We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lampeland Hotell(Lampeland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Notodden Hotel(Notodden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gavelstad(Lardal Municipality)
View Hotel
Norsjo Hotell(Telemark)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyrifjord Hotell(Vikersund)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveler rating
162
184
89
29
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
184
89
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivernice hotelgreat breakfastbusiness tripswimming poolfew timesin additionclean roomsconference hotelspa areaenjoyed my staybar restaurantfitness roomplenty of spacethe hotel staffgood sizebreakfast buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 473 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a two day conference. The room I got was grose. Dirty lightswitches, smudgy telephone, trash had not been emptied, toilet was not clean.
After complaining I got a new room which was of a much higher standard. Seems they need to instruct the cleaning staff.
Food was OK, and also the service.
Nothing exceptional, but OK as long as you get a clean room.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrWhye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm so sorry that the room was not properly cleaned.
We will go through our routines in housekeeping so that we can improve our standard.

I hope that the rest of your stay was good, and that we can welcome you back on a later occation.

Best regards
Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel relies heavily on the Oil and Gas businesses in Kongsberg. The fact that there is little Hotel competition in Kongsberg and the oil and gas industry is flourishing the Grand Hotel has manipulated it's position. Prices are too high and the standard of the hotel is poor.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank underestimated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

The demand in Kongsberg is very high now and that is increasing the prices.
We are continuously renovating our rooms, we finished 23 rooms this summer, and we will continue with this during the next year.

Best regards
Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The rooms are nice, although a bit dated. Location is good; in the middle of Kongsberg with cinema, shopping and eating all in short range from the hotel.
The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, I think Choice has a job to do here, not only in Kongsberg but in several hotels. Doesn't help with ecologically grown food when the selection is so limited.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnum007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Hi,

Thank you so much for your feedback. :)
We really appreciate it.

I hope we will see you again!

Charlotte A. Odden
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Hotel setting is very nice, adjacent to a river with small waterfall. Quite a lot of water noise when windows left open. Hotel has a swimming pool, spa and fitness room. The first single room I was given on the 2nd floor was very small with a very narrow bed and lacked other facilities. Was able to move to the 4th floor where there was a normal size single bed. In room - mini bar, trouser press, desk and large TV. Excellent buffet breakfast with all tastes catered for - fried eggs, waffles, croissants as well as cold meats, cheese, cereals, fruit, etc. Stayed one night as part of a coach trip. Meal provided in hotel on the trip. It was OK, but small portions.

Room Tip: Higher room numbers, eg 425 are further away from the river and will be quieter!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne4brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Hi,

Thank you so much for your feedback. :)
We really appreciate it.

I hope we will see you again!

Charlotte A. Odden
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Arrived tired as we were on a motor bike tour,and had not long travelled across Denmark & spent 4hrs. on the ferry from Hirtshals to Larvik. We found there was not any free parking.
The bikes had to be parked over night,in a car park underneath the hotel,there is a lift in the reception,which has access directly into the underground parking.It cost 100NK.for one bike.
We were only 3days into the holiday, the next morning we discovered a bike had been stolen,which were all locked with chains.There are gangs running the area,we were told by police, the poor chap,had to abandon his holiday & fly home.
No complains,with the room,the food was ok.But the beer was £10 a pint, the dearest we had in Norway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngandsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Hello,

Thank you so much for your review. We sincerly value your input, and remarks.

I am so sorry that one of your bikes was stolen from the parking house. This has not happend here before, and I sincerly hope that it will not happen again. Still I am sorry that this happend to you during your holiday and that your friend had to abandon his holiday and fly home.

I do hope that the rest of your stay here was good, and that we can welcome you back at a later occation.

Best regards

Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews