We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for quiet holiday getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Certificate of Excellence
Margate, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel for quiet holiday getaway!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Just returned from our week away at the Vasco da Gama in Monte Gordo. Hotel is very good value for money overall! Upon arrival we did have to wait to check-in but went for a lovely walk on the beach which is literally 2 seconds away! When given our room, it was very clean, spacious, 2 huge single beds put together to make one massive bed for us! Free wifi and flat screen TV are great for when you're chilling in the hotel but the pool area and beach are much too inviting to not be outside in the Portugal sun!
Air con wasn't great but balcony doors and windows offer ventilation in the evenings. Bathrooms were very tidy and great size and towels and bedding changed daily.
As a young couple at the end of the holiday season we were easily outnumbered by older hotel guests but there were a few other young groups or families and to be honest the quiet was much appreciated around the pool area and the ease of getting drinks in the evening and for Happy Hour was great!
As for food, the half board option is great. Plenty of choice for breakfast with free drinks and dinner is mix and match some days better than others for meat and fish options but always something to eat! Drinks are not included for the evening meal as it is table service but this didn't add much to our spending money so no complaints!
The resort of Monte Gordo is very quiet but there are enough restaurants to keep all tastes amused and the day trips offered by both the hotel and local companies are great days out. We went to a market town one day and a longer day trip to Gibraltar another, which I would highly recommend!
All in all a lovely relaxing week away in the Algarve, would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    238
    60
    25
    7
See reviews for
136
253
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I’m a bit late in writing this review!
We stayed at the Vasco da Gama in April. It was two years since our last visit and we were pleasantly surprised. The bedrooms had air conditioning fitted and had been redecorated. The bathrooms which had been passed their sell by had been redone. The old shower over the bath had been replaced by a far better one, the wash basin was sat in a new vanity unit and the room had been redecorated. The beds are comfortable, and the rooms are kept clean.

As with our last visit, we had taken a group of athletes for warm weather training. They all really like this hotel. The location is great, right on the beach, and the beach bar does some nice snacks at lunchtime. Importantly for athletes the food is buffet style, plenty of it, and good quality. The restaurant opening times fit in great for them. The food can get a bit repetitive but nothing to complain about. They certainly ate enough of it!!

For the price paid there were certainly no complaints. We’ll definitely go back again for our next training trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeylandSunaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Glamorgan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have just returned from the Vasco Da Gama Hotel in Montegordo on the 11th October. What a great value for money hotel this is. The beachside location is second to none and the hotel is both clean and comfortable. Our bedroomwas large and airy with spotless white bedding and ample wardrobe and drawer space. The bathroom was green marble with double sinks every mod con, and blissfully hot water. Good outside terrace and air conditioning. The public areas were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Food was good and plentiful especially breakfast. Staff were all courteous and the reception staff especially helpful (particularly when our A 2 B transfer did not turn up. I would not recommend this company to anyone, they were a complete shambles). We are both pensioners but I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We were in 223 a triple bedded room with lots of space for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hasell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I made our second visit to this hotel in mid September this year and found it as enjoyable as on our first stay in 2010. Although we only required a double room, we were allocated chalet type accommodation comprising living/dining area with cooking facilities, double bedroom and bathroom on ground level plus on upper level another double bedroom and bathroom. Three flat screen television sets were also installed ! The chalets are located in pleasant garden surroundings. They are however some distance from the main hotel reception therefore may present a bit of a struggle for anyone with restricted mobility when conveying their luggage. The rooms were clean and comfortable with ample storage space.
The meals were self-service buffet style. There was a good selection at breakfast to suit all tastes including plenty artery clogging fare to suit British guests ! ( In fact there were very few Brits during our week. Most guests were Portuguese and Dutch ) At dinner there was available a good variety of soups, salads ,fish and meats. Desserts were delicious ! We usually ate about an hour after the Dining Room opened. This could mean that some of the dishes were at the stage of requiring topped up therefore hot food could have cooled off somewhat. The answer is obviously get in there at the beginning ! The waiting staff were pleasant and attentive, as were all other employees whom we came in contact with.
We spent most of our time on the beach ( parasols and loungers available for 10 euros per day ).
The town itself is not particular interesting. Most shops selling the usual seaside stuff. If eating out there are a number of good restaurants and cafes. Interesting places to visit nearby are Villa Real de Santo Antonio, and from there a ferry across the River Gaudiana to Ayamonte in Spain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here 3rd August - 10th August 2012, booked with some friends after reading the good reviews. We got the half board upgrade free thinking we can always eat out if it's not up to scratch, however the quality and choice of the evening meals was superb and we ate there 6 out of 7 nights.
Rooms where clean and ample, flat screen tv's and aircon as standard. Our friends where allocated one of the self catering apartments which had 3 rooms on 2 floors, main bathroom and ensuite upstairs plus two outdoor terraces! (not a bad for result for our 2 friends!!) The apartments are ideal for a family with 2 kids offering privacy for mum and dad.
The pool was deserted to our amazement - loungers and sunshades where easy to find even with a lazy 11am start...not a towel in sight....must admit it felt a bit weird ;-)
Breakfast and dinner had good flexibility with 7.30am-10.30am and 7pm - 10pm and it never seemed busy with zero queues and good service.
The beach is stunning and quiet but busier either side of the hotels frontage.
Location is on a very peaceful side of this town - but a 200 yard walk down the front towards the casino you will find hundreds of bars and thousands of people milling about in the evening, it really is a different world to the hotels daytime environment!
If you are looking for lots of action then maybe Albufeira is a better choice - but for 40+ adults with or without kids looking for a chillax there is very little missing in this nice hotel.
Would be happy to return but lots more of the world to explore first!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mathew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stedebroec
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Rooms are on the small side, bathroom is too small. BUT rooms are very clean and beds are great. Breakfast is good, dinner ok, but could be better. Like the happy hour at the terrace of the bar, great view, low prices, nice staff! Hotel looks old fashioned, but we really enjoyed that. Location is right at the beach, which is great. Also enjoyed the Vasco da Gama beach restaurant/bar. Again nice staff! We had rented 4 rooms with sea view. One of these rooms didn't have a closet for your clothes, which was annoying. Although people at the reception area weren't really friendly, they were efficient enough. I just wish they could smile a little! A smiling receptionist could make this hotel a better place to stay. We really liked the cleaning lady that was working on first floor, she always gave us a "bom dia" or "boa tard" everytime we passed by. Reception people should take an exemple by her. Monte Gordo itself is abit boring, but the beautiful beach and the nice hotel make it a good place to go.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diazzStedebroec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

THE HOTEL
We have just returned today from staying at the Vasco de Gama hotel in Monte Gordo there was 5 in our group 2 over 40s 2 in our 20s and 1 under 16. I must say we have had a pleasant experience booking this hotel after looking at the reviews on trip advisor. We are English and I must point out that in Monte Gordo English are the minority when we stayed there was only one other English couple staying at the hotel so if you are looking on meeting other English families Monte Gordo is not the place for you. We have had an enjoyable stay at the Vasco De Gama the hotel is situated on the beach in a lovely area shops and bars are on your door step hotel is by far the best in the resort even according to the locals. The things I will point out though is that yu are unable to check in until 2.00pm so if you arrive earlier than 2.oopm you will be waiting round. We had 2 rooms one of which was a double land view and one being a triple land view the rooms were beautifully updated with lovely comfy beds and bedding they each had plasma tvs with English channels they all come equipped with a mini fridge. The smaller room was room 411 one problem which could have been a big issue was that the room never had any plug sockets as we had two rooms we would use the sockets in the other room but if you are travelling alone and only have on room then this is a big issue. Also there was a door in the room which led into room 415 you could hear everything going on in that room as if they were staying with you in your room luckily for us the people staying in that room were not to loud. We had a problem with the room card it stopped working on 5 occasion’s turns out that when the card was in my bag the magnet which holds the clutch together kept resetting the room card so keep the card away from any magnets because getting a new card twice a day becomes quite annoying. The triple room we had was room 429 it was beautiful it had so much space also i must praise the maids who do a fantastic job when it comes to cleaning the room and changing the beds and towels. The breakfast in the morning was ok but beware we went half board and had some fussy eaters with us who would not eat fish this made it very hard to eat in the hotel in the evening as all they had was different fish dishes the food was most definitely more for the Portuguese guests. The pool was lovely and big with sun beds always available must say there is one older women on reception which is a bit of a miserable cow if i must say she just does not want to help you in anyway the other staff on reception were great and would bend over backwards for you.

THE RESORT

Monte Gordo is a lovely resort with lots of shops (lots of clothes shops for girls) the resort itself does not have much in it other than a beach shops and bars so if you are looking on going on any day trips such as the waterpark be aware that the journey there is around 1 hour 30 minutes one day trip that is a must is a visit to Ayomonte in Spain it takes 5 minutes in a taxi to Villa Real and 10 minutes over to Spain on the boat it is really easy and the village is lovely again with lots of shops bars and restaurants. We went on the Jet skis on the beach which costs 35 euro for 15 minutes these were great fun and worth a try. In the evening Monte Gordo comes alive with the horse and carts situated outside the hotel and the strip of market stalls with loads of bargains to choose from. In the evenings we went to a bar called the Seagull it is situated just off the main square there is signs showing you were about it is it is full of English Irish and Scottish it has sky sports and has hundreds of football memorabilia there it is a fantastic atmosphere and the owners Fernado and his wife are the most amazing people they bend over backwards for you and are really nice to talk to most definitely pay them a visit and try the cocktails on offer (seagull and Monte Gordo are nice) one last point Me ad my younger brother both have blonde hair I do not know what it was but the Portuguese sometimes did make us feel a little uncomfortable staring for long periods of time I am a girl and I did feel a bit uncomfortable with some of the men who made it obvious they were staring I do not know if it was because they all had dark hair and we just looked different I do not know.

Overall I would return to Monte Gordo and I would return to the Vasco De Gama but only stay Bed and Breakfast if you are young you most probably would be better staying in Albufaria or Villamoura were everything is going on because there is only so much you can do in Monte Gordo

Room Tip: Triple rooms are really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leah988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.2 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#8 of 13 in Monte Gordo
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 13 in Monte Gordo
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#6 of 13 in Monte Gordo
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
#2 of 13 in Monte Gordo
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vasco da Gama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vasco da Gama Hotel

Property: Vasco da Gama Hotel
Address: Hotel Vasco da Gama Avenida Infante Dom Henrique, Monte Gordo 8900-412, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vasco da Gama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vasco da Gama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vasco Da Gama
Vasco Da Gama Monte Gordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing