We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience and excellent view”
Review of Fretheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fretheim Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good experience and excellent view”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were visiting Flam in mid-August. We were scheduled to stay at the Vatnahalsen Fjordtell which is accessible only via Flam railway which doesnt run beyond 6:30 PM. We were driving from Bergen and ended up getting delayed due to a tunnel closure. Finally we reached around 8 PM and we realised we wouldnt be able to make it. After scurrying around Flam we realized Fretheim is the only hotel with a large number of rooms. We were met by a very pleasant receptionist who was getting mobbed a rowdy mob of visitors (A bus load of Asian visitors had just arrived) - she still dealt with us very patiently and offered us a room.

The room was beautiful with a direct view of the Flam valley and the staff was in general very helpful and courteous. Breakfast next morning was excellent as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    291
    109
    40
    22
See reviews for
166
356
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

After a very long day on the road we were greeted to a lovely room with a small balcony and a large bathroom. They had a lovely buffet dinner and it was easy to walk to all of the Flam attractions. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lb,il
Level Contributor
99 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Fretheim, a historic hotel in Flam. As others have mentioned it is very conveniently located in this small town being no more than a five minute walk from the museum, train, ferry, etc. When we booked I mentioned that we were OK with either a historic room ( being that the historic nature of the hotel was part of it's appeal) or with a room at the same price in the American Wing ( which I believe are updated and possibly larger). This seemed to seal our fate and when we arrived we were told our only option was a historic room. On the plus side all the historic rooms face the front of the hotel but ours was on the second floor and we didn't have much of a view as there are obstructions. On the negative side the room was small, we were able to hear the pacing and murmurs of conversation in the room above until fairly late at night. Historic or not the bathroom was less than ideal. I can't believe they didn't have hooks on doors for bathrobes, etc. back then but there certainly was not one in our room making the set up user unfriendly. Lighting was poor as well. The highlight of the hotel was the wonderful museum in the historic part and exhibit about a famous local poet. Once again on the negative side they obviously do a large tour group business and give priority to tour groups rather than individuals. They ran out of some of the offerings in the breakfast buffet quite early so take what you want as soon a you see it or it might be gone. service was less than cheerful. Finally, others have mentioned that the food is expensive which like everywhere in Norway it is, but it is actually cheaper at the hotel than at other places in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chr_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I trusted Trip Advisor when booking and the place is exactly what it says: very good (not perfect). Great location. 2 minutes from train or boat. Old World charm. Lobby, restaurant, bar all recently and stylishly redone. Rooms dated for 2013 but more than adequate. Restaurant menu limited in off-season. Everyone from the staff has been beyond gracious and extremely helpful. There are cheaper options in Flåm. But you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chaddavidsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Very welcoming, extremely comfortable, terrific food, perfect location, and a blend of older architecture with a well designed newer section that works very well. The staff were all very helpful, and the experience of staying here left us with a feeling that although this is a very busy hotel, guests are not treated as simply part of the enormous number of visitors that pass through Flam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moratin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
331 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

One of the nicest places we stayed at in Norway. Quiet, our room had double doors opening out onto a small deck with chairs and we were able to view the large cruise ships. The food was very good, large bathrooms - ours had granite countertops - close to shopping and night life-within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and helpful with questions. A perfect destination and would love to return!! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucky0420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Simply put, if you can afford to spend a couple of hundred Euros, this place is great. I stayed there for a night and it was beautiful

Some points
- Rooms are beautiful, view honestly doesn't matter even if you get a front-facing or higher room because a lot of it is blocked by other buildings in front and tourist ships which come and go nearly every day. The bay isn't that far so you could just walk up to the front and experience a much better and more comfortable view if you really want to :)
- Food is mad expensive
- The internet is quite good in the lounge. Outside the lounge, it's practically zero coverage. So if you get window seats on the lounge (where they have plugpoints too), you're in luck. It doesn't get better than that
- Staff is very friendly. I read some reviews saying that the staff was weird and foreign and so on, but I didn't see any such incidents to speak of.

Overall: Pricey, but great. If you have the money, then splurge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shitijnigam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.2 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
9.2 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#6 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
141 reviews
4.0 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
183 reviews
8.2 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fretheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fretheim Hotel

Property: Fretheim Hotel
Address: on Flam Waterfront, Mailbox 63, Flam 5743, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fretheim Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fretheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fretheim Hotel Flåm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing