We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins in Flam”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fretheim Fjordhytter
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Flam
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Our stay in Norway will be remembered as one of our best trips ever! Of the many cities and accomodations that we stayed in, the cabins in Flam at the Fretheim Fjordhytter were - by far - our favorite! The cabin was spectacular, the view grand, and the owners were wonderful - helpful and extremely kind. We had our own powerboat and with it - explored the fjiord and nearby cities. What a fantatic experience of boating, hiking and sitting in awe at such a great place.

We felt like we were in heaven and would highly recommend renting one of these cabins if you stay in Flam. In our opinion - you will not find a better accomodation in Flam for sure - but we would also say you will not find a better accomodation in may all of Norway!!! Thanks Sue and Anders!! Sandy Herrala and guests. :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2010

Fretheim Fjordhytter are four self catering cabins located in Flåm right on the Aurland Fjord. In spite of Flåm being a tourist trap (cruise ships anchor here), the cabins are located so that you get the feeling of calmness and being close to nature. The cabins sleep six persons in three bedrooms - we were two adults and our two grown-up children (19 and 22) so for us it was perfect. A main feature of the cabins are the panorama windows in the living room/kitchen. You can sit there for hours watching the lights change over the fjord and the mountains and watch the ships come in and leave. The cabins are extremely well equipped and come with a rowing boat with outboard motor (and safety vests) per cabin. Oh yes, and Anders and Sue, who own the cabins are very nice people and welcome you with a carton of their homemade apple juice!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmallDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

Flåm is a beautiful place to completely unwind and Fretheim Fjordhytter is just the accommodation you'll need to bring it all together. We stayed in Cottage #4 which is conveniently found on several of the postcards we purchased. Having access to a beach provided endless entertainment for our 7 yr old (warning … water is very cold). Anders was kind enough to pick us up at the train station (a wonderful way to get to the town) and show us to the cottage. We loved having access to the little boat for short excursions on the fjord. The cottage was very clean and most importantly, the beds were very comfortable. Cool air in June and warm comforters on the bed made it perfect for sleeping with the window opened. And sleep we did despite the fact that it didn't get real dark. The views from the window and deck were amazing. Would sit outside with a glass of beer and a book and just take it all in. If you should wake up in the middle of the night, check out the view … different colors but lovely just the same. We also enjoyed the wood stove on the chilly nights. This is an absolute winner! Thank you Sue and Anders for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajscherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Stayed at number 3 cottage (of 4) in late June 2010. My friend and I were picked up at the station (only a 5 minute walk away) by owner Sue. Sue could not be more welcoming, the cabin/cottage/house (!) could not be more cosy - and yet spacious - or more comfortable. We had free use of the log supply which is kept under the cabin and is fractionally above high water mark. The tv / dvd was rendered almost redundant despite (BBC) Wimbledon and World Cup being on, - when you have panoramic views like these from the window why watch the tele? Everything is well appointed and clean, the area is stunning, the fjord is freezing (Sue reckoned I'm the first to swim in it!) and I want you all to keep this a big secret so that the cabin is available when I next want to visit......... btw the bar in the village has to be the best I have been in and the most expensive. But they have their own micro brewery and if it is ever worth paying £9.50 a pint this is the place to do it.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f1nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

I stayed in one of these cottages last month. Talk about being well looked after . The host is a local farmer Anders and his Australian wife Susan. The cottage are right on the fjord, in fact they half hang over it. Plus there was a small boat for fishing. There are four cottages and we had ample room. It seemed top be set up to suit either one of two couples or a family. Flam is just breathtaking and the cottage had a big picture window looking down the fjord. The cottage was spotless and really nicely set out. Try taking the train up to Myrdal - its a fantastic trip.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BurgundyTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2009

The other review says it all really. The web site sold it to us as well and the cabin did not disappoint. We stayed in No. 4 which is the one on the right as you look at the cabins from across the fjord. The cabin was very well equipped and spotless. There was only two of us but the cabin can easily cater for 6 - one double bedroom and two twin bedrooms. Overall, excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peversFJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

We booked a week at the cottage through Norsc Holidays costing £500 for the week. This wasn't cheap, but the photos on the owner's website sold it for us!!

Even arriving in Flåm in torrential rain, the first impressions did not disappoint. There are 4 cottages located right on the shore of the Aurlandfjord (a branch of the Sognefjord) - with nothing in front of them but fantastic views of the fjord and the surrounding snow-capped mountains.

Our cottage contained 3 bedrooms (2 with twin beds, the other with a double bed), a living room / dining room / kitchen and a shower room (with under-floor heating). The kitchen contains an oven + hob and a fridge with small freezer compartment - the ability to cook your own meals helps keep living costs down in expensive Norway! (Groceries can be purchased at the Coop shop in Flåm - within walking distance).

The cottage has electric heaters throughout, but also has a wood-burning stove (wood provided) which is a nice touch.

We found the cottage to be of a high standard and spotlessly clean. However, the big selling point is the location - the large front windows make the most of the fantastic views.

Flåm is well situated for exploring the Sognefjord and is a 2-3 hour drive from Bergen. The Flåmsbana railway station is a 5 minutes walk from the cottage.

5  Thank Emyr_Elen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.3 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
0.3 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
864 reviews
3.9 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
248 reviews
3.9 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#7 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
159 reviews
8.1 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fretheim Fjordhytter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fretheim Fjordhytter

Address: Flam N-5743, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Flam
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing