We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort with a breath of fresh country air.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Moulin aux Draps
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Desvres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2011

A friendly welcome and attention to the little details which make a stop worthwhile. The restaurant was pleasant with a good selection of dishes for our evening meal. Set in pleasant surroundings, even on a grey February day, a relaxing environment after a long day's travelling. Well placed for the Channel Ports away from busy establishments and noise. A good night's sleep. Safe parking.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frenchholiday01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Moulin aux Draps
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 117 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2010

Looked for a hotel near the Tunnel prior to returning to UK and were delighted with La Ferme. The room wasn't particularly large but it was clean and comfortable. The minibar was stocked and not over priced and the food in the restaurant was suprisingly good. One minor cavil - tiny towels in the bathroom. OK the recession bites but nothing is worse than economies like that, and it's becoming more common all over France.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aucassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Heading across the Channel this hotel is well placed for Calais. Although it took a bit of finding, the hotel is well located and the setting restful and scenic. Check-in was swift and efficient, with my heavy bag being taken to my first floor room for me without me needing to ask, as the hotel doesn't have a lift. The first floor is built into the eaves, as was my room, so you need to take care not to bang your head on the sloping ceilings. This also makes the rooms cosy, but quite hot, which might be a problem in warmer weather. The bathroom was of a high standard, smart and sleek, although the room itself was decorated in more 'country' style. Breakfast was simple and buffet style, with some cooked items available such as sausages and scrambled eggs, something that is not often on offer in France. The owners and staff were helpful and attentive, though not much English is spoken. Overall a really pleasant stay and good value for money, so I'll be returning again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Channelhopper30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Hotel is clean and tidy, ideal for an overnight before moving south or returning to the UK. Reception was helpful and polite, book in advance for Dinner. Breakfast is a bit expensive!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvenEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Ridiculous prices for fake 'charme'. Comfortable, in a beautiful setting, but that's all there is to recommend it. Food in the restaurant was good, but expensive for what it was. The cheaper formula was not available, though according to the menu it should have been.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midgeIsleofWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVRARD C, Manager at Hotel du Moulin aux Draps, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are sorry about your desapointement about the restaurant.
In fact the brasserie formula is available from the monday to the friday (at lunch). It's written on the card inside and outside the hotel and the restaurant.

We hope to welcoming you again,

thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed just one night, and wished it had been a bit longer. The hotel is in the country on the outskirts of Desvres, a pleasant small town with artisan pottery works.
The welcome was warm and friendly, the first floor room was fine for a three star hotel. Ours had views down the green valley with forest on either side. Plenty of wildlife to be interesting.
We had dinner in the restaurant, but as it was a Monday, there was a more limited choice, but for about 18 euros each without drinks, the three course Table d'Hote gave a reasonable selection, all well presented and tasty. In comparison, the continental breakfast at about 12 euros each seemed overpriced but was adequate if with a limited selection.
Would definitely use it again for a similar stopover, but the interesting and pretty villages around make it worth a slightly longer stay than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We booked less than 24 hours before arrival through Booking.com - the receptionist knew this and gave us our key with no request for a creditcard or registration - totally relaxing.
We found the hotel quite easily - use a Michelin map and plan ahead.
The breakfast was more than adequate and the total price for bed and breakfast for 2 people (88 euros) compared favourably with similar hotels in the UK.
We sampled the bistro menu (15 euros for 2 courses) and the cheaper of the fixed price menus (26 euros for 3 courses) - lovely food including fish,which can be quite expensive.
The weather was quite wet and cold on one day and we found the hotel bedroom more than warm enough.
Staff were friendly and efficient - and their collection of animals gave us a feeling of being on a smallholding.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DilPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desvres
6.8 mi away
Hotel Ferme de La Raterie
Hotel Ferme de La Raterie
#2 of 2 in Wierre-Effroy
130 reviews
6.1 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
619 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#2 of 3 in Neufchatel-Hardelot
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
Les Jardins d'Hardelot
#1 of 3 in Neufchatel-Hardelot
450 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Des Argousiers
Hotel Des Argousiers
#1 of 1 in Ambleteuse
268 reviews
7.3 mi away
hotelF1 Boulogne sur Mer
hotelF1 Boulogne sur Mer
#11 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Moulin aux Draps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Moulin aux Draps

Address: Rue De Cremarest, 62240 Desvres, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Desvres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Desvres
Price Range: $84 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Moulin aux Draps 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Moulin is a charming, modern, three-star hotel tucked away in the peaceful countryside of the Pas-de-Calais, near the village of Desvres in Northern France. We are only forty minutes from the Eurotunnel at Calais and within striking distance of the Opal Coast, Boulogne, Lille, World War historical sites, fascinating museums, fantastic restaurants and golf courses with beautiful countryside you can explore by foot or bicycle. Le Moulin is a convenient over-night stop as you drive through France, the perfect place for a quiet weekend away and an ideal location from which to explore the secrets of this fascinating region. Restful nights, magical mornings You will definitely get a good night's sleep at Le Moulin. This is a truly tranquil location and our scrupulously clean rooms with comfy beds, lovely cotton duvets and blackout blinds are conducive to deep slumber! In the morning, the sound of birdsong in the woods and the ducks having a dip in the pond add to the peaceful atmosphere. Whether you are here on business, taking a break in the stunning Opal Coast or simply overnighting near Calais, we promise you a restful night and a magical morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Moulin aux Draps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Desvres
Desvres Best Western
Best Western Hotel Desvres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing