We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience to repeat”
Review of Hotel Lusitania

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lusitania
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Guarda
Certificate of Excellence
Ericeira, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An experience to repeat”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The town of Guarda is a surprise for those who have never been there. I returned to Guarda after several years and decided to choose a diferent hotel. The Lusitania Hotel surpassed my expectations, well located with a good view over the town, is not at the center but you get there in a 5 minutes drive. The staff is 5 stars, from the reception to the restaurante, from the rooms to the spa they are all friendly and helpful, always making their best to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are spacious and well furnished. The swimming pool is good and the gym looked very well equiped. The restaurante is nice with enormous Windows that gives you fantastic views over the town specially at night. the food was very good the products from the hotel garden were delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesmanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    93
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
61
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albufeira, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed two nights November 10 and 11, 2013. Very efficient reception staff, huge room, excellent facilities all round. My only 'complaint' was the very low level of lighting in the bedroom. I couldn't read in bed and it was only just possible to work at the desk after dark.

Breakfast buffet was excellent.

The hotel is about 3 miles / 5km from the city centre and about 1 mile / 1.6km from the railway station. There is a fairly frequent bus service to both, which stops about 300 yards from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cubsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Tivon Israel
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very nice hotel, with great facilities. Good breakfast with local products, fresh fruit. The hotel is out of town and need transport to reach the city communities.
View from the room we had was beautiful.
Large and spacious room. The bed was very comfortable. Clean bathrooms and showers.
We were at the hotel one night on the way from Lisbon to Porto, but really enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuki51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

everything was great; A comfortable big room, good breakfast, very good receotion, modern facilities. The hotel is located far from the historic/touristic area of the town, not far from the high way, which has its disadvantage and explain its inexpensive price.
........................

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoham47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel from 1-2 August 2013 whilst participating in an organised tour
of Portugal.
The room was beautiful with an excellent view. Both the evening meal and breakfast
were very good.
I had a problem connecting to the internet and received great help from Philipe in the reception who gave me a cable. This enabled me to use my computer which was very useful.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor with odd numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenoftroy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile


I stayed at Lusitânia for one night on the 26th of June, room 119.
The hotel is conveniently located close to two major motorways intersection (A23 and A25, connecting Guarda to Lisbon and Aveiro, respectively) and just 40 km from Vilar Formoso, one of the most important border crossings with Spain and Portugal's major gateway for drivers from and to Europe. Thus, the hotel is an excellent stopover for those driving in or out of Portugal and it does seem to cater to that market; its location some 6 km away from Guarda doesn't make it the most convenient base to explore this historical city.
The hotel was a totally unexpected positive surprise. This may sound a bit of a prejudice but I was not expecting a hotel with this level of service in this part of the country, better than in the more touristic areas.
Although the decor is a bit dated, this 4 star hotel has a pleasant atmosphere, good facilities and friendly staff.
My room was big and confortable, with a nice balcony with a great view to Guarda and to the hotel's vegetable garden. The bathroom was nice and everything was properly clean.
The hotel has free wifi everywhere with login data provided at reception, one set per equipment. All very straightforward, no fuss, plain simplicity, much better than other 4 or 5 star hotels in Portugal's touristic areas.
I wanted to use the indoor pool at the spa, but to my surprise there was an hydrogymnastics class there! The spa doubles as a public gym! No problems, the outdoor pool is an excellent alternative.
I had dinner at the hotel's restaurant. Nice food, good value executive menu for less than €14 (starter, main dish, desserts&cheese buffet, drink), although the two dishes on offer were rather uninteresting. The main menu had much more interesting options. The food was tasty and made to order. The desserts were great.
Breakfast was great, with plenty of choice.
In summary:
things I thought could be improved:
- public spa: weird and guests should be informed of that, at check-in or at hotel reservation websites;
- the decoration could use an update

Things I liked:
- Free Wifi all over: top marks!
- Extremely, naturally friendly staff;
- Nice outdoor swimming pool, with a great view;
- The hotel has its own vegetables garden and they claim to use them in the restaurant. Nice!
I paid € 50 for one night, which makes for an excellent value for money option.
Would I stay here again? Definitely!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulolisb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is close to the city centre if you're travelling by car and easy to spot out (there are signs by the road that guide you there once you're in the area).
Everyone at the hotel was always very friendly and helpful.
The room was very spacious, with a balcony facing the outdoor pool and the garden where they grow vegetables and fruits that are served at the hotel's restaurant.
Every place was very clean, spotless, and very tidy.
The only con was the TV. Very few channels and not working well. But it didn't really matter because we were there to visit the city and others near by and we were not there to watch TV.
On the other hand, the internet worked wonderfully! You just need to ask for a password at the reception (last 24h).
We didn't use the outdoor or the indoor pools, nor the gym, (because we were only in Guarda for a weekend get away, 2 nights) but we went by and we were very please with what we saw and made me feel a bit sorry I didn't try them out. Maybe next time!
The restaurant has amazing good food (we saw Michelin signs from 2012 and 2013) and the breakfast is served in buffet style with lots of variety and goodies to choose from. Love it!
From there we visited the city of Guarda on the 1st day (late afternoon and night). On the 2nd day, the Piódão village, Serra da Estrela National Park, the city of Covilhã and the city of Belmonte. On the last day, before returning home to Porto, we visited the city of Almeida.
We will return, when we return to Guarda and we definitely recommend it to everyone: couples weekend romantic get away, family vacations with kids, older couples and business people.

Room Tip: Rooms that are odd number face the swimming pool (stayed in room 223)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guarda
2.5 mi away
Hotel Santos
Hotel Santos
#1 of 8 in Guarda
234 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Vanguarda
Hotel Vanguarda
#3 of 8 in Guarda
188 reviews
4.6 mi away
Pombeira Hotel
Pombeira Hotel
#7 of 8 in Guarda
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Casa das Penhas Douradas
Casa das Penhas Douradas
#1 of 3 in Manteigas
344 reviews
15.4 mi away
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
Casa Lagar da Alagoa
#1 of 3 in Serra da Estrela
42 reviews
24.5 mi away
Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Concepcion
Hotel Domus Real Fuerte de la Co...
#1 of 1 in Aldea del Obispo
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lusitania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lusitania

Property: Hotel Lusitania
Address: Lote 34 Quinta das Covas, Guarda 6300-826, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Guarda District > Guarda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Guarda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lusitania 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lusitania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing