We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make your stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Monte Gordo
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our first time in Portugal. We were not dissapointed. Joseph, Nelson and Richard made our stay perfect. They were genuine in being happy and helpful. Our room was nice and spacious and was cleaned regularly. One note; Don't book 119 if you like peace and quiet, the bed is over the bar entertainment speakers. Luckily it was off season so not too onerous. The meals were adequate. Plenty of choice but too many mixed up dishes so you were unsure what you were eating. Poorly labelled.
The hotel is ideally situated away from the centre bars and noise but only 5mins walk from both centre and the beaches of Monte Gordo. It is only a fourty minuite walk and 10min ferry to Spain!!! You can take a much more pleasant walk though the forest that takes a bit longer. Or hire a bike at the Hotel.
We shall return.

Room Tip: Not 119. and the 6th -8th floors will have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolineMFlamborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 462 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

I have just returned from my fourth visit to the Alcazar. From the moment I entered the hotel I was welcomed like a member of the family. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. There is plenty of choice in the restaurant. The rooms are bright and airy. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abras37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in the Alcazar, for 9 days, which we had booked through two different agents. We were put into a junior suite for the first two days (first booking), and when the hotel realised that we had a second booking for the last 7 days, they informed us that it was in an inferior room. However they then offered to let us stay in the better room at no extra charge.
All of this was offered to us by the reception staff without any request from ourselves. That to me is excellent, helpful, and friendly and particular thanks to Joao (John) on reception who made the offer and checked it all out with his management. At all other times the reception staff were very friendly.
It was our second time in the hotel in about 4 years, it is a very clean, bright, and airy hotel. The variety on offer at breakfast is excellent (we didn't eat evening meals in the hotel, so I cannot comment on these).
The hammocks, hung between conifers near the pool, are a neat touch and very relaxing.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views, but those on 1st floor near reception area get free wi-fi in the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoTimeToWasteAnymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

A great hotel, cannot understand why it hasn't been upgraded to 4 star at least, we stayed in the New York room and loved it. The staff were fantastic and the hotel is striving to please in every way. Stay here you will not be dissapointed.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a great week at the Alcazar in Monte Gordo at the beginning of October. The weather was warmer than we expected but the pool was too cold. The Alcazar's beautiful arquitecture was an eye opener. Not forgetting the views if the sea and countryside from the balcony. The genuine friendliness of the staff gave a feeling of home from home. Unfortunately the quality of the food and choice did not do justice to portuguese cuisine. The hotel is well cited for trips into Spain. The boat only takes less than 30 minutes into Ayamonte. Most suited for couples.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our room was on the 8th floor at the front of the hotel overlooking the sea,we had a large balcony due to the fact that we had an end room.The room was spacious and clean with comfy beds and a small empty mini bar which was handy for keeping our own drinks cold.
Breakfast was excellent with a large variety of hot and cold to choose from with something for everyone.We cant comment on the evening meals because we ate out every night.
The pool area had plenty of free beds although the hotel wasn't full at the time and the grassed area was well maintained.
We found the staff at reception always happy to help and the maids were the same.
If we do go back to Monte Gordo we would definitely stay at the Alcazar again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boyceySouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just spent a week at this hotel. We visited years ago and its basically still the same. The hotel is clean and tidy, rooms are a good size and the location is great. Its close to the beach and the resort without being in the thick of things. Breakfast buffet is great with lots to choose from, both hot and cold.

If I was being picky I'd say that there weren't enough coat hangers or toiletries, but otherwise it was nice stay without being exceptional.

Room Tip: If you're travellilng with children, book a suite and you'll get an extra bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FionaandPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Gordo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 14 in Monte Gordo
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#9 of 14 in Monte Gordo
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 14 in Monte Gordo
101 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monte Gordo Hotel Apartamentos & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Apolo
Hotel Apolo
#1 of 2 in Vila Real de Santo Antonio
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazar Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazar Hotel & SPA

Address: Rua de Ceuta 9, Monte Gordo 8900-435, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range: $56 - $742 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcazar Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Characterised With Sui Generis architecture - Arabic style - the Hotel Alcazar is located in Monte Gordo which has one of the most beautiful beaches of Eastern Algarve in the bay of Monte Gordo. The village is surrounded by excellent, unspoilt natural areas such as the Natural Park of Ria Formosa and Marshland Nature Reserve of Castro Marim. In this idyllic setting, we await you for your best holiday.Enjoy all the comfort of this Hotel in Monte GordoWith a prime location, this Hotel in Monte Gordo, allows you to enjoy an unforgettable stay, enjoying one of the most splendid bathing areas in the Algarve.Location of luxury in the Eastern AlgarveYour stay in the Algarve will benefit from the unique climatic conditions in this region. In the Hotel Alcazar, your stay will be more than a simple "invariant" beach accommodation. You can enjoy the close proximity of other superb coastal areas such as Praia Verde, Altura and Cacela Velha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Alcazar Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcazar Hotel Monte Gordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing