We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing”
Review of Casablanca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casablanca Inn
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Monte Gordo
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just returned from here July 2013 , the casablanca inn is very clean , fresh towels everyday and good air conditioning. We stayed b&b , was satisfactory but limited choice, didn't think staff were friendly at all infact quite miserable. There are no currency bureaus either which is unusual , very good location for beach which is lovely . All in all very relaxing but not a lot there so a week was enough .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    117
    86
    41
    13
See reviews for
36
204
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

my wife and I have just returned from 2 weeks at this little gem,from the moment we walked in reception we were greeted with a nice smiling lady, we had a nice room 206 facing the front which was a big bonus as talking to other guests their rooms said theirs were dark. we were bb the choices were enough for breakfast which done the job. all the staff we came across were friendly and the cleaners got you anything you needed.. the pool was ample size, and a sun area was upstairs, we would certainly book this hotel again along with jet2 who were amazing with their times. just round the corner you get a nice cup of milky coffee at gig@bite. just one bit of advice to anyone going to this resort, there are no foreign exchanges it caught a few brits out as not everyone has a debit or credit card.you can use a bank if you take stirling but the exchange rates are poor,you might like to notify your bank or building soc you might be using your card as their might think it has been stoled. in all a nice and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: you might like to email the hotel direct 2 weeks before you travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michaelCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had booked a twin room for my Aunt & I,went to the room--- double bed!
When we told reception we were greeted by a ‘grumpy’ girl, gave us a key & said that’s the only room left!
This room was OK.And we had twin beds!
We booked HB as it was cheaper than B&B.
Every day the breakfasts were the same. Rubber fried eggs, dried bacon etc then fresh oranges but tinned peaches & pears (AND peaches were selling in the shops for 99 cents a kilo.And the same rolls which were there the night before!
The evening meals were diabolical!! So after 2 days we decided to eat out every night
After 4 days we didn't even go to breakfast, haha.
We found out ( by accident) that our key fitted the room next door, so BE AWARE, THIS SHOULD NOT HAPPEN!!!Reception said this was impossible & never even came with us to check!!! But we knew this was true!!!
The Hotel does not offer currency exchange so we went Saturday to the machines & ALL were empty. Sunday night they were filled again but we never found a bank that would exchange Sterling.We went over to Spain by ferry, & banks were every where.

Hotel is spotless clean but leaves a lot to be desired with the food & some of the staff.
Meals were awful so do not do HB!!!
The Head waiter in the dining room was only interested in people who were buying bottles of wine so they thought he was wonderful, of course.
Cats all over the furniture PLUS hairs did not add to the ambiance of the Hotel.
If you want a drink in the afternoon, no bar staff, ring the bell!!
Actually,more like FAULTY TOWERS!!! haha.

Room Tip: Our room 220 was good, sea view though 200 yards away. Maid kept spotlessly clean. BUT by accident...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryandChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just returned from a week here,staying half board. The rooms are spacious and have very efficient air conditioning.The bathroom was also very spacious and spotlessly clean with soft white towels, changed as required. The white bed linen was changed regularly and the room thoroughly cleaned daily.There is also a small fridge ,which was great for cool drinks in the room.
The breakfast had plenty of choices of both hot and cold food.fruit juices, coffee and tea which
was very good. The evening meals were less enjoyable as the food was rather bland and lacked seasoning,but the quality was good.
There is a small pool,and also a sunbathing area upstairs,which was quite useful.
The location is ideal for the beach, or for the buses to visit other resorts.
We visited Tavira and Villa Real de S Antonio,and took the ferry to Ayamonte in Spain.
One evening we ate at a local Taberna just across from the hotel.It is called Taberna Dona Maria and it served authentic Portuguese food in a rustic style,which we really enjoyed.We also enjoyed the coffee served at the Gyg@bite coffee shop ,just round the corner from this hotel.
It was a nice relaxing holiday,which we enjoyed very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We have just returned from yet another great stay at the Casablanca,this is our 4th year and will definately be going back again next year, we have met up with lot's of friends that we have made at the Casablanca over the years.This hotel is very friendly and relaxing!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillandmartin518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was our 2nd time at casablanca & thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. the staff were wonderful & helpful.. always had a smile. they remembered us from last year.. that was nice........The rooms were kept spotless... cleaned daily... the food was great, my partner is portuguese & he agreed the food was excellent.. we will certainly be going back next year......recommend this hotel.......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katebishop1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just returned from monte Gordo. Lovely hotel. Reasonable price with Clean rooms. Well sited and helpful friendly staff. Food excellent quality but gets a bit samey but what would one expect for 3 star hotel. I ll go back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for south facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 144JillA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
Alcazar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 13 in Monte Gordo
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 13 in Monte Gordo
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Monte Gordo
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#7 of 13 in Monte Gordo
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Guadiana
Guadiana
#11 of 13 in Monte Gordo
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#8 of 13 in Monte Gordo
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Inn

Property: Casablanca Inn
Address: Praceta Casablanca, Monte Gordo 8900-434, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casablanca Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casablanca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel Monte Gordo
Casablanca Monte Gordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing