We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fretheim Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fretheim Hotel Restaurant

Fretheim Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Flam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fretheim Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The only place in Flåm that we ate was at the Hotel.There were so many choices of things to eat and the food was so good that we felt no need to go anywhere else.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank maspc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    49
    23
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went to the Fretheim Hotel earlier in the day and inquired about the Buffet. After being told the prices etc we booked a table for that evening, all fine, or so we thought.

We arrived in the restaurant and found there was no sign of a buffet. The waiter told us it wasn't on tonight. Thanks. You could have told us this earlier when we were making the reservation.

So we get our menus and decide what we want. I decided to have the pork with blood sausage as my main course. But when taking my order I was told they were out of pork so the dish was off the menu. Thanks. You could have told us that when you gave us the menus.

So I had the duck with noodles instead. The duck was cooked excellently so they do get points for that, if the sauce with the noodles was a little heavy.

So then we wait for our plates to be cleared....and wait...and wait. My after 5 mins my friend went downstairs to have a smoke outside and by the time she came back the plates still weren't cleared. And its not like we were hidden in the corner either. We were the first table they pass when they exit the kitchen, direct line of sight. And there was plenty of staff going back and forth but clearly not very observant.

Finally the plates got cleared and we decided to order dessert, caramel pudding. Guess what? It wasn't on the menu either. Thanks. You could have told us when you gave us the menus.

The final thing that bugged us was that we wanted to split the bill, but instead of splitting it by what we ordered he split it right down the middle. We decided to let it go and sort what we owed to each other later. He never got us to enter a pin for our cards either and took them away to swipe them which as far as I know is not supposed to be done either for security reasons.

So yeah, good food, not amazing, but good. High prices (we expected that though) and inattentive staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bekjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Decent food but at a high price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Unfortunately, Flåm seems to be one of those places where the eateries bump up the price because they have a captive audience of tourists. We felt that this restaurant fell into that same trap. Still, it appeared better value for money than paying over £20 for a pizza at a local café.

We made a restaurant reservation at the front desk of the hotel, aided by a very charming member of staff. The restaurant itself was pleasant and the service was fine, if not the best we've ever encountered.

Because the food and drinks were so expensive, we drank only tap water. Our main courses were good (nothing spectacular but of decent quality). We both chose the pork fillet with blood sausage croquettes (these croquettes were actually very good). For our dessert, we opted for the trio of chocolate. This, we found to be much better quality and we thoroughly enjoyed it - just as well because it cost the equivalent of over £16 each!

Whilst we expected the restaurant prices in Norway to be high, we just felt that this restaurant was a little overpriced for the service and quality. I would have awarded 4 stars if we'd considered it better value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tasmanian-wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Good food shame about the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The food was fresh and used good local ingredients. The home made hams and the salmon were among the best you can get.
The desserts lacked originality or local interest but were adequate.
The service was poor. The staff have no idea of what is wanted and seem unable to list and learn.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TinbumNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA Beach
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very good buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pretty good selection. Not the best we had in Scandanavia but it had all the usual salmons, 4 types of herring, salads, pork, beef, lamb and chicken. Selection of desserts. Not cheap but then what is cheap in Norway!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alphotodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fretheim Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Flam, Aurland Municipality
 
Flam, Aurland Municipality
Flam, Aurland Municipality
 

Been to Fretheim Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing