We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional Italian Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Belgirate
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian Hotel”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Milano for 4 nights and had a great stay. It is definitley not the place to go if you like chain hotels or anywhere with no character. It is traditional and has very quirky decor. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and the setting cannot be beaten- so peaceful and beautiful!

Room Tip: email the hotel to ask for a lake view room- they will do their best to accomodate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gengens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    24
    11
    25
See reviews for
19
61
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We came in from Florida via Dusseldorf and we were dead tired. We made sure we had a reservation in a four star hotel so we could sleep and regroup.
What a surprise this place was. It has a beautiful view, but the old wall paper was peeling and stained. The beds had holes in the b ox springs, and you had to lie in the exact middle. Otherwise you were dumped onto the floor.
Only several rooms had air conditioning, and the picture shown on the wrb site is actually a hotel down the road.
We left promptly the next morning and missed a day on the beautiful lake.
This is a 1 1/2 star hotel.

Room Tip: Run, dont walk away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donnajendlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Belgirate hotels

West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
176 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We loved this hotel! It's modern and comfortable, yet has an air of the heydays of the Italian Lakes in the 1950s and 60s. We sat on the terrace beside the lake and half expected a Riva speedboat driven by a blazer-wearing Playboy to pull alongside and for Sophia Loren to step ashore!

Our room was a little dated, but clean and comfortable. Whatever you do, make sure you pay a little more for a lake view - it is stunning. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English.

The hotel doesn't have a pool, but you can use the one at their sister hotel about 400 yards away. Very nice pool in the gardens above the hotel with a great view of the lake.

One small word of caution. The hotel advertises live music every Saturday night, but we didn't realise how late it would go on. The place was packed and the band played very loud Mexican music until midnight and then there was loud dancing music until 1 am. Not ideal if you're trying to get some sleep before an early start - but if that's your kind of thing, pay your 42 Euros for the buffet, wine and dancing and have a great time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Hotel Milano. The setting was amazing, right on the lake! We had breakfast on the terrace overlooking beautiful Lake Maggiori and watched the lovely boats on their journeys. The breakfast was fine..fruit, eggs, yogurts, croissants, cheeses, breads, cakes, though it was exactly the same everyday, a change would have been nice.
The Hotel is very charismatic and old fashioned and I kept expecting Sophia Loren to turn up anytime. It has a lovely ambience about it. If you are into five star contemporary then this isn't for you. It's quirky, it's eccentric and it's wonderful. They played lovely old fashioned music and one evening had a live violinist.
It was very clean and the staff were excellent and very professional.
Lots of nice places to eat and drink within walking distance, and only five minutes walk to the ferry.
I absolutely loved my stay here, but I don't do flash five stars, I prefer somewhere with character, with a soul and that is what this hotel offered. I shall certainly return!

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room with a balcony and lake view. Beware on Saturday nights they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaqsta13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake Region, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

When traveling to Italy we always begin our trip at this wonderful Old Hotel on the water of Lago Maggiore. This year was our 10th time staying there..Because we love the view and the staff we stayed 5 days at the end of our trip to relax before coming back to the states.. The room has a great view of the Lake, we love sipping wine on our balcony, The rooms are very clean,
We eat every nite there why go anywhere else when the Food is so wonderful here. The waiters remember us and treat us like family as does the rest of the staff. Friday and Saturday;s they have live music with Luciano Pavan on the violin who is so very talented, Oh so romantic to sit looking out at the sunset listening to music and drinking good wine eating good food.. If you want a real Italian treat stay with these wonderful folks at Hotel Milano you will not be disappointed.
keep in mind that this is a family run Hotel, it is older but kept up very well. Oh and don't forget to have a wonderful Vodka Sorbeto as a desert after dinner yummy Oh it also very close walk to Ferry Boats, and has a small sandy Private beach to pick up some rays.our go to the sister Hotel for a swim in a very beautiful setting up high on the hill. Ciao enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony with views of Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mntnona2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

we stayed fro 3 nights in early October so temperature was never an issue. Folks were friendly and helpful, breakfast was included and adequate. Parking was free.
The guest rooms were older and slightly tired. The bathrooms and closets were tiny. The Hotel is way past its prime. Served as a great base to explore the lakes but other than sleeping we spent no time there. Which is a shame, Hotel Milano is on the water while all other hotels up and down the lake have the main road betweem them and the lake. This was a much less expensive property than those 4 miles north in Stresa. I'd probably stay again (but would certainly research other options) - my wife would not stay there again. She just felt Lago Maggiore deserved a classier hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwwarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were not told in the reception that there is no air conditioner in the room. However, we decided to stay because the view from the terrace was amazing. It was the wrong decision! It was a night that we will never forget … we didn’t get any sleep. It was hot, and much worse, stuffy with a moldy smell (The carpet was wet and the walls and scieling had big old stains of dried water). The mattress moved freely and made a terrible noise.
In total the room needs a total renovation, and i would not have given it even a 1 star rating. not worth the mony (95 Euro).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belgirate
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Carlotta
Hotel Villa Carlotta
#2 of 3 in Belgirate
18 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#13 of 35 in Stresa
219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Relais Casali della Cisterna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Blue Relais
Blue Relais
#1 of 3 in Castelletto sopra Ticino
237 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Palma Hotel
La Palma Hotel
#2 of 35 in Stresa
1,212 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Milan Speranza Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Property: Hotel Milano
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 4, 28832 Belgirate, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Lake Maggiore > Belgirate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Belgirate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Milano 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Milano is situated in Belgirate, in a panoramic position overlooking Lake Maggiore, only 5 km from Stresa, 34 km from Malpensa airport, 50 minutes from Milan fair Rho-Pero and 1 hour from Milan city. The hotel offers a wonderful terrace Restaurant, spacious common areas for ceremonies and banquets, an American Bar and private beach. Guests may use the swimming pool, free of charge, located in Villa Carlotta park (400 mt. away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Belgirate
Belgirate Best Western
Milano Hotel Belgirate
Hotel Milano Belgirate, Lake Maggiore, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing