We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from The Flam Railway tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience The Flam Railway
from $370.00
More Info
from $328.80
More Info
from $329.90
More Info
from $414.70
More Info
Reviews (3,994)
Filter reviews
2,700 results
Traveler rating
1,495
763
304
83
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,495
763
304
83
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flam railway cruise ship kjosfossen waterfall right hand side waterfall stop both sides waffles train trip take photos window seat beautiful scenery great train ride large waterfall return journey train makes photo opportunity minute stop
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,700 reviews
Reviewed today

Such dramatic views from this train ride, a beautiful old train, warm and cozy! The landscapes you will see are jaw dropping,

Thank cardwell2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Definitely take this train journey. It is so beautiful. I took it during winter and it was wonderful. We stopped at a frozen waterfall and we could go out of the train and walk around for a bit. Flam itself is very beautiful.

Thank Kaumudi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Fantastic fun experience, must do if going to Bergen, worth the time and money, takes you right to the ferries. Great sites along way

Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Hubby, our 17 and 14 year old daughters and I took this trip in August 2018. Our teens said, and I quote, "This was the best thing we've done on any vacation".

The train trip up was beautiful, even though the weather was foggy. I recommend you sit on the right side of the train for the best views.

Once at the top, we picked up our rental bikes (book them ahead of time), and began our ride down the mountain. we were told the ride takes about 2 hours. We allocated 4 and took our time. It was worth it; we packed a picnic lunch and there are plenty of stops for you to enjoy the never-ending views.

If you can ride a bike, you can do this ride. HOWEVER there are hairpin turns and sandy/rocky areas towards the top, so you have to be careful and take your time.

Thank lsr1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A wonderful experience with views on a number of waterfalls and scenes of mountain peaks tipped with snow even in the summer. The train stops at the fjoskossen waterfall which is beautiful and by surprise a Huldra dancer appears on the rocks and a beautiful songs echoes through the mountains. We did the trip in July, and although it is a very busy time, the train was not overcrowded, but you might not be lucky to have a window seat. Very nice to do 2 overnight stops. Balestrand is breathtaking beautiful and Bergen a great experience.

Thank Joles2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The scenery was just fantastic the beauty of landscape and small villages you pass are never ending, just aha ha gasping moments of nature's beauty. The stop at the waterfall was so invigorating. My camera never stopped clicking. It is a wonderful trip and a great gift shop at the train station.

Thank Cow3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The journey up to Myrdal is simply magical through the magnificent of the Sognefjord vistas. The stop off at the waterfall on both journey is mystical.but not spoiler from me here.

Thank John_liverpool174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Flam Railway trip from Myrdal to Flåm is amazingly scenic and you get to see scenery you may not while driving on the road. Totally recommend it

Thank Beat10975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a great way to see some beautiful scenery but once the train stops for the waterfall pictures, folks stream to get that picture and can be pushy. Still, wouldn't miss the trip.

1  Thank gigi070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From Flam to Oslo central train station is a 1H initial leg to Myrdal. We had no tix receipts which were in our bags sent ahead from Bergen to Oslo. Fortunately, I had forwarded the receipt number to others in our group by email.
The train left Flam at 8:35 and arrived at Myrdal at 9:30. There is no assigned seating allowing us to move about to catch the magnificent views of waterfalls, fjords, lakes, fresh snow mountain caps, farms, and herds of sheep. Some of the windows were able to be opened from the top allowing a clear photo opportunity.
Not exactly an express, there was a 15 min stop at a large waterfall. It was still frigid outside and sprinkling. We stepped outside briefly.
The prices in the dining car were pricey. Apparently hot dogs were the main entree. We made croissant sandwiches during breakfast and ate them on board for a tasty repast.
Their claim of the most scenic rail trip is a superlative that is hard to challenge.

Thank alohatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews