We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel,not far from downtown”
Review of Hotel Sao Luis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sao Luis
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Leiria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I've spend one night at Sao Luis Leiria with my wife last december. The hotel is much nicer from the inside than the outside so the real impression is only when you enter your room. Large and Confi beds,nice bathroom and a large living area with a desk and a sofa. The hotel is relatively close to downtown but it is a little bit hilly for those who are not fitted. Only con is the breakfast that is relatively poor if compared to portuguese standards. A general problem in Leiria is the lack of places to eat at night (at least sunday nights)....It took us more than 1 hr to find an opened place..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e1000lewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 101 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a very nice Hotel in Leiria. Very close to the center.
The room was confortable and clean. I stayed in a corner room, so I had a very big balcony...
Breakfast was simple but nice (don't drink the juice).
I would go back

Room Tip: Chose a top floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p14martins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We used the Hotel Sao Luis as a base to visit Alcobaca, Batalha and Tomar (as well as Leiria itself). The Hotel Sao Luis was excellent as a hotel and its location was perfect for us, a few minutes walk from the centre of town and the bus station.

We had a room on the fifth floor with a balcony and a lovely view over old Leiria (unfortunately not the castle). There wasn't any furniture on the balcony initially, but a quick call to reception produced two chairs and we enjoyed very pleasant evenings sitting on the balcony to chat and sip some port.

The breakfast buffet was also excellent and ample. I'll definitely stay again if I return to Leiria.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fifth floor with a balcony. Both views are nice, but ask for a castle view if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I just stay one night, but I can say that the personnel is helpful.
They let me do the check in in the morning instead of the "after 2pm" check in rule.
The room is nice, the view is not very good, to see the castle you need to go the balcony, but you'll get an amazing view of all old Leiria.
The room is clean and have all you need in order to get a good rest after visiting one of the numerous monument existing in the Leiria region.The bed is good, the bathroom is clean and large, and you'll get an LCD screen in the wall, you also have a desk. The room is not big but is good enough for those who stay for one to three night.
Good starting point to get to know the Leiria region.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoséS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Fantastic value for money small city hotel with quality rooms and immaculate bathrooms.
Just been refurbished so everything is as it should be. Free parking on side streets. Friendly reception and good breakfast included.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayla2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

I like, i like, i like. Big room and bath, clean, etc. Only two things spoiled my impression. Hotel in rooms should have a real glasses, not plastic! Reception was not too helpful, gave us a strange, long way to the castle.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luluka35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

This hotel was newly renovated and newly furnished. Its convenient to get to and from centre/coach station.

I stayed in many hotels varied from hostel to 5 stars, this hotel has a standard that could match 4 star ones. Their building is a little small to offer other add on facilities but have free internet access point in each room. It will be better if they change it to wireless. The room can be a little small and their breakfast is simple but for the price they charge, it's definitely a great little hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MacVita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leiria hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Leiria Fatima
0.2 mi away
Eurosol Residence
Eurosol Residence
#6 of 10 in Leiria
85 reviews
1.0 mi away
TRYP Leiria Hotel
TRYP Leiria Hotel
#1 of 10 in Leiria
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lisotel
Lisotel
#4 of 10 in Leiria
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sao Francisco
Hotel Sao Francisco
#7 of 10 in Leiria
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel D. Dinis
Hotel D. Dinis
#3 of 10 in Leiria
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sao Luis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sao Luis

Address: Rua Beatriz Machado 11, Leiria 2410-089, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Leiria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Leiria
Price Range: $67 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sao Luis 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel in Leiria’s city centre offers modern rooms with soothing colours and free Wi-Fi. Some rooms have balconies that offer views over the city. Leiria Castle is 10 minutes’ walk away.Rooms at Hotel São Luis feature wall-mounted LCD TVs and carpeted floors. Each has a spacious bathroom with coloured wall tiling and modern shower cabin. Some rooms feature their own balcony.Guests can enjoy a continental breakfast buffet each morning, prepared with local ingredients. The São Luis also features a bar which offers hot and cold drinks. A 24-hour front desk is available.São Luis Hotel is just 30 minutes’ drive from the Atlantic beach at São Pedro de Moel. Guests can park their car for free near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sao Luis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing