We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Apartamento Foz Atlantida
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I don't know why hotel has 4 stars for me it was 2-3. Rooms not very clean, not working WiFi, breakfast-for that price you can get nice meal up the town, bathroom -not working shower and you have to wait until hot water will heat, service-very hard to communicative, they don't understand English at all, and the worse part- it was very noisy up there.
The best part-brilliant location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just returned from our fourth trip to Montegordo. We love this resort with its beautiful beach and great walks in the surrounding country park. Nearby Vila Real is well worth a visit also, taking the ten minute ferry ride across to Spain and the pretty town of Ayamonte.
We were very happy with our accommodation at the Foz Atlantida for the first few days of our holiday and found it excellent value for money. Our 6th floor apartment was comfortable, spacious and very clean with lovely views over the beach and town. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful and we will definitely return again.....HOWEVER one piece of advice I would give to anyone thinking of booking is check the football events in the area before booking!!
Every year the Montegordo area is used for a mini "world cup" tournament (Mundialito), when 2000 little boys and their families from all over the World descend on the town for the week long annual event. Most hotels/apartments in the area are used and can get quite lively and noisy. We had several teams arrive at the Atlantida when we were there and had to complain about the early morning noise and late night door slamming from the children and the lack of parental control from their families, allowing children to play in the lifts, run up and down stairs and shout from door to door. Staff at the Atlantida were apologetic and tried their best but we were greatly out numbered by the football participants who took very little notice.
We will use this accommodation again but will check local events before booking.

Room Tip: Higher floors have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham U.K.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

these have to be some of the cleanest apartments I have ever visited. Well laid out to break up area for cooking/eating from bed/living area. Kitchen could do with an extra plug but we managed for the few meals I cooked in. Breakfast was ideal for us as we love fresh rolls and butter, tookour own fruit/orange juice down to add variety. We ate a few meals in the hotel, just when there was something we fancied but with such a good selection of restaurtants of all types close by we never low budget holiday for two golden oldies. Only downside was a karioke bar accrss the road which was a bit noisy late nights at weekends but only for a short time

Room Tip: We stayed in room 23 which had two large windows, one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronsann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed for a week beginning of October and I must say, what a suprise. I looked at past reviews and was a little nervous. I usually go for beach side hotels with big fancy pools but ended up booking this because it was too cheap to no. we arrived at midnight but there was a guy on reception wating to let us in. When we booked online out documents said we should be getting a T1 apartment which i think means studio but instead we got a T2 which was open living room and kitchen (not kitchette a seperate kitchen area) and 1 bedroom. the hotel is a great location, close to the beach, close to bars and places to eat. Only bad thing about that is the two down the right hand side of the hotel. We stayed in room 12 and the noise was pretty bad but only until about midnight. after that it becomes a ghost town!
the beach is just lovely. Bed on the beach cost 4 euros each but if you buy a week in advance you get one day free. Beach was lovely. Busy but really clean. Nice for a long walk down towards VRS Antonio.
One thing I have to add which was a complete shock... the age range of other tourists for this location. It seems to be a hot spot for golden oldies if you get me! Im not saying thats a bad thing because I had a really good time. I'm 28 and my husband is 25 and we must have been the youngest ones theres. If you're our age and looking for a week away with a bit of night life, this place isnt for you. If you're ok with chillin out on the beach all day, eating out and generally being in a state of calm then this is the place to go.
To sum up - great holiday, BOOMIN weather (31 no lower), worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aj1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Location good but noisy especially at night. Rooms comfortable and clean. Breakfast lacking choice. Evening meals exceptioally poor.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dalbyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We were due to stay at Foz Atlantida for a week but actually changed our plans after staying there just 1 night. The apartments themselves are OK - quite big and equipped with the basics however you are right in the centre of Monte Gordo and it is noisy in the evening which can disturb your sleep. the staff were friendly and helpful but the resort just wasn't for us. Monte Gordo is busy, tacky and there are no realy authentic Portugese places to eat - it felt very commercial. The swimming pool on the roof is small and there is little space to sunbathe, the facilities that you are able to use at the sister hotel were also disappointing. Overall average.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AEMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Got a very friendly greeting on arrival, despite arriving close to midnight. Apartment felt very spacious (especially when compared with a recent stay in a five star hotel). The lovely shiny blue tiles enduce endorphins somehow (never found tiles to be that way previously!) This apartment has everything, large rooms, balcony, good bathroom. If I had to find niggly points, the shower fitting was a little dated and a couple of the mosaic floor tiles in bathroom were missing. Very close to the beach, there is a little supermarket 3 minutes walk away. Parking seemed limited in April so I'd imagine this might be a problem in high season? However as a previous reviewer said, once you have parked, you can abandon the car as everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashanti02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte Gordo hotels
0.2 mi away
Calema Aparthotel
Calema Aparthotel
#9 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guadiana
Guadiana
#10 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
Yellow Praia Monte Gordo
#8 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vasco da Gama Hotel
Vasco da Gama Hotel
#1 of 14 in Monte Gordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alba
Hotel Alba
#4 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
Hotel Baia de Monte Gordo
#6 of 14 in Monte Gordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartamento Foz Atlantida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamento Foz Atlantida

Property: Hotel Apartamento Foz Atlantida
Address: Rua Diogo Cao # 1, Monte Gordo 8900-440, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Monte Gordo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Monte Gordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartamento Foz Atlantida 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the hearth of Monte Gordo, Foz Atlântida offers studios and apartments T1, T2 and T3 all furnished and equipped with a touch of good taste, comfort and functionality. They are equipped with satellite TV, telephone, kitchenette (with refrigerator, stove, blender, kettle, coffee machine and microwave), safe, air conditioning in the bedroom and living room, complete bathroom (with hair dryer, towels, bathrobe, balance) and balcony – except studios and apartments on the first floor.This enterprise puts at your disposal services and facilities available to is customers, including swimming pool during the summer, internet wi-fi, parking with limited places and 24 hour reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Apartamento Foz Atlantida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing