We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont GO there”
Review of Brasserie L'Ocean

Brasserie L'Ocean
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our first night out in Hardelot and after reading positive reviews I suggested that my husband and two kids (aged 3+6) tried this restaurant out.

It was a nice evening so we took a table outside. As one reveiew mentioned the austere is not exactly inviting but we thought we would go with it as there wasn't much choice along the front and the views were amazing we thought why not....

This is where it went down hill-after odering our food which was very presentable, we start to tuck in and then are met with the biggest sand storm EVER so we all run for cover inside leaving our food - kids crying we can hardly see- imagine the scene. After taking shelter we went inside and our food was brought in covered in sand and we were expected to pick our way through it!! Now I had Fruit de Mere so I asked it to be rinsed but the kids food and my husband was covered in half of the beach-reluctantly the head waiter changed the food although rather than the pasta and veg we ordred for the kids he came back with chips and my husband got a small piece of fish and some crispy chips.........not the service we expeced. Although the maitre d took off the kids food he wouldn't replace it and 80 euros later was not a great first impression of what we thought was a quaint little seaside French village

Will not be going back to this restaurant as it was MERDE

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SaraMil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Max L, Directeur général at Brasserie L'Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

Reading your review shows dissatisfaction, which you detail we thoroughly done, we can only regret but understand.
In the circumstance exceptionnele weather with unpredictable situations climatic consequences that are amplified by the sea were to be in a situation when your meal.
It is clear that the panic was large with sand, wind and rain .... and certainly contenable with diffiulté to prevent all types of accidents las.
We present toues We apologize for the inconvenience to your manager Laquel rank had latitude to solve.
Against by our attendance and miliiers meals we serve all year confirms that we are not in a étabkissement qualifier employee.
We Ommes available to you in the usual conditions.
Yours faithfully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 382 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

A table by the window by the sea, fresh fish caught that day (ling), good service, the only thing was that the Muscadet could have been colder. Still very nice and a reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bigjake33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Max L, Directeur général at Brasserie L'Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

You have a great memory of your fish meals taken by the sea in our restaurant.
We are blessed and we thank you for having informed.
Indeed, we only work with fish and scrustacés charges provenace port nearby.
A slight cloud in the background, the Muscadet Sevre et Maine not cool enough, we hope you've pointed out to our Chief rank, who had all Latitute to repair the breach.
We will be available to you as soon as you receive serz on our coast.
Yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Found this place on the seafront at Hardelot Plage. Don't let it's rather austere outside put you off, this is a lovely restaurant. A very varied menu with something for everyone.
My wife and I both chose Salads. They were huge in size and huge in taste.
Mine was a Seafood salad with a large variety of seafood, varies salad leaves and pieces of fruit. My wife's 'local; salad was equally good.
Staff were very friendly and attentive, although not intrusive. The place got quite busy over the lunchtime period, which is indicative of how good a place is, although no apparent delays. We were served very promptly, but not rushed.
We sat outside with lovely views of the beach and sea. When in Hardelot Plage again, I know where I will go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank NCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Max L, Directeur général at Brasserie L'Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2014

It is with great satisfaction that you have taken your meal etween beachfront restaurant and we are happy.
This is a team that is full moblisée Wellbeing customers.
Our products are fresh and mostly from the sea through the nearby port.
We Ommes attached to contributfs opinion and thank you for taking your time to let us know.
We are pleased to receive you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie L'Ocean also viewed

Hardelot Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Hardelot Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 
Hardelot Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Hardelot Plage, Pas-de-Calais
 
Hardelot Plage, Pas-de-Calais
Neufchatel-Hardelot, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to Brasserie L'Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing