We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel near Mont St. Michel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge de La Selune
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ducey
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel near Mont St. Michel”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The setting is uniquely beautiful overlooking the picturesque Selune River. Patrice and Sandra are the 4 th generation to run the hotel. The rooms are large and bathrooms are immaculately clean. We have stayed there many times. The little town is quaint, not much to do ,however we love to walk in the evenings on the path along the Selune. You can take easy day trips to Mont St Michel and to all the lovely little towns on the rugged Brittany coast both north and south of Ducy. Walking around the bay on the salt marshes with thousands of sheep is a sight to behold. We return every night to wonderful meals served on white tablecloths in the pretty dinning room or on the terrace in the flower garden. The chef takes pride in local produce, fish and seafood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the garden side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryart123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice G, Gérant at Auberge de La Selune, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I see it is not the first time you come at the Auberge and we are very happy you come back. All your reviews about our location are right, and Tripadvisor users have to know one thing: do not hesitate to ask us questions about the organisation of your trip when you are here, il will be a pleasure for us that you feel well all day long in our region, and not only in our Auberge.
See you again when you will come back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    58
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
115
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

A really lovely, simple hotel right on the river, with a delightful small garden and access to cycling routes east and west of Ducey. The owners worked incredibly hard to make life pleasant for their guests, and our room was perfect - comfortable beds with immaculate white linen. Best of all was the food, both at breakfast and dinner. Dinner was very good value for the quality and originality. I was very taken with the camembert ice-cream with apple meringue, and every course we tried was superb. Excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernestine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice G, Gérant at Auberge de La Selune, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for this review that really shows who we are. We first are a hotel AND a restaurant, where we try to do our best for your night AND your meal. We also try to be a little charming house, we are not a luxury hotel, but a simple familial house where you can feel well in our garden beside the Sélune river. We just try to do our best so that you can relax as best as you can. We are really pleased you have felt all this and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on our driving trip around France. It really was fantastic. During our holiday we spent around the same amount each night for our accommodation and this was by far the best we stayed in. The room was lovely and comfortable and the service was outstanding! The lovely couple who ran the hotel couldn't have done more to make our stay better! They were extremely friendly, helpful and spoke perfect english. This hotel was fantastic value and we would definitely recommend it and return if we were in the area again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice G, Gérant at Auberge de La Selune, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for this comment. I suppose our english is not so perfect and I am sure you will find some mistakes in my answer :-) . We are happy you noticed that all our work is done in a certain respect of its value. We try to be right in our prices and to find the right balance between the quality we want to give you and the economical abilities of everyone. We are happy to see with your comment that we succeed in it.
Maybe we can see you again another time.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel was perfect,accommodation, location, friendliness and food. We were there during the Tour de France, which by chance passed the hotel front door. When we arrived home, we were sent a photo taken by the proprietor of ourselves in the crowd by the door as the yellow jersey rode past - what a wonderful souvenir of a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice G, Gérant at Auberge de La Selune, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Tour de France time trial stage Avranches / Mont-Saint-Michel passing the hotel front door was really a unique experience for us too, that I am telling about on our blog "Sélune inside". We had pleasure in living such an event and we are really happy you had this same pleasure. Thank you again and we hope to see you another more normal time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for one night when visiting Mont St Michel and the surrounding area. The hotel is situated on the bank of a small river and a very picturesque location. The chateau nearby is well worth a visit and was free (an art exhibition was inside). The proprietors of the hotel were very pleasant and spoke excellent English. We had a meal in their restaurant and can only describe the food as excellent and beautifully presented. We will certainly visit again.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that are in a building adjacent to the main building which might be noisy as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtlington
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I just have to agree with all the positive comments by other reviewers. This hotel is a gem, and retains an individual French style which many made-over places have sacrificed to the corporate anywhere-in-the-world look. When I came to pay, I was told that I'd been charged the half-board price as it was in my favour (it saved about 15 euros). That is how to get repeat business and good recommendations.

Room Tip: We were given a room overlooking the garden, a bit quieter than cheaper rooms on the road side. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The welcome was friendly, the room was comfortable, clean with nice toiletries in the bathroom, the staff were helpful and spoke English and the food? Well, it was just superb both in preparation and in presentation and a delight to eat!
To find such a wonderful hotel in such a small town and to meet all our requirements gave us a terrific start to our holiday.
This hotel shows how all Logis should be, but I am afraid that some get away with much lower standards
For us, a return to La Selune is a must and the sooner the better!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeysuckle3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ducey
0.0 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
2.1 mi away
Le Gue du Holme
Le Gue du Holme
#1 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
203 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel La Ramade
Hotel La Ramade
#1 of 5 in Avranches
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Hotel Montgomery
3.2 mi away
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Saint Michel
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Sain...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
461 reviews
8.8 mi away
Auberge de la Baie
Auberge de la Baie
#1 of 1 in Ardevon
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de La Selune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de La Selune

Property: Auberge de La Selune
Address: 2 rue Saint Germain, 50220 Ducey, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Ducey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ducey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge de La Selune 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20mn from Mont-Saint-Michel, the Auberge de la Sélune is a gourmet hotel-restaurant which serves a home-made cooking with fresh products. In summer, come and taste the lamb AOP Prés Salés of the Mont Saint-Michel. The hotel has a flowery garden and is along the Selune river, on the border of the charming Ducey village. Strongly recommended reservation. Book directly for better prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Auberge de La Selune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing