We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fretheim Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Vangsgaarden(Aurland Municipality)
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aurland Fjordhotel(Aurland Municipality)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$167
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Vossestolen Hotel(Vossestrand)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oppheim Hotel & Resort(Voss Municipality)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Euro Oppheim Hotel(Voss Municipality)
Reviews (888)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveler rating
348
344
128
45
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
344
128
45
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelflam railwaybuffet dinnerlovely hotelnutshell tourthe ground floorjunior suitetour groupbuffet stylelovely viewan overnight stayhiking trailssouvenir shopsmany optionsstayed two nightssmall townenjoy the view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 889 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Delightful setting, peaceful, central. Great buffet at breakfast and dinner.
Charming, helpful staff.
Rooms in the modern part of the hotel and also, for a supplement, in the original part. Staff will guide you round the older part of the building - a fascinating tour.
Seats outside in the pretty, well maintained garden.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bestcornishcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night this past week as part of our sognefjord in a nutshell tour. The hotel seems to have an older and a newer wing and a nicely renovated lobby area. Our room was in the newer wing with a great view of the fjord, the main harbour area and a nice little balcony. Reception staff were very helpful and even pointed us to the more reasonably priced bar menu for dinner. The buffet dinner at the outrageous price of almost 500 kroner was ridiculous for 3-4 main courses of which only one fit our dietary needs. Disappointed by the buffet , we were happily surprised to find a lighter fare menu at the bar which we could eat in the nicely decorated lobby area. The buffet breakfast was a good meal with decent variety for all.
Room was pretty standard with basic amenities. The view was the real highlight of the room.
**Keep in mind that everything in the town closes really early so there may be very few to no dinner options. This is why we were even more grateful for the lighter bar fare at the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank 1Nidz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Well my review of the hotel was initially going to be all positive but due to some screw up by the hotel booking I have to change my opinion some. So we booked the cabin for 2 nights initially but then I called and changed it to 3 nights which was approved by the hotel staff via email.

So first of all the cabin was nice. A good place to have a family spread out. A little cold in the house - the heaters take care of the chill for the most part but it would have been better to have a heater in the actual living room instead of in the front hall. The warmth never really made it into the living area. Also a microwave would have been really nice. One huge warning on renting the cabin - don't rent it if you are over 6 feet tall! Very painful!

Okay so now the problem with the hotel. After the first night they told me that we couldn't stay in the cabin on the 3rd night because the booking system screwed up and supposednly my booking of the 3rd night came in after another customer booked the cabin for that night. So they were going to have to tick off one customer and they decided to pick the customer who was already settled into the cabin and move us into two double rooms. for the 3rd night. They did give us one of the double rooms for free for that night - so I'll give them a thumbs up for doing that to make up for the inconvenience. And at least my husband was spared more bumps on the head.

Breakfast was pretty good and included in the price. Could have used more variety of fruit (strawberries, melons, etc.) Dinner buffet at the hotel was super pricey for the quality. They are geared for the bus loads of tourists so that explains some of the buffet issues. Cookies in the lobby every afternoon (for a fee) were delicious and impossible to resist.

Room Tip: Don't rent the cabin if you are over 6 feet tall. Rent rooms that have patio or balcony in front of hotel - nice views and great spot to relax.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the FRETHEIM for one night as part of Norway in a nutshell tour. Flam is a beautiful scenic small port village and this hotel complemented my stay. The room was elegantly furnished with coffee machine and a balcony overlooking the fjord. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant and both meals were amazing..wide selection of everything from wales meat to cheeses and hot dishes and the service was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This was a return visit after an absence of 35 years. The hotel has grown, as has Flåm itself, but it is still the perfect location for railway, ferries, and views of the fjord and mountains. My room was pleasant, comfortable, and clean. The combined bath and shower felt rather unsafe, with high sides, no grab rails, and no anti-slip mat. Only soap was provided. Free WiFi worked well. The dining room served only buffet meals, the cold items were very good but of the hot dishes I enjoyed only the potato gratin. Service was polite but inevitably rather impersonal. Do not miss the amazing Flåm railway and the ferry to Gudvangen or Bergen.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanuk6991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews