We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Hotel Alba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alba
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel is well located, it's close to the beach, restaurants and shops. Near there is a bus stop and 1,5 km a railway station. The rooms are clean and comfortable. In the small kitchenette you'll find everything you need. Swimming pool is small but clean. There is no free wi-fi, and the Internet is quite expensive - 10 euro per day. During the first week of September it wasn't easy to park a car near the hotel. There were some mosquiots so taking a repelent is a good idea.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isabel_PL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 212 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Alba is up near the bus stop tor Eva buses and we caught one from Faro. The hotel is very comfotable, very cleanand has good airconditioning. Our room had a large bed, table and chairs and a fully equipped kitchenette-fridge, microwave and cooktop, crockery etc.
They have a medium size pool with a number of sun lounges never enough as evrywhere else. It is about 4 minutes walk from the beach, with restaurants and a supermarket nearby.There is a bigger supermarket and Friday market in Vila real. There is local bike hire or a bus into Vila. A ferry trip to Ayamonte ( under 2 euros each way) is worth the trip.
The only downside is everything is an extra-Wifi and security and quite expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pambicoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here at the Alba on 2 occasions . For us it was Ideal , as we had the best of both worlds , we could stay in and eat or it was just a short walk to many resteraunts and bars where we could eat and drink out.
a very clean Hotel with friendly staff who spoke very good English, and always had the time of day !!. The beds where alwys made and clean towels if you wanted them.
Would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Booked a week at the Alba in May 2012. Emailed the hotel beforehand to advise that my husband was recovering from a serious illness & it was also our wedding anniversary & requested a quiet, comfortable room. This email obviously fell on deaf ears...
We were in room 219, overlooking the road with a balcony that got no sun whatsoever.
The entrance to the hotel was clean & well maintained. The staff were approachable & friendly. Our room was very clean & the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was also pristine. It is an "aparthotel" & has a mini kitchen complete with fridge & microwave should you wish to cook. We didn't but unfortunately other guests did & there was often a lingering "school dinners" smell in the corridors. The worst thing about this hotel is the noise. The doors bang & slam & you can hear every footstep in the hall. If they insulated the doors properly & put a carpet in the hall it wouldn't be so bad. There were dogs barking intermittently most nights. We may as well have left the balcony door open for what good it did with soundproofing. The man in the nest room talked loudly all night. Apparently guests who were lucky enough to get rooms overlooking the pool didn't suffer at all. We went out of season, I'd hate to go in high season.
Breakfast is bland & boring but the Dutch guests, of which there were many, were tucking in. You have a choice of cake, yes cake. Hard boiled eggs, processed cheese slices, salami, yes, salami & ham. The fruit salad is pieces of apple with mandarin segments & the yoghurt looked like cottage cheese. The bread was delicious!
The pool was FREEZING! We were also unlucky enough for our trip to coincide with the painting of the hotel nest door. We literally lay by the pool watching paint dry, the highlight of our trip to Monte Gordo, which I believe is Portugese for "Gods Waitingroom"
The hotel is well located for the promenade & centre & the area as well as the hotel is wheelchair friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool or take ear plugs.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Good location to the beach, restaurants, bars and shops. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were of a good size and were cleaned every couple of days. Good bathroom with excellent shower, plenty of hot water and the towels changed daily. A few English tv channels (inc BBC1, ITV, CNN News). Pool area is not massive but we never failed to get a sunbed, although not enough umbrellas as some need fixing/replacing.
If I returned to Monte Gordo I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tupeloking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at the Alba for New Years Eve. The room was very good (we had a studio) with two single beds,a bathroom, and a small kitchenette. The kitchen had a good sized fridge, a twin electric hob, sink and microwave with grill, so really everything you need for self catering. The only thing was, that after I had cooked a full english breakfast, I read the welcome pack where it said that you shouldnt cook meat or fish because of the smells clinging to the soft furnishings! This seemed to me to be slightly silly as if you were self catering, unless you were vegetarian, you would at some stage want to cook some meat or fish!
The apartment also had air conditioning, which as we were staying in December, we used for heating.
The staff were extremely friendly and the apartment was exceptionally clean.
One down side was our water pressure was terrible, though our friends who had two adjoining rooms were fine.
The location was good, as it was only 5 minutes walk to the front, but away from any noisy bars.
We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jupabeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

we have just returned from a 10 night stay in the alba , our room was very clean and cleaned every day ,the staff are always on hand to help in any way and are very pleasant and thier english is excellent,the hotel is an excellent location to the beach and all the restaurants,the town is very clean and on the level very suitable for wheelchair users and people with walking difficulities,we are looking forward to visiting the resort again soon

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennywren1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.3 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 14 in Monte Gordo
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#10 of 14 in Monte Gordo
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 14 in Monte Gordo
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
Hotel-Apartamentos Dunamar
#2 of 14 in Monte Gordo
245 reviews
0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alba

Address: Rua 1, Lote 3 | Alameda da India, Monte Gordo 8900-332, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range: $40 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alba 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Hotel Monte Gordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing