We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little heaven under the mountain . That too at a cheap price !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Flam Camping and Youth Hostel
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Flam
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
2 reviews
“A little heaven under the mountain . That too at a cheap price !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hosts (John and Marte) are very friendly people who live in and feel proud of the valley and happen to know whole of the place and the areas nearby. They can give you excellent guidance about you itinerary during the stay. Although you will meet a lot of travellers and can chat up to know which routes they are taking. The rooms are clean, spacious enough and very hygienic. I stayed in a shared room but didn’t have a single complaint. The sheets and pillows are provided to you and are as clean as they can get. A common kitchen area is provided and is sufficient to cook anything. Plus the kitchen provide you a beautiful view of the valley, so there lies the location for the perfect meal you always hoped for. The best part being that all this is at the cheapest price in the area. I recommend it to everyone - family, friends, couples. Look no further.

Please note : Food in Norway can be quite expensive and since there is a kitchen available, I would recommend to carry some food (the type you find enjoyable) with you, nothing kills a trip more than the lack of your favourite food. However if u run out, the local supermarket can provide you with more than enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karanveer_Sodhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    125
    30
    8
    3
See reviews for
69
131
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Other reviews are spot on. The place is very clean and excellent facilities. There isn't any children playground except for a small swing set but plenty of grass. One thing to keep in mind is that the camping is right next to the main road and perhaps in the cabins or hostel you wouldn't mind, but staying in a tent it was hard to miss. Flam is a great location for all the activities but it isn't really interesting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The host was really friendly, and she gave us hiking tips for best views. The prices are reasonable and the camping is really close to the city. All the neighbours were quiet and the grass was soft and even which is very important for tent travellers like us. The sanitary building was kept clean and the wifi near the reception worked fine. A pleasant bonus: there was a "local food" restaurant-on-wheels thingy serving local beer Ægir and some snacks. The only disadvantage was the lack of cider in their menu :(((

I liked that the host gave us clear information on what's allowed and what's not. For example, she didn't let us shower the next day after wer had checked out, but she gave us good advice on where we could find public showers. Very professional!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marija C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We rented a private double room with shared bathroom. The private room came with 3 bunk beds. Linens were included but we have to make our own beds. The hostel is actually a compound with many houses. We stayed in a 6 bedroom house (double and single rooms) (2nd floor no lift), sharing a WC, kitchen and communal area (no TV).

Pros - the cabin style of accommodation, quiet, nice scenery around the area, near a supermarket, right opposite the Flam train station, and there are a few shower and toilet cubicles for sharing on the first floor. Laundry facilities are available using coins. The shared kitchen is clean and stocked. There is also a microwave and small fridge.

Cons - The WC for sharing on our floor is a single toilet with basin. In the morning, we have to wait for one another or go downstairs to use the toilet. Showers are downstairs but to have a hot shower, you have to pay NOK10 for every 5 minutes. One fellow traveller had to slot in coins 3 times to complete his shower plus hair washing. The toilets/showers are clean nevertheless. In addition, the free wi-fi though supposedly covers the compound was only truly strong in one spot of the house. We have to crowd around that area to have signal, which was sporadic and not very strong. Can't watch videos properly. Also, as the cabins are made of wood, people walking around produces creaky sounds so if you are a light sleeper you wake up easily with an early riser in your house. The rooms are also not sound proof so you could hear music being played in some of the rooms or conversations. Beds are basic IKEA type of beds but mattresses and pillows are clean. Rental of bicycles is exorbitant (NOK 250 for a whole day) and if you arrive after the supermarket is closed and you did not prepare your own food, there is only a small take out store you can buy food from (which served quick meals).

Overall, it is a cheap place, accessible but if the hot shower is provided within the rate and a more generous wi-fi coverage, it will certainly boost my rating. Linens are provided which is good as many places in Norway charge at least NOK50-60 per pax per night, which to me is simply petty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has WC in the house. Some houses seem not to have WC and residents have to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MustardSeed88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Hostel is within walking distance from the train station. The sound proof in the room is not very good, you can hear cracking sound of the bed next door. Does not come with towels. Need to pay for using hot water in shared bathroom.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wongvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was without doubt the best hostel I have ever stayed in. We were upgraded to a private ensuite room (we had booked a small cabin but as it was so early in the season they offered us a free upgrade into the main building!) which was fantastic.
The room was more than large enough for two of us and the bathroom was huge! The weather was very cold while we were in Norway, but the whole hostel was well heated.
The shared kitchen was incredibly well stocked with every utensil you could want with plenty of fridge space available. Free wifi was available in the public areas but not sure why you'd need it with so much beauty outside!
Marta and John were lovely hosts, always willing to share advice or suggestions of where to go and things to do.
I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone travelling through Flam. I

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineloverDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Flåm is a wonderful and romantic place. Pity that we stayed only for a night. This was the cheapest place we could find to stay but it was worth the price we paid (by Norwegian standards). Friendly staff, clean rooms and toilets, linen and towels included, small but decent hostel room. If you are on budget, just go for it; whatever you may think could have been better will be forgotten by the time you have been savoured by the beauty of Flåm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagar_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.3 mi away
Flamsbrygga Hotell
9.1 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aurland Fjordhotel
Aurland Fjordhotel
#6 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flam Camping and Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flam Camping and Youth Hostel

Property: Flam Camping and Youth Hostel
Address: Nedre Brekkevegen 12, Flam 5743, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Flam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget accommodation in the heart of Flam. Enjoy an informal and family friendly atmosphere in a green environment. 250 m from the train station, Ferry harbor and bus stop. Choose between hostel rooms, dorm beds, cabins and a high standard holiday home. Stay with your tent, camper or caravan on the spacious and well designed campsite. You are Welcome ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Flam Camping and Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing