We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value compared to others in town”
Review of Heimly Pensjonat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heimly Pensjonat
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great location, great value compared to others in town”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is not a 4+ star hotel although you sure pay the price for it, around $200, but you have THE best view! It is about 300 yards away from the port and train station, not a far walk, but away from the touristy center. I definitely would get a room with view- so gorgeous! Rooms are very simple but clean. Breakfast is delicious, something for everyone. Try the marmalade!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danella23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    82
    74
    28
    9
See reviews for
46
121
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is probably one of the best choices for affordable accommodation that you'll have in Flam. Small, warm, clean room with comfortable beds and a sink. Shared toilet. Shared bathroom. Cute little breakfast room. In the end comfort is not why you're in Flam anyway. The hosts are incredibly helpful and nice. Spend a night and continue on to your next fjord.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deniz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel location is really good. The room was tiny, very bad bed quality. One of the worst beds I ever found in a hotel. Moreover, the size of the beds in the twin room is for a child under 12 and not for an adult. The bathroom and the room facilities in general are too old fashioned. The breakfast was ok. The hotel is extremely over priced. You just pay for the location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iakinthos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flam hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived late (having notified the owner in advance). The proprietor was friendly but very business like. Having travelled all day we asked if it would be possible to have a cup of tea which was provided without question. However it was not accompanied by even a plain biscuit and we found the hospitality disconcertingly institutional like for our taste as was the bedroom which can only be described as frugal. The one redeeming feature of this pension is the stunning location and outstanding view from the dining room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCormacks_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

If it's true what they say about real estate, that location is everything, then Heimly's Pensjonat should be held in high esteem given many of its rooms' dreamy fjord views.  However, as any discriminating traveler well knows, location isn't quite everything.  And while Heimly's does provide good, basic accommodation, along with more than a dose of friendly and helpful service, its smashng views of the fjord can't mask a few shortcomings.  Still, Heimly's remains a nicely located, serviceable kind of place, well worth considering in the marvelous surroundings that is Norway's fjord country.

As suggested, Heimly's is well located, a fairly easy 10-minute stroll from the  Flam train station.  The walk, even with a fair amount of luggage, is very doable as its hugs the shore of the fjord via a level walkway.  To say the walk is scenic would be an understatement.  It is highly advisable to secure a room with a view - and what a view it is.  Candidly, our room's view was hampered somewhat by a large tree in the middleground, but beyond it we eyed glorious natural scenery along with two cruise ships - a common sight in the deep waters of the Norwegian fjords.  

A few words about the service at Heimly's: We found it to be generally outgoing and helpful, especially at the front desk.  Upon our arrival, we ordered a couple beers from Heimly's surprisingly well stocked fridge and bar.  A gentleman behind the desk not only provided some background about the native beers, but took the time to accompany each beer with a glass featuring the brand name.  This was a very nice touch.

Regarding the bedroom, it is here that the pension represents less than good value for money.  Our room, beyond the splendid  views, was no more than functional, clean yet nondescript.  While the double bed was comfortable and the three large windows provided ample natural light, there is little space to move about, and the walls seem quite lonely, with no more than a single picture and small mirror to keep them company. The bathroom, moreover, was window-less and featured that, while providing plenty of hot water, was reminiscent of a mini-cruise, as the shower unit was on the same level as the rest of the bathroom.   Someone pass us a squeegee.  For those travelers seeking a TV break, Heimly's does offer a surprisingly spacious lounge with two large televisions, plenty of chairs, and a few other diversions.  

Breakfast at the pension is satisfactory though unnoteworthu, featuring cold cereals, toast,   a few fresh veggies, slices of hard boiled egg, and the usual hot and cold beverages.  Several types of yogurt and fresh fruit would have been a plus.  Also, the breakfast staff seemed a bit distant.  Despite this, the breakfast area features those smashing fjord views and much natural light - almost as valuable as a quality cup of morning coffee.

Shortcomings aside, Heimly's offers good, moderately priced accommodation in the heart of the fjord action.  While by no means a good budget choice (after all, this is expensive Norway), it does provide a solid base for exploring this country's number one attraction - its natural beauty.

Room Tip: Be sure to secure a room with a fjord view; otherwise your overall view of the hotel msy well be uns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claremay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Heimly Pensjonat was another one night stopover on our vacation, and though they couldn't check us in early, they readily agreed to hold our luggage for us so we could explore town. Flåm is a breathtakingly beautiful location, we were very happy we were able to stay for one night, after all the daytime hustle and bustle quieted down. We stayed in a double room (with a view) with two single beds, and found the room to be quite spacious for the two of us. The room was clean and adequate. The bathroom shower is a bit awkward but we just considered it an experience, LOL! The water was plentiful and hot, what more do you need?! The bathroom floor is luxuriously heated and the doorway is lowered so the water cannot spill into the hotel room. Waking up in the morning to the view of the fjord made this hotel well worth it! The breakfast was traditional Norwegian with fruits, yogurt, cereal, coffee, tea, toast, meats and cheeses. We would definitely go back to Heimly Pensjonat!

Room Tip: The hotel is conveniently situated 5 min from town, we found a shortcut along the waterfront so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunintheSun111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vedavagen
2 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Flåm is a beautiful town and a must visit when coming to Norway. The view from the room is amazing. The room is spartan and clean. The bathroom is tiny and there is no ventilation, the shower curtain sticks to you and does nothing to keep the bathroom dry. The breakfast was sub-par, boring compared to an equally priced hotel in Bergen where the breakfast was phenomenal and all organic. The staff was friendly enough but didn't go out of their way to be helpful. We arrived at 4 pm and asked about the train and boat tours and they didn't know they were still running that day. Luckily we went into town anyway and discovered a great fjord cruise on our own. Also they had no information on other sights, i.e. the scenic mountain view point in Aurland which we learned about from our boat driver on the fjord cruise.
The walls are thin and we could here the people next door snoring.
The location is excellent.
All in all if you want a clean relatively inexpensive room it's fine. Flåm is the attraction, not the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room on the side of the hotel that has the view to the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivknutsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.3 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
9.5 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
217 reviews
14.9 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#1 of 2 in Ulvik
61 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel Finse 1222
Hotel Finse 1222
#1 of 1 in Finse
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flam Camping and Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heimly Pensjonat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heimly Pensjonat

Property: Heimly Pensjonat
Address: Postboks 83, Flam 5742, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heimly is a cosy pension, which is located next to the Aurlandsfjord, only 400 m from the famous Flam railway. The pension has a cosy atmosphere with 22 rooms. 21 With shower / toilet. Large diningroom with panoramaview to the fjord, room with an open fireplace, TV-lounge and a large garden. Train connection to Oslo and Bergen. Boat service to Bergen. Buss service to Aurland, Laerdal Gol, Geilo, Oslo, Voss and Bergen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heimly Pensjonat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heimly Pensjonat Hotel Flam
Heimly Pensjonat Flåm
Heimly Pensjonat Hotel Flåm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing