We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

As much as I had read previous reviews, I was still surprised at how old fashioned the bedroom and bathroom were and was initially disappointed. The wall and floor tiles were definitely 1960's and the storage/tables were dark, heavy wood. I had requested a high floor and got floor 5 which is just under the roof. However, we had a very large balcony with table, chairs, 2 sun beds, parasol and beautiful views of the sea and beach.

After a couple of issues were quickly resolved, I soon changed my opinion of the hotel. The beds and pillows were absolutely wonderful and the quality of the bed linen was superb - I slept brilliantly all 11 nights. There are no kettles so do take your own if you like a cuppa in your room. The mini bar works well as a fridge to keep water etc cold. Free Air conditioning works well and safes are free too. Room was very clean and towels changed every day.

The restaurant food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner and the choices were really good and varied as long as you are fish and meat eaters. The food is limited if you are vegetarian. There was not even cheese or eggs to eat with the salads on an evening so be warned. However, I was told that omelettes and cheese could be made special if requested on entry to the dining room, and I saw some people having pizza.

Didn't watch the evening entertainment much but what we did was ok. Plenty of areas for sitting in or out. Pool area was good and plenty of sun beds and parasols. Internet free in the vicinity of Reception.

To sum up a hotel to recommend and we would definitely return in the future. Hope all the above helps.

Room Tip: Sea views are best as other side looks on to a main road which is a little noisy. Only floor 5 has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    220
    58
    25
    7
See reviews for
129
232
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

paid extra for a sea view and ended up in a apartment on one side of the hotel -the apartment was great kitchenette with dinning area and ground floor bathroom -second floor was a double room and the top floor master had on suite an a balcony with good garden and sea views.
Beds very comfortable. and as always the breakfasts are great with plenty of choice. would stay again.

Room Tip: go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rich1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good points - great breakfasts, fantastic beds/bedding, really close to the beach where there are top quality facilities but these are not for exclusive hotel guest use and you have to pay to use them (get a 7 day pass for 50 euros rather than 10 euros per day), entire hotel and rooms are kept very clean.

However, overall the hotel is dated, rooms are small and lack storage. Bathrooms good with hairdryer, bidet, complimentary toiletries/shower gel dispenser and nice towels changed everyday. Noise is a problem at night (1960's soundproofing) mainly with regard to plumbing sounds but also people just walking down the corridor and going into their rooms. Rooms at front have very poor balcony views (carpark and waste ground) and are overlooked by Yellow Hotel opposite. Best rooms at rear get filled quickly and appear to be allocated primarily to Dutch guests (who account for about 80% of business).

Hotel is pretty much non-smoking although it seems that smoking on balconies - even on non-smoking floors - is tolerated (but no ashtrays provided so smokers come prepared).

Reception staff unhelpful and surly - or is that only towards non-Dutch guests? Bar expensive except at happy hour (50% off between 5.00pm and 7.00pm). Some areas have unavoidable steps.

Good wi-fi in and around reception area but not in rooms or at pool. Entertainment (30 minutes every night) seemed to go down well.

Won't be going back. The fact that this hotel is rated as second best on TA is an indication of the overall lack of real quality hotels in Monte Gordo.

Room Tip: If a decent balcony view is important, be really clear that you are booking a beach facing room at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy-and-Elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I could not find any fault with this hotel, stayed for 2 weeks and didn't want to leave. It's right on the beach and close to resort centre, the rooms are of a very good size and immaculately clean with lovely soft towels and good quality bedding. We stayed half board and the food was wonderful with lots of choice at breakfast and dinner, the fish was especially nice. All staff were helpful and friendly and very smartly dressed. The hotel is not modern but that adds to its charm the reception ares is almost old colonial style with lovely sofas and seating areas. We met people who were on their 8th visit so that says a lot, hopefully we will make a second visit this year. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The extra you pay for a sea view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool,england
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

huge balcony and great sea view on 5th floor room - not refurbished - but felt seasidey and we liked its old charm and the tiles and wooden furniture - who wants something with no character?
great breakfasts and plenty of space in the other public areas - decent entertainment in the bar each night -really pleasant staff all round
we spent most of the week by the big pool as temp in low 30s even in early April but beach is only yards away with a really nice bar/cafe
we ate out - really good choice of Portuguese fish restaurants -so cannot comment on evening meals
our first pool/beach holiday as so hot and not a lot to see by public transport on day trips
hotel seemed to cater largely for dutch people which was ideal as not full of aged brits (like us!) and lovely walks/cycling through pine forests -flat, flat ,flat!
Montegordo itself is very much a resort but still some character -don't expect history and culture
we had a great hot chillout week and are planning to return next spring

Room Tip: 5th floor for view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here a few years ago as a "last minute'. We were told that back in the 50's the stars came here to get away from it all and that relaxed, comfortable atmosphere is still there. We went back last year and then March this year. It is right on the beach yet minutes from centre of Montegordo. Bus or taxi for a few euros to Villa Real, then ferry over river to Ayamonte in Spain, a "must do" trip. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the food is good and plentiful and the staff are there when you want them but discrete. The furniture is comfortable and there are lots of little quiet seating areas. We would definitely return to this hotel and Montegordo.

Room Tip: Our last visit we got an end room overlooking car park but still gave a sea view and it was virtuall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2togsNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have been to this hotel and resort many times. Hotel in a prime position on the lovely beach. On the down side there are a lot of steps if you have ant mobility issues. However at the far end of this hotel there is a lift which takes you to floor zero and you can get out there. There are still some steps to the pool though whichever way you go. The food is varied but we do think that the quality of the food at dinner is not as good as it used to be. Breakfast still has plenty of choice though. We also noticed that beds around the pool were getting a bit scarce this time but on the last day of our holiday some more did appear. We are early risers and get a bed (which we only get if we are staying round the pool). However we did note that people were getting beds this time and disappearing until later in the day. This needs addressing. We had room 434 this time which looking over the woods to Villa Real. Nice and warm on a morning and a in the shade when it is too hot.

Room Tip: If you want a sunny all day room you have to pay a supplement of 10 euros a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minimoBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Gordo
0.2 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#8 of 13 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 13 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
#2 of 13 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
2.8 mi away
Eurotel Altura
Eurotel Altura
#1 of 4 in Altura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vasco da Gama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasco da Gama Hotel

Property: Vasco da Gama Hotel
Address: Hotel Vasco da Gama Avenida Infante Dom Henrique, Monte Gordo 8900-412, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vasco da Gama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vasco da Gama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vasco Da Gama
Vasco Da Gama Monte Gordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing