We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with outstanding fjord views”
Review of Flamsbrygga Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flamsbrygga Hotell
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here as part of the Norway in a Nutshell tour. We paid extra to get a room with a great view. We ended up on the top (third) floor in a corner room. We had two balconies (one on each side). When cruise ships come in they can block views in one direction. So be careful with your room selection. Our views were spectacular. Not much in this little town other than the train station. Everything is pricey. You can buy hot, fresh baked bread in the little market. We bought a loaf and a jar of peanut butter which served as a reasonably priced lunch. The bread was actually very good. I would highly recommend getting a room with a view of the bay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, but make sure that the view cannot be blocked by cruise ships
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooperlynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 717 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went to Norway and Denmark for two weeks and made a stop in Flam. We stayed at the Flamsbrygga Hotell. I was instantly delighted as soon as I walked into our room. The room is big compared to other hotels. It is clean, neat and rustic with its knotty pine walls. The bathroom is a delight. The shower area is L-shaped so that you can take a shower in a sufficiently large space without splashing the floor of the bathroom. The room has a balcony with a view to the Flam fjord and you can see the occasional ship that berths there. The breakfast was sumptuous and delicious and we ate dinner there too, which was equally good. I highly recommend this hotel. Oh, one more thing. I went downstairs and asked the lady at the front desk if there were a desktop computer that I could use to quickly check my e-mail. She instantly led me into a seminar room, took out the hotel's laptop computer, plucked it in, set it up and showed me how to use it -- at no charge. This was so unexpected, so hospital and helpful. I was in a different country indeed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jameschan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Having only been open for one year, this hotel has a very clean and modern look, whilst still maintaining an aged charm to fit in with the surrounds.

The room was excellent with an electronic door lock, tiled bathroom, large open shower with good water pressure, reasonably comfortable beds, good quality compliamentary wifi, a balcony and of course the best view around.

The only detractions was that there was no hand wash soap, hand towel rack or tissues in the bathroom, the tv only had three stations, two of which were in norwegian and the third being a 24hr news channel and there was no power outlet near the bed, so you can't have your phone/laptop in bed whilst charging.

As with virtually all hotels in this great country, breakfast was included, however was of very poor standard compared to other hotels. The range was very small and the scrambled eggs were made with egg powder. The restaurant does however do fantastic food for dinner.. their asparagus soup and pork fillet was to die for, so i'm not sure how they were able to go so wrong with breakfast.

Flam as a place is a must see. The view not only from the hotel, but all around the town is fantastic. If your going to do the Norway in a Nutshell tour, modify it and choose to stay the night in Flam, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bizstice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel, with a cozy lodge feel, is right in the middle of the small concentrated village of Flam which is located at the end of one of Norway's most picturesque fjords. The close in surrounding mountain environment with cascading waterfalls has to be experienced to be believed.

Check in and out was efficient, quick and pleasantly conducted. We had a second floor room overlooking a small park, a detached restaurant and the waterfront all of which were overwhelmed by a cruise ship docked nearby. A unique setting to be sure however we were a little concerned the ship, with it's engines running, would generate too much noise at night to allow us to keep the balcony door open. This turned out not to be an issue at all as cruise ships apparently always depart before dusk.

The room itself was on the small side however it was well laid out, stylish and comfortable, especially with having a usable balcony. One warning here however. The hotel operates a brewery right next door and we found the exit area to be a bit noisy later in the evening when customers left the premises. This forced us to close the balcony door. I would recommend selecting a room on the opposite side of the hotel (with an equally attractive view) if you are a light sleeper.

The hotel, and restaurant, shops, café and brewery, all a few steps away, are constructed in a complimentary lodge / country style. The food we sampled was of good quality with friendly service and the brewery offerings were first rate. Another highlight of the area is the Flamsbanen rail depot, located within easy walking distance. There are two trains that run the very steep but beautiful route up to Myrdal.

Another highlight for us was using the walking trails for early morning and late day strolls along the fjord and up into the fore hills. Stunning views all around.

We look forward to someday going back to the area and if so will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the ship dock side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nwesterner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Flåm is beautiful and peaceful and this hotel has a magic location right on the water. However the rooms are tiny and have few amenities although all have small balconies. We stayed 2 nights and were lucky enough to have a room on the third (top) floor looking straight down the fjord and away from the cruise ships that dominate the township when in port. We had an excellent night's sleep. Breakfasts are in an adjoining cafe and restaurant and the food is fine. You can watch the passengers leaving the cruise ships as you eat breakfast. The staff were pleasant and the premises clean and tidy. The hotel also offers conference facilities. The local ale house is right next door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking down the fjord on the opposite side of the hotel to the cruise ships, prefera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peach P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

It is really impossible to describe the beauty of Flam without experiencing it first hand. This hotel is quaint and well situated on the edge of the water. During the day, the view is of the incredible mountains and ship(s) in the harbour. The cruise ships leave late in the day, leaving an unblemished view of the surroundings. The hotel is basic, but cute. Each room has a comfortable balcony with chairs and a small table on which you can enjoy a coffee. The micro brewery next door is well worth a visit. The ambience is viking inspired and full of character (and the beer is good too). Bring your own shampoo, etc. as the hotel only offers an all-in-one soap in a wall dispenser. Also bring a facecloth from home. Not the most comfortable for a third person in the room as the extra bed is a pull-out chair that sags in the middle.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room facing the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug13Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a darling little hotel in the charming village of Flam! We were only able to stay one night, but enjoyed the friendly service, view from our room and proximity to the village brewery, kayaking and grocery. The staff were knowledgable and helpful and we enjoyed the most restful night in Norway.
An altogether appealing village and hotel! I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmomadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flam
0.2 mi away
Fretheim Hotel
Fretheim Hotel
#2 of 4 in Flam
868 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heimly Pensjonat
Heimly Pensjonat
#4 of 4 in Flam
238 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Vangsgaarden
Vangsgaarden
#3 of 8 in Aurland Municipality
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flam Ferdaminne
Flam Ferdaminne
#3 of 4 in Flam
82 reviews
8.3 mi away
Vatnahalsen Hoyfjellshotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamsbrygga Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamsbrygga Hotell

Address: Pb. 44, Flam 5742, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality > Flam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Flam
Price Range: $177 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamsbrygga Hotell 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Flamsbrygga Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamsbrygga Hotell Hotel Aurland Municipality
Flamsbrygga Hotell Flåm
Flamsbrygga Hotell Hotel Flåm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing