We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
Review of Calema Aparthotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calema Aparthotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed October 19, 2013

just got back from a week in calema, the hotel was very nice, clean, close to the beach, would go back as its in an excellent location, calling at moby's bar to see karl and toni is a must.xx to bits karl.xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 118 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

we stayed here for a week, 6 of us in a two bed apartment. the apartment was very spacious an kept really clean. towels changed daily if you left them on bathroom floor. the balcony was huge, plenty of space an enough chairs for us all to sit out there. we were self catering so carnt comment on the food. plenty of places close by to eat. we would definatly go back here, lovely place :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caron d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed there for 5 days with breakfast included. The breakfast was very poor, very low variety and very little quality. We couldn't even toast the bread. Don't try the milk from the machine, it's awful, I asked all week for them to heat some milk for me. Helpful staff outside of the breakfast room. The apartment was big and spacious, and relatively clean. Although the apartment doesn't have sun all day it was always hot. We had to leave the windows open all day and at night too. The problem with leaving the windows open at night was the noise, there were always carriages with horses (that had little bells on them that made a lot of noise,more irritating than actually loud) passing there all night. The pool is very small, we didn't went there, we went only to the beach that it's huge and 600 meters walking distance. Monte Gordo has a big problem with parking, lots of cars for a tiny city...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smtcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed for a few days in the Summer a couple of years ago.
Nice and helpful staff, everyting was always very clean, good location, swimming pool was ok and great value!
I would stay here again ;)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serene85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

stayed at this hotel 4 years ago ,found it to be very clean ,all stsff very helpful and could not do enough

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thomas w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

We found the Calema Hotel in Monte Gordo fairly average/nothing special. The apartment was however very spacious, and clean, and the reception staff extremely helpful.

We were half board, so ate every morning and evening in the restaurant which was very small and pokey - if you were a couple you had to sit squashed in the middle of the room - there were tables for 4 and more around the side, but on more than one occasion guests were very rudely shouted at if they dared attempt to sit there if there were only two of them. Understandable if the restaurant was busy - but as not many guests used it, then I saw no need for that attitude. We could not complain about the food in the evening - even though there wasn't much of a choice, we really liked what was on offer, although I would definitely not recommend eating there if you are a vegetarian, or even if you are someone who loves their puddings - as there was hardly any choice of desert - 2 flan type dishes and/or fruit. Also If you like your breakfasts, then don't eat there either; only bread rolls, with ham/cheese, Jam/marmalade, 1 choice of yoghurt flavour, and 1 choice of cereal. OK I suppose if you were going for a short time, but it got very boring after 10 days!!

Monte Gordo itself was lovely - HUGH beach, - though noticeably hardly any young families. Certainly at the time of year we went (September) the average "Tourists" I would say were early retirement age and above.

We would go back to Monte Gordo, but probably find a different hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

We stayed (me and my wife) on Hotel Calema for 2 weeks starting 12th august 2008. The hotel is spotlessly clean. All the staff where polite helpful & cheerful at all times. Their English is good too. There is lots of equipment in the apartment to make your own dinner. The best equipped hotel I have visit. Its not Coffee machine but a kettle, that works fine. There is an toaster and microwave, and an Owen with 4 cooking plates. Air-condition. The restaurant in hotel was cheap & served very good food. The bar is excellent. The swimming pool is small, but nice and clean. I don’t try the trim room and sauna, but its look well equipped. Food, drinks and cigarettes my you buy in the hotel bar. Internet café in the reception, but not of good use, since they have too much security, so you cannot fill your phone or pay your bill.

Also the maids are in to clean every day. The Hotel and the staff are excellent. Recommended.

Smal, but good Library in the 2. reception.

PS. Some sound from the nearby area, but that will stop when the building complex is finish.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JanBergen_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 14 in Monte Gordo
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casablanca Inn
Casablanca Inn
#6 of 14 in Monte Gordo
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 14 in Monte Gordo
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Guadiana
Guadiana
#12 of 14 in Monte Gordo
71 reviews
0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 14 in Monte Gordo
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calema Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calema Aparthotel

Address: Avenida da Catalunha, Monte Gordo 8900-400, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Price Range: $33 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Calema Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Calema Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calema Aparthotel Monte Gordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing