We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic room--amazing scenery”
Review of Fretheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fretheim Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Basic room--amazing scenery”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed here for one night as part of the Norway in a Nutshell trip. The hotel is just steps away from the train and harbor. The whole area is very, very tiny and consists of a couple hotels, a couple tourist shops, a couple of restaurants and a convenience store.
The hotel was very basic--for those in the U.S, think Days Inn. Room size was okay, bathroom was okay. Both were a bit run down but clean. We had a small balcony but not much of a view. Since we were only there for the night, that didn't really matter. The place was not very soundproof, so it was easy to hear the children staying staying above us as they ran around. As for outside noise, Flam is so small there is no need to worry about traffic noises, etc.

The staff were first-rate--extremely friendly and helpful. We ate dinner in the hotel and partook of a very good buffet. The waiter was very friendly and gave us a grounding in traditional Norwegian dishes.

As for Flam itself--the scenery is absolutely breathtaking and the train ride from Oslo to Flam was one of the most beautiful I have ever experienced.

If you like five-star hotels and the amenities that come with that, this place is not for you. If you want a clean, basic room for a night, it is just fine.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidney_Brewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    303
    114
    41
    22
See reviews for
173
368
45
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

The location of the Fretheim Hotel could not be better for the Norway in a Nutshell traveler going from Bergen to Oslo, or vice-versa. The hotel is located adjacent to both the rail station and the cruise port. There are ample activities and excursions available, all within walking distance.

Service at the Fretheim Hotel was outstanding and all employees were very helpful.

The only problem with the Fretheim Hotel is that is it expensive, even by Norwegian standards. Beware - The restaurant is especially expensive (not included with accommodations), and there are very few alternatives, especially for dinner. Our room was small, but adequate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terandboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Was biking with my boyfriend in the end of July. Alot of people! Maybe an idea to travel outside the most busy season if you would like to calm down? Anyhow, after a looong day on the bike we felt like stars checking in to the historical part of this hotel! Booked this room since they were overbooked on standard rooms, but again, wow! We do not regret!!! The historical room was made in a way that made you feel like living on the 19th century... And what a view! (it does cost a little more, but is SO worth it!)
Had dinner and lovely wine in the restaurant. Recommend ordering from the ala carte menu. Lovely dishes, made of local and eco food. Loved it!
Service was great!!! Everywere we felt like they really wanted us to feel like home. Even had a private tour to the library, nice!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiGum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

If you enjoy paying a 5 star price for a 3 star hotel, this is the place for you. But if you expect 5 star standard for a 5 star price I suggest you stay elsewhere.

We paid a significant extra amount for a "superior" room with a balcony which was purported to overlook the fjord. What we got was a very average room with a miniscule balcony, which was so small there was only room for 1 chair. The view from the balcony was not over the fjord but over the train station and the souvenir shop. We stayed in some lovely hotels during our recent trip to Scandinavia, all of them much better than the Fretheim which was by far the most expensive and was the only one to charge for the use of the internet.

Admittedly there is not much of a choice of hotels in Flam, but if you do visit this lovely little village I suggest that you stay at the Flamsbrygga Hotel Which does haave genuine fjord views. If that hotel is not available (as was the situation in our case) I would suggest that you consider staying at Balestrand which has a lovely looking hotel right on the water's edge.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kilsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indy
Level 6 Contributor
867 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The Fretheim is in a great location. Fram is a small town so everything is close and it's quiet at night. Cross the street and you are at the pier for the river cruises, the train stop for the Flam railroad, the Tourist Info and all the restaurants and souvenir shops. Pass through the shops to the other side and there's a great grocery perfect for picking up snacks or for making a picnic at half the price of the cheapest restaurant.

Based on the reviews, some of the rooms must be better kept than others. Ours faced the fjord with a great view, was clean and comfortable. The only complaint we had is though we had booked a queen room directly with the hotel they put us in a room with two twins. They admitted to the mistake as they had the request written in their appointment book. They offered to move us the next day but we didn't want to pack everything up and we had a full day planned. The staff were friendly if a little in need of training.

Breakfast was ample, better than most places we stayed on our trip. As there are plenty of photos of the hotel and rooms, we decided to submit photos of the breakfast. If we ever return to Fram we won't hesitate to stay here again.

If you want a great day in Fram, rent a bike at the tourist info (cheaper than the hotel), take the train to Myrdal with your bike and ride back to Fram. In the afternoon take a cruise on the fjord. We took one of the safari tours because you get to see more. Book this before the train ride as they fill up.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tradIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Pros
- Amazing view of the river/fjord
- Shower water pressure was strong
- Breakfast buffet had large selection and was delicious
- Right in the center of the shops/restaurants at Flam and the railway station
- Amazing decor
- Free wifi
- Bicycle rentals available

Cons
- Wireless seems to not be fully functional and only works in one wing (the conference wing)
- Expensive! Dinner buffet cost 445 NOK (which is close to USD70) - Eating at Norway is generally very expensive
- Restaurant closes at 9:30pm, which is way too early
- Bathroom amenities were lacking (only those shampoo that doubles up as hand and body soap which was disgusting)
- Towels were thin and flimsy
- Some of the people in our group experienced showers had drainage problem and water spilling over to the floor
- Room decor could use a makeover as it felt a little worn and torn
- I did see a little cockcoach which I was sitting in one of the living room areas (I am sure this doesn't mean the hotel is dirty, but it is still an issue)

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank kceesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We couldn't decide how to break up our Oslo/Bergen trip to Norway, so we decided to take the train and spend one night in Flam. We weren't sure what to expect, but we were happy we chose this location. The hotel is a few steps from the train station and the dock where the ferry and cruise ships stop. It is a small area-a few restaurants, railway museum, gift shops, but very tranquil. The one negative was that we arrived around 2:30 or so and our room wasn't ready until 4pm. The room was an ok size with a view of the mountain and the harbor off to the side. We couldn't get the wi-fi to work, but since we were there only one night, we didn't really care. We ate dinner at the hotel cafe-it was quite good. Their breakfast was a buffet and the room had a spectacular glass front, so you had a great view. Everything is so expensive in Norway, but we enjoyed this hotel.
I'm glad we had reservations, the hotel was completely booked up.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.2 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
9.2 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Stalheim Hotel
Stalheim Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stalheim
341 reviews
21.1 mi away
Strand Fjordhotel
Strand Fjordhotel
#1 of 2 in Ulvik
61 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Finse 1222
Hotel Finse 1222
#1 of 1 in Finse
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fretheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fretheim Hotel

Property: Fretheim Hotel
Address: on Flam Waterfront, Mailbox 63, Flam 5743, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fretheim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fretheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fretheim Hotel Flåm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing