We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magic view”
Review of Fretheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fretheim Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a very comfortable stay here. The view from our bedroom window was spectacular. It was comfortable, clean and welcoming. On the edge of Flam is is only 5 minutes walk by the fjord to the ferry stop, the train station and the centre of the village. It was wonderfully quiet. There was a lovely spread of breakfast goodies. We would have no qualms recommending it.

Room Tip: Ask for a fjord view - it is worth the extra.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Premen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
There are newer reviews for Fretheim Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 839 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

A nice hotel, tastefully decorated whilst keeping the historic charm of the hotel (although some of the communal areas were a bit sparse - such as the upstairs bar).

The rooms were comfortable, the bathrooms with heated floors and generally nicely laid out. Teas and coffees were available in the room but not always refilled - but the staff were so helpful that it didn't take a second to get more. We had patio rooms facing the Fjord which was beautiful.

The hotel staff didn't mention the small observatory on the roof of the hotel - well worth a trip for the view.

There are few restaurants in Flam open in the evening - when we went at the start of May, the Marina was closed for refurbishment and some of the others shut at 6pm leaving little choice for evening meals. It was either the Viking pub or our hotel, where they only do a set meal of four courses. However, the hotel / waiting staff were very accommodating and arranged a choice of veggie meals for those who needed them (we asked early in the day to give notice).

As with anywhere in Norway, wine was expensive but having brought our own in duty free the hotel were ok with us drinking it in the lounge area as it wasn't particularly busy.

Breakfast was ok - plenty of choice but not much fruit.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank vixsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stopped on the way to Bergen with the family for one night... the place is just magic and atmosphere at the hotel fits it perfectly.
Amazing location at the fjord with scenery around, cozy atmosphere, great food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatianasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in April 2014, enjoyed a room with a wonderful view of the fjord & mountains.
All the staff were warm and friendly and very helpful, I would definitely return, especially out of season when Flam is serenely peaceful, walking the Flam valley is a must.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nibblesoflgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Amazing location, and a killer view of the fjord right from your room. Historic hotel, nice grounds, very convenient location beside the Flam railway. Restaurant food is standard buffet, which is never great, but the view is fantastic. We requested a table near the window, and they made an effort to seat us there. Wonderful experience. Lots of tour groups that can get chaotic. But it is Flam. If you can ignore that, it's pretty romantic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were visiting Flam in mid-August. We were scheduled to stay at the Vatnahalsen Fjordtell which is accessible only via Flam railway which doesnt run beyond 6:30 PM. We were driving from Bergen and ended up getting delayed due to a tunnel closure. Finally we reached around 8 PM and we realised we wouldnt be able to make it. After scurrying around Flam we realized Fretheim is the only hotel with a large number of rooms. We were met by a very pleasant receptionist who was getting mobbed a rowdy mob of visitors (A bus load of Asian visitors had just arrived) - she still dealt with us very patiently and offered us a room.

The room was beautiful with a direct view of the Flam valley and the staff was in general very helpful and courteous. Breakfast next morning was excellent as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

After a very long day on the road we were greeted to a lovely room with a small balcony and a large bathroom. They had a lovely buffet dinner and it was easy to walk to all of the Flam attractions. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.2 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
0.3 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
235 reviews
9.2 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#7 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
158 reviews
8.2 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
4.0 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fretheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fretheim Hotel

Address: on Flam Waterfront, Mailbox 63, Flam 5743, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Price Range: $190 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fretheim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fretheim Hotel boasts mountain and fjord views and is somewhere you can look, taste, listen and absorb magnificent nature. The hotel is immediately adjacent to the Nærøyfjord UNESCO World Heritage site. This fjord has been chosen as one of the world’s most beautiful destinations several times running! The hotel was built in Swiss chalet style at the end of the 19th century, and over the years has grown and developed in pace with the increase in tourists and travellers using the Bergensbana railway and, later, the famous Flåmsbana railway. The oldest part of the hotel has been carefully restored to reveal beautiful details, with open fires and antique furniture in the lounges, library, conference room and, not least, in all the historical guest rooms. Take yourself on a journey of discovery and enjoy the atmosphere of glory days past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fretheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fretheim Hotel Flåm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing