We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great experience”
Review of The Flam Railway

The Flam Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$326.95*
and up
Self-Guided Norway Roundtrip: Bergen to Bergen
Ranked #2 of 16 things to do in Flam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Elmhurst, Il
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Glad we took the ride. To get full effect go both directions and sid on opposite sides. About 30% of the distance is in tunnels so don't be surprised.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank biggerfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,524
    849
    369
    98
    66
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very popular”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We planned a Norwegian cruise and one of the ports of call was Flam. We knew we would want to ride the famous railway, but buying tickets in advance was problematic. The railway website was not very good and it seemed like we had to buy a group of tickets in order to make an advance purchase. For just a few dollars more, we arranged an excursion through our cruise ship. With the cruise ship excursion, we were able to ride the train to Vatnahalsen where we stopped at a quaint little hotel for waffles and coffee (a Norwegian treat). Rather than riding to the final stop at Myrdal, we hiked about 7 miles back to Flam through the mountains and down into the valley. Along the trail, we lost track of the number of waterfalls we saw. The scenery was great on the train, but the scenery on the hike back to Flam was much better. Unless you make plans in advance, you will have a very hard time getting tickets for the railway when cruise ships are in Flam.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“Very good in a CLEAR day.”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Somr exceptional scenery on the two hour round trip. An interestingly unique and entertaining dance of siren like "Huldra" dancers in the distance at the waterfall stop. Note they don't dance for the first and last trains. (They ctravel on them.) If it's not a clear day you may be very disappointed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gnoleeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torino
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“do it by walk!!!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The railway is not bad... But you can't see the same things like if you go till flam by feet!!! Myrdal to flam by walk and come back on the train!!! Try to believe!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pancrazio89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing views. ”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

This is a great ride and must do in Norway. It was specially cool to see the big waterfall midway down the ride. In short amazing views in an old train mood.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pazsenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flam Railway also viewed

Flam, Aurland Municipality
 

Been to The Flam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing