We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of serious renovation to justify its price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kongsberg
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“In need of serious renovation to justify its price”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotel relies heavily on the Oil and Gas businesses in Kongsberg. The fact that there is little Hotel competition in Kongsberg and the oil and gas industry is flourishing the Grand Hotel has manipulated it's position. Prices are too high and the standard of the hotel is poor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank underestimated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

The demand in Kongsberg is very high now and that is increasing the prices.
We are continuously renovating our rooms, we finished 23 rooms this summer, and we will continue with this during the next year.

Best regards
Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    153
    81
    25
    8
See reviews for
31
76
20
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The rooms are nice, although a bit dated. Location is good; in the middle of Kongsberg with cinema, shopping and eating all in short range from the hotel.
The breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, I think Choice has a job to do here, not only in Kongsberg but in several hotels. Doesn't help with ecologically grown food when the selection is so limited.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magnum007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Hotel setting is very nice, adjacent to a river with small waterfall. Quite a lot of water noise when windows left open. Hotel has a swimming pool, spa and fitness room. The first single room I was given on the 2nd floor was very small with a very narrow bed and lacked other facilities. Was able to move to the 4th floor where there was a normal size single bed. In room - mini bar, trouser press, desk and large TV. Excellent buffet breakfast with all tastes catered for - fried eggs, waffles, croissants as well as cold meats, cheese, cereals, fruit, etc. Stayed one night as part of a coach trip. Meal provided in hotel on the trip. It was OK, but small portions.

Room Tip: Higher room numbers, eg 425 are further away from the river and will be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne4brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
103 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Arrived tired as we were on a motor bike tour,and had not long travelled across Denmark & spent 4hrs. on the ferry from Hirtshals to Larvik. We found there was not any free parking.
The bikes had to be parked over night,in a car park underneath the hotel,there is a lift in the reception,which has access directly into the underground parking.It cost 100NK.for one bike.
We were only 3days into the holiday, the next morning we discovered a bike had been stolen,which were all locked with chains.There are gangs running the area,we were told by police, the poor chap,had to abandon his holiday & fly home.
No complains,with the room,the food was ok.But the beer was £10 a pint, the dearest we had in Norway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngandsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hello,

Thank you so much for your review. We sincerly value your input, and remarks.

I am so sorry that one of your bikes was stolen from the parking house. This has not happend here before, and I sincerly hope that it will not happen again. Still I am sorry that this happend to you during your holiday and that your friend had to abandon his holiday and fly home.

I do hope that the rest of your stay here was good, and that we can welcome you back at a later occation.

Best regards

Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I had a horrible time at this hotel. I was on the 4th floor and the room was tiny, the bed was small (too small) and it felt like I was renting a hostel or a dormitory. Worst of all the price was sky high. I saw an empty wine bottle in the mini bar on arrival and it was still there the day of my departure.
The only good thing here was that; the staff were very nice and cheerful the, receiption area and bar was a sharp contrast (better) of how my room looked.
Overall This is one of the worst hotels I have spend time at.

Room Tip: I heard some rooms are very nice, please avoid R414.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KlipDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. I appreciate that you took the time to give us great feedback.

I would like to apologize that the room didn't meet your expectations. We will renovate some of the rooms so that the quality of our product improves. I appreciate that you mention the room number so that we can take a look at the room and improve what is not meeting our standard.

I will also talk to housekeeping manager about the wine bottle not being replaced in the minibar, so that this will not happen again.

I hope that the rest of your stay was good, and that we can welcome you back on a later occation.

Best regards

Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I visit KOngsberg often and stay at hotell. Rooms differs greatly from stay to stay and from floor to floor, so it is lottery. But standard is midt on tree, good enough not to complain. Staff is very nice. Restaurant is OK, a bit expensive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aligator1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualitykong, Front Office Manager at Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your reveiw. I appreciate that you took the time to give us this reveiw.

If you are staying with us a lot, please let us know if you have a favourite room so that we can try to please your wishes.

I hope that we can welcome you back to Qaulity Hotel Grand.

Best regards

Kristine Johnsen
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed here a few times when visiting Kongsberg. I have never had a bad experience. The rooms are nice and the hotel food is nice. I would have no problems in going back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillieEggery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kongsberg
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Gyldenlove Hotell
11.7 mi away
Lampeland Hotell
Lampeland Hotell
#1 of 1 in Lampeland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
15.6 mi away
Notodden Hotel
Notodden Hotel
#1 of 1 in Notodden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Tollboden
19.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Union Brygge
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Kongsberg Youth Hostel
#1 of 6 in Kongsberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg

Property: Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg
Address: Christian Augusts gate 2, Kongsberg 3611, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Kongsberg Municipality > Kongsberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kongsberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Grand Kongsberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing