We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not somewhere i would rush to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not somewhere i would rush to return”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

stayed here from 13th june to 22nd june with my hubby and mum rooms where basic and for a 4 star hotel this was dissapointing there wasnt even a kettle for tea or coffee and the beds were too hard the cleanliness wasnt great although the main areas were given a mop each day the food was adequate but nothing special the plates and cutlery were dirty and greasy the dining room was large and spacious and the staff were good and helpful the entertainment programme consisted of 2 hours of limited entertainment each night 9 till 10 was a kids disco and 10 till 10 45 a cuban singer once in the week there was a parrot show which was on for about 20mins the reception staff were helpful and friendly but the indoor pool was the place were i was really dissapointed the floor around the pool was broken and when i reported this to the woman on the desk of the health club she was rude and abrupt she pressed the grille down with her foot and the other side popped up she smiled at me and said its fixed now which it certainly wasnt when i told the cosmos rep he reported it to the main reception but they did nothing about it their was also 2 jacuzzis in the pool area which need handles to assist users to get in and out of them however you have to pay an extra 4 euros for the privilage of using them i could understand if they were part of the gym but not when they are in the pool area some of the other services the hotel offered were not available for use so why advertise them we were supposed to stay in the alcazar hotel but were moved because of building work we were told this was an upgrade but for me this hotel does not deserve 4 stars i would not like to stay at this hotel again

Room Tip: we stayed on the 12th floor with an excellent sea view a bit of noise but not much
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eva lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    189
    178
    63
    42
See reviews for
305
101
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redruth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fantastic location 2 minutes from a huge sandy beach but not somewhere I would rush back to. The room was plenty big enough and I had a sea view despite not being at the front of the hotel. The cleaning was sporadic some days efficient and other days a bit slapdash!
All the staff were friendly but the whole place lacked atmosphere. The worst part was the food. I was half board and breakfast was really disappointing. Leathery eggs and cold greasy bacon on a good day sausages floating in water on other days. The evening meal was worse, limited choice and the chef obviously has a very small budget. Everything is mass produced from frozen except the salad which is what I lived on. If you are happy to go B+B and eat a continental breakfast you will be fine!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We booked a classic junior suite (taking the advice from other Tripadvisor comments NOT one on the street or pool level). We didn't think we would get much choice but when we arrived at approximately 11.30 pm the receptionist (Jose?) was extremely pleasant and asked what sort of room we would like, I was thinking.... but they are all if I remember from the reviews..... so I said how about one with a great view. We were't disappointed. Room 1002 on the 10th floor looked out to sea and it was a stunning view. The room was exactly as described, large, nice bathroom, balcony area and clean. The breakfast choices were good, choice of cereals, milk - including soya - fruit, yoghurt, continental ham/salami, cheese and a hot choice of bacon, scrambled or boiled eggs, beans and on alternate days sausages. Choice of break for toast, rolls and croissants. Various juices, tea/coffee etc. All in all a good hotel with a more than adequate breakfast. I have already recommended this to a friend who may be interested in staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregoryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The room was comfortable, not really big, but nice. The view from the room was really nice, and the surrounding area had a garden. The staff was friendly, everything was tidy and clean. We thought the breakfast was less than satisfying, we expected more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sopasmouras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This is a large hotel, with large fairly basic rooms. As such it is an excellent base for large groups. While we were there there were football squads, running groups, walkers etc. and it did not feel too crowded, being an excellent base for the pleasant winter weather. The food was quite reasonable, though after a while it would be a bit samey. Reasonable small gym and outdoor and indoor pools. Huge beach, lovely sand and a pleasant peaceful little town. I wouldn't come here for a quiet getaway though- a smaller hotel would be more appropriate. I imagine it would get very crowded in summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Docrioja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I spent a week here working out, enjoying the beach and the beautiful surroundings, and for these purposes the hotel works great. The facilities for working out indoors and outdoors (fantastic beach and running trails in the woods!) are really good. But. I would not have chosen this hotel for a "normal" vacation, because the rooms are so dated and have certainly seen better days. The food in the restaurant is just not good either... But you can find restaurants on the beach and get some great seafood for a bargain. You also have to pay for the safe (10 euros and 20 euros as a deposit....) and wifi you can only get in the reception and of course you have to pay for this. The beds are just weird too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingFinLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Been coming to Monte Gordo since I was 6 and I'm now 22 it's like home from home we have loads of friends here and sometimes we come twice a year. Been to Tenerife this year but Monte Gordo is defiantly for chilling out I feel extra safe here and I don't have to look over my shoulder you can leave belongings and money out in rooms and they never get touched but in Tenerife everything had to go in to the safe.

Stayed in every hotel in Monte Gordo but this has got to be the best! me and my mum stayed here for a week half board and it was fantastic the staff on the reception and the cleaners and maintenance men and the waiters can't do enough for you they are really friendly and always say hello with a smile on their face :) we checked in quick and someone took our cases to our room and they got there before us! the room was massive it had a sofa that had a pull out bed underneath, 2 comfy single beds and table and 2 chairs and a big dressing table and flat screen TV, loads of wardrobe space I opened one wardrobe well I thought it was a wardrobe and they was a sink and 2 hobs and a microwave and pots and pans! the bathroom was huge with a shower and bath etc, and the balcony was even bigger with a lovely view of the sea and a table and 2 chairs, the room got cleaned everyday to a very high standard and towels always changed, could leave money and belongings out and the cleaners never moved or touched them only to clean (you can do this in every hotel we have stayed in, in Monte Gordo)

All areas of the hotel are spotlessly clean and all staff work extra hard the food in the restaurant was always piping hot and they were loads to choose from on a morning and evening and the head chef was always checking the food was at the right temperature (had a bad experience with our last holiday to Tenerife with food being lukewarm) one evening a cleaner said they was ONE cockroach not as big as the ones in Tenerife and the head chef closed the area off and got the cleaner to move all the table and chairs and clean the whole area that was closed off, he also took all the cutlery off the tables to rewash them and got the cleaner to clean the chairs and tables down and he replaced all the food that was out with fresh food brilliant watching everything they did for one tiny cockroach.

I would defiantly recommend this hotel to people who are wanting to go to Monteo Gordo its lovely and you wont be disappointed :)

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice and face the sea but the higher up the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngsquiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 13 in Monte Gordo
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Monte Gordo
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#6 of 13 in Monte Gordo
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calema Aparthotel
Calema Aparthotel
#10 of 13 in Monte Gordo
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellow Praia Monte Gordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellow Praia Monte Gordo

Property: Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Address: Hotel Yellow Praia Monte Gordo Avenida Infante Dom Henrique, Monte Gordo 8900-412, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yellow Praia Monte Gordo 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Yellow Praia Monte Gordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yellow Monte Gordo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing