vast improvement at the weekends when the Spanish arrive (on mass!).
We tended to spend most of our time at the Tossa Centre Hotel as the bar area was more intimate and not as rowdy and there is room to sit on the terrace at the front and watch the world go by.
We had been slightly concerned before our trip about other people's reports of unhelpful/rude reception staff and being treated like children, however we needn't have worried. All of the staff were helpful and friendly and nothing seemed too much trouble. The management and security staff were quick to deter any rowdy behaviour, but that is how it should be. No unacceptable behaviour will be tolerated, as we witness the eviction of a party of 6 that had caused a huge distubance during the night.
We had a really good relaxing break in this pretty little town. The beaches are very clean and the water crystal clear. The old town is really picturesque and deffinatly worth a visit. (There's even a little train to take you to the top if you can't face the walk!) And the boat trip to the caves and Girivola is lovely.
If you want something livelier go to Lloret de Mar.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank abio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
1,971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Victoria
Hotel Restaurant Victoria
#25 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
107 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
#14 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SM Hotels Turissa
SM Hotels Turissa
#26 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hermes
Hotel Hermes
#23 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Villa Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Bella

Address: Avda Costa Brava 21, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range: $47 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Mar Bella 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mar Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Bella Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Mar Bella Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing