We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of @ & Willem

@ & Willem
Ranked #11 of 74 Restaurants in Monte Gordo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Every time we are in Portugal we visit here, food is great, the staff are so friendly. Everything is done we from the food and drinks all the way to the decor. Overall an excellent place!! Lucy and Jauo are the friendliest staff there aswell.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    62
    26
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Looks Dutch but very British”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ate several times here during the week 16th to 23rd of Feb 2013. Very pleasant atmosphere, very friendly staff, hot fresh food. Overall a great experience which helped us get over the disappointing evening food served at our hotel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertA187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Nice food at a good price with friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Recently I stayed in Monte Gordo for three nights at the Vasco da Gama hotel across the road from Ed & Willem’s Bar – and what a great find this little place was. January in Monte Gordo is pretty quiet and as I was boarding bed and breakfast only at the hotel, I wasn’t expecting to find much in the village opened in the evenings. However, Ed & Willem’s came to the rescue and am I glad it did! Was met and greeted by friendly English speaking staff and was served quickly and efficiently. Food had a Dutch “slant” to it but wasn’t complicated or fussy, just good, basic café snacks and meals at reasonable prices and a well-stocked bar, perfect for me. Never yet made it into the village for an evening meal as I never got past Ed & Willem’s – probably there are many restaurants there serving good food, I don’t know but as this place provided all my needs, it didn’t matter. Just a tip for those who like eating later in the evening, the waitress told me they shut around 8.30pm – but obviously they open much longer hours in the busier tourist season. Enjoy…………..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BogsideBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A "must" if you are in Monte Gordo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a great place for snacks or a full meal. Small, friendly and with a bit of a buzz. Most tables are outside on the street (under an awning) and great for people watching. Food is great and very good value.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NoTimeToWasteAnymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent food & great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We go to Portugal many times a year and always make sure we go to ed & willems for breakfast or a lunchtime snack! The food is always great, think i must have tried everything on the menu by now! & great cocktails aswell. Excellent value for money and can't fault the staff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marsh18_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed @ & Willem also viewed

Monte Gordo, Faro District
Monte Gordo, Faro District
 
Monte Gordo, Faro District
Monte Gordo, Faro District
 

Been to @ & Willem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing