We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Flam Railway on your own”
Review of The Flam Railway

The Flam Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$433.77*
and up
Self-Guided Norway Tour: Oslo to Bergen
More Info
$385.84*
and up
Oslo Day Trip from Bergen on the Flåm Railway
More Info
$343.90*
and up
Self-Guided Norway Roundtrip: Bergen to Bergen
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Flam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“The Flam Railway on your own”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Flåm Railway

Our cruise ship docked at Flåm and we had pre-booked a ship’s tour that included the Flåm Railway. There seems to be confusing information about this railway on the internet, so I am posting this to offer clarification.

The first point to note is that the railway at Flåm is a branch from Myrdal, which is a junction station on the Oslo to Bergen main route and is part of the Norwegian State Railways network; it is not a private railway.

By virtue of being part of Norwegian State Railways, trains operating out of Flåm are public services. Some of these services have seats reserved in advance by cruise lines. To cater for cruise ships, Norwegian State Railways provides additional trains between Flåm and Myrdal. All trains are shown in the timetable as calling at all the intermediate stations.

I have been told by people that they have been prevented from making an advance booking on these trains. This seems strange because these are public services. The one-way fare is NK280 and the return fare is NK380 and train times can be checked on the Norwegian State Railways website, www.nsb.no. We saw passengers from our ship buy tickets for the 08.35 departure, so cruise ship passengers can use these trains, providing they are not fully booked.

The trip up the valley from Flåm is very scenic and stops at 11 different stations. The journey time takes about an hour to cover the 20 kilometres to Myrdal. Some people take the train up the valley and walk down to Flåm. You can of course take the train from Myrdal to Flam, but as cruise ships visit Flam, most cruise ship passengers would leave from Flam

Any cruise ship passengers considering travelling on the Flåm Railway independent of their cruise line should visit the Norwegian State Railway website given above. Here can be found the timetable for the Flåm Railway. If an advance reservation cannot be made, just try going to the station booking office and buying a ticket; the staff speak English. None of the trains we saw were full, though individual coaches in several trains were reserved for one or other cruise ship.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank masterecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,643
    916
    407
    114
    76
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
malta
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Must Do in Flåm”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The railway trip from Flåm up to Myrdal Railway Station is definitely a must do in Flåm.
It is expensive at €48 per person, return, (NOK 380) but must be the main reason for visiting Flåm, apart from the picturesque fjord scenery.
The views from the train are gorgeous and the 5 minute photo stop at the waterfall is appreciated.
I am glad we did it but would have appreciated a lower price.
Another time we might consider a one way trip with the train and rent a cycle to get back down to Flåm.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mompy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Over-rated, Over-Priced and not very interesting”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

To begin with, there is no Myrdal town or village, Myrdal is simply a train station and there is nothing at all to do or see at Myrdal except catch another train or rent a bicycle, but the operators make no mention of that fact. So the reality of Flamsbana for me was a noisy train ride from Flam to Myrdal passing through scenery that is available almost anywhere in Norway. I saw nothing that I would call spectactular at all on this journey. What I did see was some water running down some rocks on which a couple of women were paid to prance around like Kate Bush. I also saw a lot of long dark tunnels, in fact, most of the journey seemed to be through dark tunnels interspersed with lighter tunnels with sidings that limited visibility. It seemed to me that all the Flamsbana hype that can be heard from the tannoy at Flam station was entirely neccessary because for me there is nothing here of any real interest except the museum at Flam (which was free). The Flamsbana is flogged on an invented fantasy about beautiful women luring travellers into the woods. The downhill return journey was no better than the climb and consisted mostly of extremely loud screeching of wheels against the track. So for me, the Flamsbana railway is nothing more than a commercially driven fantasy created for the sole purpose of making a lot of money from tourists, and in particular, the cruise ship fraternity. A much better trip, and far greater value for money in my opinion was the 2 hour fast-boat fjord safari, a trip I will gladly review when I've done here. But hey! If you like fantasy, you're filthy ritch and you've got so much money that you can afford to waste it, take the Flamsbana.

If I was forced at gunpoint (and that's what it would take) to do this journey again I would take ear defenders as a minimum and probably some paracetamol.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
15 Thank Pilly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“stunning train ride”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

we visited this scenic railway on a fjord cruise we travelled for an hour to just under 900 metres above sea level then got off the train and cycled back to flam it was a great experience with plenty of photo opportunities

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful journey, terrific scenery”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Short journey but wonderful scenery - mountains, water views and tiny villages. Explanatory maps of route available

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bestcornishcatdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flam Railway also viewed

 
Flam, Aurland Municipality
 

Been to The Flam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing