We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel better than we had expected”
Review of Hotel Navegadores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Navegadores
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Reading the reports of the Hotel we did not know what to expect. Yes it is old and needs refurbishment, but we were on the 6th floor, which we asked for high room, next to each other, sea view, and that is what we got. ROOM very clean, curtains new, bedspread to match, telephone, and safe, which we had to pay for. BATHROOM. Clean, bath mate new, shower curtain new. plus soap. shampoo.bath gel. FOOD Average, different each day. plus fresh rolls. at breakfast. Evening meal choice of food. but all food was eatable. WINE very good and cheap.

Room Tip: High floor, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 627sarah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 315 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just booked this hotel, why it was affordable, had half board at a reasonable price and was at a place that i wanted to go. The hotel is very old, old does not mean bad except when there are no improvements and no maintenance. The rooms only have one AC plug, no mini-bar, the carpets on floor are old, dark and dirty, the staff is not friendly like at least you should expect in a hotel, the breakfast and dinners were at least cheap, with basic food variety. The Breakfast was almost just bread, butter, ham, coffee and milk, very poor quality. If you intend to spend just a few bucks please see elsewhere and if you find a hotel with about the same price choose it since definately will be better than this one. Also ridiculous the fares they charge in summer months, thanks god i was there in lower season October, or i would be crying every single penny spent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rteixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel was so bad we chose to officially complain to the manager, but he was never available so only spoke to one of his employees.

The hotel is run down and dirty.

Huge queues in the dining room for food that is poor and served with no care.

Waiters throw uneaten food in the middle of the table to clear up - even when you have not finished you meal!!!

Pool had green scum around the sides.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pam933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hotel well located, but with some flaws of age ... a piece (10cm) fell from the balcony near me.
In the use of a lift, he stopped in the middle ... more reports from other guests. The stop was resolved fast and it seems that is "normal" ... do not have certificates of inspections in order.
The rooms have the usual size, but the triples are two beds and a couch. The bathroom it's old and the water takes some time to drain the bath, and when it happens during a shower is not good.
In general one can say that it is a clean.
In common halls have 3 TVs ... which is positive.
In the restaurant, breakfast is good, but still did not understand the logic of boiled eggs with fried bacon. At meals the food could be better prepared, the dessert is slightly varied and the fruits kiwi and bananas must be green just to show, not to eat. Many dishes and cups poorly washed. Take a long time to reset some food options and is difficult to get table at certain times.
The parking of the hotel is small and is difficult to get a place near him.
Spend a few days at the hotel, since they do not go waiting to spend a dream holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PauloBica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hi
We stayed here for 2 weeks and it is a great hotel for location. You even have a main bus terminal at the side of the hotel. You are right in the middle of the town with lots to do both day and night.The rooms are airy and cleaned every day. The staff are mostly helpful. The pool next to the lounge garden is very clean, and the gardens are nice to lounge in with a book.The food in the evening is lovely and varied, however the hot breakfast is tinned sausages with either boiled or scrambled egg, with bacon on a friday and a sunday only!
PLEASE find the seagulls bar, a tiny bar of the main strip, well worth going, the owners are so so friendly and prices are the best along with the service
There are very few English there but that did not bother us

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ellieo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We were booked in at another hotel and got changed to this 1.We were really pleased.Food exellent,service exellent everything great.Brilliant value for money.Hotel itself a bit tired but then again it would be a lot more to stay here.Really enjoyed it

Room Tip: Probably to have a room away from lifts,but they certainly weren't a problem to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 900Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in May . Hotel is dated but found the rooms to be of good size and clean . Breakfast was adequate , fruit & yoghurt , eggs ,bacon , cheese & hams & a good selection of breads . Found the staff to be friendly . Would recommend it if on a budget . Not a lot to do in Monte Gordo and found Tavira to be a more interesting destination .

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chuck111A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#5 of 14 in Monte Gordo
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 14 in Monte Gordo
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casablanca Inn
Casablanca Inn
#6 of 14 in Monte Gordo
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calema Aparthotel
Calema Aparthotel
#12 of 14 in Monte Gordo
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#10 of 14 in Monte Gordo
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navegadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navegadores

Address: Avenida da Catalunha s/n, Monte Gordo 8900-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Price Range: $47 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Navegadores 3*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Navegadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navegadores Hotel Monte Gordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing