We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for children.”
Review of Hotel Navegadores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Navegadores
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Where to start!!!..bad points...no entertainment,no outdoor pool,terrible decor,lukewarm food,no airconditioning(except in rooms,) then you have to leave a deposit for remote for air con and tv.The rooms were like something from the 70s,hotel needs a total revamp and to be child friendly and offer more facilites.
good points....clean towels and sheets daily,nice staff,food was either meat or fish,chips or potatoes,salads,soup,all tasty but not hot,there was no meals for children like burgers,pizza etc if they didnt eat adult food there was nothing.not for people with walking difficulties as there are 2 flights of stairs to the basement restaraunt.If you are 60 plus and just want a quiet hotel with no entertainment and enjoy german and spanish tv this is for you.very few english mostly german,spanish and danish,nice quiet break but wouldnt go again.its says there is a jaccuzi but the health club was closed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Navegadores
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 301 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

We didn't read any reviews of this hotel, we just rocked up here because it was where we had to drop off our rental car. After getting horribly lost several times we left the car and decided to stay for the night before pressing on to Spain. We didn't think much of Monte Gordo as a place to visit after having spent time in Central Portugal, but that's another issue.

We went into a couple of hotels to get prices and the Navegadores was the best value. Yes, the hotel is very tired and a bit run down but the room was perfectly adequate, the hotel is well sited and we thought it was good value for money.

Breakfast was one of the worst in our trip, everything was stale and dry and not very nice, but overall the hotel was fine and we were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KKatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

After reading many negative comments on this hotel, I kept an open mind when arriving. Reception staff were extremely helpful and even took us up to our room. The room was cleaned daily, had the usual amenities and the view of the mountains was spectacular. The restaurant was normal fare: breakfast- ham , cheese, eggs, frankfurters, cereals, freshly baked bread, toast, jams, tomatoes and juice, tea and coffee. nothing wrong with that! Dinner was a choice of soup, meat and fish, salads, vegetables, pasta, chips, desserts, fresh fruit and bread. Drinks were not overpriced in the restaurant. The staff were helpful but spoke very little English, but this made us learn some Portuguese. The hotel was mainly full of Portuguese holidaymakers and most enjoyable to watch them enjoy their holidays. This is not for people who want bacon and eggs and burgers or pizza. It was a refreshing holiday and i would go back again anytime.........

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank ela31618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

If u read this and have a few sense listen to me: Monte Gordo is the ugliest town in all Algarve packed with gazillion families. It's not a town, it's a resort with 10floor ugly-old hotels. The local beach is super-super packed. Navigadores is a well torn super mediocre hotel and definitely shouldn't cost more than 60euros/night. The breakfast is barely edible, everything is a joke. The moment u walk in u feel like holding your breath... U should go to Tavira and never book a hotel in Monto Gordo and certainly not Navigadores!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank webfilippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Spent a week at hotel nevagadores and had a very good stay. Very handy for all the bars and shops etc. Bus stop ouside hotel. Huge indoor swimming pool which we made good use of. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would go back again .
Pam [Shropshire]

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poppy777Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

not a very good hotel,the food was luke warm with very little choice.
it was supposed to be self service but the cooks put the meat on your plate.
there was no entertainment, the bar prices were pretty steep.
but having said that for what we paid £416 each for two weeks half board you can't complain.
i would recomend this hotel if you're on a budget and don't mind eating luke warm food

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluepeter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

This Hotel was well placed in the town, it is tired and dull looking and could do with a re vamp but we found it clean with plenty of hot water. There was a general lack of info available , pool opening times etc. We wanted access to UK news as the Ash problems continued but none of the TVs catered for British viewers.The pool was chilly - heated ? and not enough made of the health suite that is available inc in the price.
We had half board and although the food wasnt top quality, we didnt starve and for the money we paid we ate well . There were alot of complaints but we thought on the whole it was ok .
The rooms were basic but clean and the sea view isnt any longer possible as buildings have appeared along the front blocking the view.
All in all , we got we expected on a bargain break price and had a pleasant stay in Monte Gordo.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 14 in Monte Gordo
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 14 in Monte Gordo
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#8 of 14 in Monte Gordo
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 14 in Monte Gordo
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
0.2 mi away
Calema Aparthotel
Calema Aparthotel
#10 of 14 in Monte Gordo
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navegadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navegadores

Address: Avenida da Catalunha s/n, Monte Gordo 8900-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Price Range: $39 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Navegadores 3*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Navegadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Navegadores Hotel Monte Gordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing