We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rent bikes to ride to Flam”
Review of Cafe Rallaren

Cafe Rallaren
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Myrdal
Cuisines: Norwegian
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 26, 2018

We didn't actually eat at the restaurant, just rented bikes to ride down the mountain to Flam. The bikes were good quality, and individually set up, and we were given good instructions. The bike ride was fantastic! Best tour of our three week trip.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank MylaBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 52 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

Myrdal is only a train station, so this is your only choice. Considering that, it is especially nice. There’s a limited selection of fresh and tasty pre-made sandwiches, homemade soup, pancakes with strawberry jam and sour cream (so good). Really more than we expected.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank cararro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

We took the notorious Flåm Railway to Myrdal and picked up our pre-reserved bikes at Cafe Rallaren. Bikes were good quality and well-maintained. Bike trip back to Flåm was the best experience!
Tip #1 Downhill on the gravel can be a bit tricky and is suitable only for experienced bikers.
Tip #2 If you take a right turn after approx. 1 km from Myrdal (instead of the classical road to Flåm) and continue for another kilometer, you can stop by a beautiful Reinungavatnet lake and then return to the road to Flåm.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank DraganZdovc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on our way to Oslo. They only serve 2 hot dishes: a soup for 90 kr and a microwave lasagna for 135 kr. I took the lasagna cause you can’t do anything wrong with that. But it was quite small so fairly overprices for that size.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank 91_taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018 via mobile

We hired bikes to cycle back to Flam. We had pre-reserved. Bikes were good quality and well maintained and supplied with helmets. The cycle ride down is simply awesome! A must do. It’s all downhill and the scenery is absolutely amazing.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Chris_and_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rallaren also viewed

Flam, Aurland Municipality

Been to Cafe Rallaren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing