We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay, we strongly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Challet Fonte Nova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Challet Fonte Nova
Ranked #2 of 14 Alcobaca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect stay, we strongly recommend”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We are a family with 3 kids (12, 4 and 2), are used to travel, in all type of accommodation (cheap and 5 stars).
The house is really wonderful, old fashioned, high ceiling, nice furniture, breakfast in the dining room was terrific.
Rooms are in another building, ours was perfectly fit for the family, bathroom was the hugest we have ever seen !!!
Service was great, people were sympathetic and helpful.
5 minutes walk from the monastery, easy.
Do not hesitate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PascaLena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    19
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
68
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaulieu
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We are a family of four and had a great big room with a huge marble bathroom, room 3. Very close to town centre and beautiful monastery . Really quiet and good parking, kind staff. Excellent, would recommend very highly. Breakfast served in large high ceilinged room.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymousebeaulieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We adored Challet Forte Nova. We had a great, super-comfortable room in the new part adjacent to the beautiful old house. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. We were offered a complimentary welcome drink & breakfast was absolutely delicious. All in all a five star experience. The Challet is very well located, a few minutes from the stunning monastery and near cafes and restaurants in this small but charming town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Everything was perfect. The staff were helpful beyond words, nothing was too much. Breakfast was delicious and abundant! Room was beautiful, we were in the old Challet, first floor fantastic balcony and beautifully decorated. Housekeeping was first class. We were here for a wedding at the monestary, so location was perfect. I saw a few of the rooms, all beautiful. I was unsure about the rooms in the Spa, but they turned out to be huge and the bathrooms enormous!! All in all, it was perfect. One of the nicest places we have stayed for a long time. Great recommendations for dinner and also a trip to Obidois over our 3 night stay. Rooms were quiet and the beds very comfortable... 5/5

Room Tip: All the rooms i saw were great, both in the Challet and the Spa. Although if I could choose, id ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rrhona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This is a delightful small chalet (the swiss chalet style is not characteritic of Portugal but there is a reason) with great spacious rooms, fantastic breakfast and outstanding service. One honestly feels like royalty while visiting. The location could not get any better at ony a 5 minute walk from downtown Alcobaca and the monastery. After a day visiting nearby Batalha rest in the lounge while sipping a drink or two and you will think you are a duke and duchess!!! You definitely get more for your money at the Challet Fonte Nova

Room Tip: ask for one of the rooms on the top floor with a view over the small gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acamacho1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel is very well located, close to the monastery. The room we stayed , in the 2nd floor, was ample , well decorated, and very comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Good base for an exploration of central Portugal and the heritage sites of Alcobaça, Tomar and Batalha.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remy_Martin_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Thank you,Trip Advisor Ranking!
I was absolutely the right that I believe the ranking and visited Challet Fonte Nova, the number one popular hotel in Alcobasa.

This is beautiful and romantic hotel full of kindness of the staffs.
Our room #3 is in the new building ,large and bright room with huge marble bathroom. The bathroom includes a big bath tab and many toiletries.
I often travel some countries, this bathroom may be the largest bathroom I ever stayed.

Mosteiro de Santa Maria is very short walking distance from the hotel. You can park your car in the hotel parking lot. Mosteiro was so amazing !!

The breakfast was absolutely gorgeous. I mean, food ( bread,ham and cheese, fruits, chocolate-cake,yogurt , handmade jam) was just nice,but the dishes and the atmosphere of the room was full of elegant.
It seemed that there was no other guests here on this day, so my hubby and I could eat breakfast in the special living room by ourselves. I felt that I must do everything in a aristocratic manner! :)
This is a beautiful memory of our travel in Purtugal.

I asked the staff, Which nationality of people is the most frequent visitors of this hotel?
She said that American, Spanish and German are the most.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsRoomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alcobaca
1.8 mi away
Your Hotel & Spa Alcobaca
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#4 of 8 in Alcobaca
185 reviews
5.4 mi away
Casa da Padeira
Casa da Padeira
#5 of 8 in Alcobaca
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar Sul
Hotel Miramar Sul
#1 of 10 in Nazare
678 reviews
5.5 mi away
Miramar Hotel & SPA
Miramar Hotel & SPA
#3 of 10 in Nazare
484 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
#1 of 4 in Batalha
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Challet Fonte Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Challet Fonte Nova

Property: Challet Fonte Nova
Address: Rua da Fonte Nova, Alcobaca 2460-046, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Alcobaca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Alcobaca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Challet Fonte Nova 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Challet Fonte Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing