We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good example of the excelent Portuguese Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Antonio Padeiro

Restaurante Antonio Padeiro
Ranked #3 of 94 Restaurants in Alcobaca
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“very good example of the excelent Portuguese Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We dinned at António Padeiro and loved it.
Very unique decor, with a portuguese vintage feel.
The starters and main dishes were amazing, in quality and quantity. We absolutely full and were not able to eat everything!
It's not cheap, but it's well worth it.
A very good example of the excelent Portuguese Food!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank vanessa_vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    257
    53
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mogofores
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“muito bom!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

lots of good food, especially meat. it is also a very cosy place, and all plates como with imaginative details.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nuno m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Aventuras
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were in the town of Alcobaca looking for a restaurant that our guide book recommended but a helpful local told us it was closed for the season and recommended this place instead. What a lovely surprise it was! We were seated outside in a beautiful day so we missed the décor of the downstairs dining room but the "aperitivos" were to die for: Local sausages, hams, olives, cheese, butter, scrambled eggs! Since we did not know what to choose among the starters, we opted to have them all, a decision we do not regret since they were all delicious and gave us a chance to try different Portuguese specialties. We shared a hearty chicken soup, followed by a porc and a chicken dish that were all good and served in clay pots. Dessert was also excellent: A decadent chocolate cake with grapes.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a romantic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Loved the place, the food and the service! Maybe a bit pricey for Alcobaca, but still a great choice for a special occasion! Portions are big there if you like good food in generous quantities. Ladies make sure your belt is not too tight! :)

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank McDaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
2 reviews
“If near Alcobaça, do not miss this.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was my 2nd visit to this restaurant, with my family (two small children) and the quality of the meal was, again, outstanding.
The starters were, as many said before, very good. The quality of the cheeses, smoked ham and sausages was top notch and the scrambled eggs with "farinheira" (a particular kind of smoked sausage) were also very nice. The remaining stuff, although well prepared and presented, was more conventional.
We had cod with bread crumbles and "farinheira" (another kind of sausage). The cod was, of course, prepared Portuguese stile. This means that the salt has to be removed in the precise proportion. To much salt and it will be uneatable, to less of it and it will become tasteless. It was perfect! Very delicate combination of flavors, witch is surprising considering the main ingredients.
We also had croquettes of "alheira de caça" (yet another kind of sausage, this time made with game meat). This was a total surprise to me. What a wonderful idea! Never had that before, cannot wait to try it again. Smooth, rich and fried to perfection. The "alheira" flavor was shy at the beginning, but it exploded in the mouth a little bit later. In the meantime, the pleasant texture was paramount. Very good combination with the fresh tomato and bell-pepper rice.
For desert we choose among the several conventual sweets. All irreproachable.
The wine list is not too large but you may still find several good choices at a price that is more than reasonable (witch is rare in Portugal).
On the minus side, my Port wine was a bit warm. I guess that the same would have happened if I have had any red wine. I talked to the manager about that and he said that they are aware of the problem and will resolve it as soon as possible (not a very good time for investments...). Maybe it is a good idea to have a chiller with your reds, just until they are at the proper temperature.
The price charged was very reasonable, witch may account for the good number of clients there. I hope they do not start overcharging.
The staff was very helpful without being overwhelming and the decor is full of original ideas that made our staying a pleasant one.
In conclusion: if you are planning a trip to Alcobaça or just find yourself there, do not miss the opportunity to try António Padeiro. I am pretty sure you will not regret it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francisco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Antonio Padeiro also viewed

Alcobaca, Leiria District
Alcobaca, Leiria District
 
Nazare, Leiria District
Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca
 

Been to Restaurante Antonio Padeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing