We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”
Review of Flam Ferdaminne

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Flam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flam Ferdaminne
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice, large appartments in the harbour area - a perfect location in Flåm! The view is spectacular and appartments are well equipped with cable TV, but misses radio and wifi! Flåm is excellent for hiking in the Aurlandsdalen which is a spectacular walk through on of Norway's most beautiful valleys!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rannugode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    22
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This was the nicest accommodation we had in our Norway trip. The apartment was clean and spacious for our family of 4. It just took us a couple of minute to walk with our luggage from train station to the apartment.The kitchen is well equipped for us to cook. There is a supermarket nearby where we could easily buy foods to cook. The view is fantastic, overlooking the pier at the fjord, the hills and huts across the fjord. Having a meal at the balcony with the view was so enjoyable. The only drawback is that you may had crowds of people walking on the pier during uploading of cruises, and the cruise may block your view in day time. After dark, it was complete tranquility with unobstructed view! Not expensive in the Norwegian standard at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This is the best choice for Flam! It is extremely reasonable in price for the value we received. It is located right next to the train and local grocery store and pub. It was comfortable, quiet and had a lovely view of the fjords. The only con is we could not connect with wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a great place, right in the middle of everything. The apartment has everything you need and is great for families. We had a view overlooking the fjord and were able to cook all our meals there - the fully equipped kitchen was perfect. The grocery store is just a couple minutes walk from the apartment.

The decor is very modern and apartment is very spacious. The owners are very nice. We were able to store our luggage the day of our departure, and they even helped us carry it to the ferry. We arrived by train (from Myrdal), and departed by boat (Fjord 1).

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you want to spend a night in Flam during your tour of the Western Fjords, this is an ideal place to stay. It is just a few steps from the train station (we arrived on the Flamsbana from Myrdal) and just a few steps from the Fjord 1 ferries (we went from Flam to Gudvangen on the ferry). It is also really close to the coop supermarket, and so you can buy food to eat in the dining area, and cook, if you would like to self-cater. The apartment is as clean and attractive as shown on their website, unlike many places that show great photos, and are a disappointment when you get there. I was also pleased that it was possible to stay for one night (often, holiday apartments don't allow this in high season, but I shouldn't give them any ideas! keep it the way it is!). Flam is the kind of place where one night is sufficient. I am marking "sleep quality" as average, because, unfortunately, all beds in Norway are way too soft, and I have no idea how they don't all walk around with neck or back pain. Their beds were like all the others we had - very narrow and very soft. But it was quiet (well, this is a very little town).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was a little apprehensive given some of the reviews but the apartment was great, clean and very comfortable. The owners were very helpful and yes i do not mind signing a waiver if it means the place gys to be so fantastic. The view was amazing and we would sit on the balcony all the time, what a vantage point!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anju K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I reserved 2 apartments via email. The owners were quick and courteous unlike my experience in trying to book Flam Marina (I had to call to cancel because they didn't respond to my emails.) I'm so glad we went with Flam Ferdaminne! The apartments are beautifully furnished with amazing wood finishes. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the cooking tools you can imagine. The owner does go through the house rules and makes you sign a waiver, but I can understand why and how they have managed to keep the place spic and span over 10 years. Each apartment comes with 2 bedrooms. The larger apartment at the end of the hallway has an awesome balcony with table, chairs, and swinging bench. We made breakfast (the supermarket is 2 minute walk away) and dinner fully utilizing the kitchen. Eating out is just too expensive. We asked for internet cables and hair dryers and they happily supplied us with what we needed. We also rented bikes from them. They are truly helpful with tips on exploring Flam. Regretfully, the kayaking experience was all booked up so we went with the Fjord jet boat experience which was a great way to see the fjords up close and personal. I would definitely highly recommend their apartments!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muselulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.0 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
0.0 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
747 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
213 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#6 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flam Ferdaminne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flam Ferdaminne

Property: Flam Ferdaminne
Address: Flam 5742, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Flam Ferdaminne Flåm
Flam Ferdaminne Hotel Flåm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing