We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spacious, quiet and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mar Blau Tossa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spacious, quiet and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed three nights in the Mar Blau and found it to be well located (close to beach, to shopping, and to good, reasonably priced restaurants), quiet and clean. The room was well-appointed and spacious and we did have a fridge. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

Others have mentioned the breakfast: we found it to be a fairly light and healthy European style breakfast with yogurt, pastries, meat slices and cheese. This was perfect for us, but heavy eaters looking for a lot of choice might be disappointed.

Room Tip: Any room with a "partial sea view" puts you on the back, much quieter, side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kashic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    33
    5
    0
    5
See reviews for
14
60
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Well-located and newly renovated hotel in a city that, while beautiful, completely disappointed me. We ended up spending lots of time in the hotel as the beaches were much too overcrowded and the general ambience of the place very cheap-tourism-like. Large breakfasts in the morning were a good way to start the day, and the reception team was very kind. Our room was very large, wiht a small terrace, a large bathroom, a mini-bar and a TV as well as aircondition (which we could not however control, but was at a comfortable temperature). Very good price-quality value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PZTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

A simple but spotlessly clean hotel. The couple that have run the hotel for over forty years are wonderfully friendly and speak English and French as well as Catalan and Spanish. The rooms were simple, the beds comfortable, the breakfast good. A parking spot can be included for a small daily fee. All in all excellent value for money - I would return there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

I booked a superior room through booking.com. The room was as described, TV and fridge both provided and the room was light, spacious and felt relatively newly redecorated/refurbed. Balcony backed onto the rear of the hotel where there is a dry riverbed providing no noise from outside.

Something to bear in mind is the rooms are not air conditioned (at least mine wasn't). A bedside fan was provided but being in the middle of summer the room got warm. Anyone struggling to sleep in the heat might want to look at other options including a/con. The room was cleaned every day.

The breakfast was the same each day, fresh bread products, cheese, meat and jams. After a week it did get a little bit boring. Service was always good and the hotel has a good family feeling to it. The staff are always polite and helpful.

The hotel is located conveniently for the beach and centre. A 3-5 minute stroll gets you to the beach and centre where you'll find restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: Try to get a superior room at the rear of the hotel so you're not overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Besides the fact that our room looked nothing like on the pictures shown on the booking website (I booked through booking.com), I would very much recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean and comfortable place to stay.

The rooms are simple, no TV (who needs it anyway in a beautiful place like Tossa de Mar?!) or fridge, but the room was very clean, breakfast is included, and the beds are comfortable.
The owners are very friendly and eager to explain directions to various beaches and have excellent recommendations for restaurants.

The hotel is very central, only about a 1 min walk from the main street with all the shops and restaurants.

At the time of my booking, it was possible to also book a parking spot for 10 Euros a day. Be aware that the parking lot is NOT directly by the hotel, but about 3 mins walking time in a different area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerforlife519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Nice hotel, reasonably priced. No air-condition, tv or fridge in our room, although it stands on the booking-website that it is included in every room. Our room was neither new or renovated as the room on the pictures on the bookingwebsite. We had our balcony towards the mainstreet witch was quite noisy on the evenings, booth weekdays and weekend. It was hard to sleep with the balcony open, but got to warm without air-condition and with only to small noisy fans as an option... The breakfast that was included was NOT A BUFFE, it stood ready on a tables in the restaurant in the mornings. The owners are friendly, the bar is cheap so i really recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kasenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
478 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

It is what you expect in Tossa de Mar. Built in 70’s style it is nevertheless quite comfortable inside. There are few signs of wear and tear and the hotel in kept in a well maintained condition. It is a 300 metre (200 as crow flies) 5 min flat walk to the beach. The view from the front is over the shopping road and of the hotel opposite. Not great from your balcony but then that’s the view for all hotels in Tossa apart from the few on the very front beach road. From the rear of the hotel, the room balconies are a more comfortable place to sit. You have the river between you and the hotels opposite. A river is dry for most of the year and is used by locals to stroll with their pets. So no traffic noise this side and the hotels opposite are a little further away than at the front. No air conditioning in room but fan provided which was a help. Reception is quite small but functions for what is needed and the hotel owners speak good English and are helpful with any advice needed. Breakfast is served rather than buffet and is a good cold selection of meats, cheeses, croissants, cake with fruit juice tea and coffee. The restaurant where this is served is a large pleasant room at the rear of the hotel but is not open for meals. There is a nice bar at the front of the hotel with pavement tables for a good coffee and snacks to watch the world go by. There are many restaurants and bars in Tossa so it is not any distance for a good choice. Shops for snack food and drinks within 50 metres as are ATM’s for your money needs. Parking is an issue in Tossa but the hotel does provide secure underground parking nearby for a reasonable E10 a day.

Room Tip: choose room at rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#14 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#7 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#2 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Marina Tossa
Hotel Marina Tossa
#17 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mar Blau Tossa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Blau Tossa Hotel

Property: Mar Blau Tossa Hotel
Address: Avinguda Costa Brava 16, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#10 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Mar Blau Tossa Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Mar Blau Tossa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Blau Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing