We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travelers have booked this property
Fretheim Fjordhytter. Flåm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fretheim Fjordhytter. Flåm.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
177 reviews
Fretheim Fjordhytter. Flåm.
Located on waters edge with beach
open plan living-dining room with beautiful views of the fjord and surrounding mountains
Great views from the cottage, rain, hail or shine.
Well equipped kitchen
Upstairs bedroom with king size 180cm bed
Ground floor bedroom with queen size 160cm double bed
Upstairs bedroom with two single 90cm beds
Bathroom, towels and clothes washing liquid supplied
Entrance hall
Kayaking on the fjord
Queen Mary 2 visiting Flåm
Boating on the fjord in summer
Ever-changing colours
Late autumn from the cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Flam, Aurland Municipality, Sogn og Fjordane, Western Norway

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 177 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Brown48
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in these cottages in 2007 and have meant to return ever since as we had one of our best family holidays ever there. We finally came back this year and had another equally wonderful time. The cottages are lovely (lots of space, spotlessly clean and fully equipped)and the location is unbeatable. The view of the Fjord from the living room and bedroom is just breath taking. The little row/motor boat is such fun and the perfect way to end the day. Anders was so helpful and welcoming and quickly dealt with any little issues that cropped up. I cannot recommend this rental highly enough. If you want to visit Norway (and you really should) you couldn't choose a better place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning location
Liked least: Having to come home !
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave0429
1 review
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

It is the perfect place to stay close to everything yet away from the crowds.the view is to die for and the host is very friendly and helpful.you won't regret staying there.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic retreat right on the fjord with everything you could want in self catering cabin?”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A superb location only 5 minutes from the port and train. It has everything you need and spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The owners are very friendly and informative. The use of the boat was an added bonus and allowed us to see more of the fjord than we would have see otherwise. We would definately stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and style of property
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in cottage No 4 which is the one in the main picture. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at just how well equipped, clean and comfortable the cabin was. The view as someone else has said, is the best in town and all the views around Flam are stunning. There were lots of nice touches, like tablets for the dishwasher, soap for the washing machine and a whole range of condiments to get you started. A lot has probably been left by previous guests but it was great that we didn't have to go out and buy lots of small bits and pieces. First time we have had a boat included in our rental and we all had terrific fun in that.
Flam itself is a small village that gets busy during the day with coach parties and cruise ships, but after six pm it returns to its peaceful self and this is the best time to visit the gift shops and factory outlets as they are quiet. There are several places to eat in Flam and all were good albeit expensive by UK standards.
Lots of good walks in the area and of course there is the Flamsbana train and boat trips along the fjord, all of which are excellent.
We had a hire car for our 2 week stay and this enabled us to get out and about beyond Flam and do the suggested trips in the owners information manual. They were fantastic days out and took us to places that we may not have found on our own and has left us with many happy memories and some stunning photographs.
We would now like to go back in the winter to see a completely different Flam. I would imagine it would be magical.
All the communication with the owner during the initial enquiry and booking and then leading up to our arrival, were excellent. The owners were also available during our stay should there be a problem, but we didn't have any.
So, in conclusion. If you want to stay in Flam, have a very comfortable and well equipped Cabin with stunning views then you can not do better than Fretheim Fjordhytter-cottages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning location
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharonlaw...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“We all want to return to Fretheim Fjordhytter!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What an amazing location and superb cottage, so amazing it was hard to leave and explore the surrounding area. The cabin was extremely well equipped and there was more than enough room for us all. We would all definitely like to return to Norway and when we do, we know where we will be staying! Thank you Anders and Sue

Sharon & Reg

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaverleyR...
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The perfect way to enjoy the Fjords”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

I recently visited Fretheim Fjordhytter in Flam with a my husband and a further two couples. We had a genuinely wonderful stay and found the apartments to be clean, tidy and modern. (At this point, I must add that our cabin was more modern than those in the picture, although I can't guarantee this for all properties). One thing not mentioned is that our cabin benefited from a dishwasher which was greatly appreciated by all staying! The apartment is equipped with everything we needed.

The apartments were just about big enough for six adults: although I suspect that really they're not designed for six adults, we did all fit and were comfortable.

We did enjoy taking the boat out on the fjords and were very grateful for a demonstration by the owners on exactly how to use the outboard motor.

If you're shopping locally whilst staying, be prepared as the local coop doesn't stock a lot of meat and fish and can run out quite quickly. However, there are more shops located in Aurland just in the next bay. Also worth noting that we didn't see any wine for sale anywhere locally so worth stocking up in Bergen or at duty free if flying!

My only complaint would have to be the lack of decent curtains in the twin bedroom in cabin number 1. My husband and I both struggled to sleep throughout the week as in July Norway doesn't really get dark! This did hamper our enjoyment as we were a little sleep deprived. I would suggest that anyone planning on visiting Norway in the summer takes eye masks just to be on the safe side! Having said this, the bedding: mattresses, duvets and pillows were all of a very high standard; they were fluffy, springy and quite clearly fairly new!

At the end of the day the thing you're visiting Flam for is the view. And this place has best views in the town. Sitting on the balcony with a cup of tea and breakfast and just looking at the view is truly magnificent.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and helpful feedback. It is a big help to know about the curtains and we will remedy the problem over winter. All the cottages have been updated but we unfortunately haven't updated the pictures on the webpage. Another job for winter :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzy B
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just beautiful! :)”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I spent a short stay here with my boyfriend in June 2014, & it was just gorgeous. Beautiful cottages in the most idyllic location, and only a short walk away from the centre of Flam.

The owners were very accommodating & quick to communicate via e-mail & phone.

It's a shame we could only stay a short while, & would definitely return here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & views!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing