We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, close to Channel Tunnel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Moulin aux Draps
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Desvres
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, close to Channel Tunnel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We spent two nights in this charming, peaceful hotel which is situated just outsider of Desvres. It is surrounded by beautiful country with many walks in the forest for those who like walking. Desvres is a quaint town renowned for its faience. Not far away is Boulogne which an interesting walled city as well as a modern town close by the port. The restaurant was excellent and not expensive. The rooms were clean and the staff very helpful and pleasant. We will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    37
    16
    12
    8
See reviews for
22
63
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

The location was perfect. The room was well appointed, clean with views over the fields. The food was superb and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. All in all a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treetops09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

This was our 3rd visit, but hte first time we managed to sample the food. The 1st time was during the December snow storms that hit France severely. We were the only ones there, a couch load of people had cancelled, thay had closed the restaurant early due to the storm but we had a lovely meal in aneighbouring village. The 2nd time we arrived VERY late but they gave us an excellent plate of cheeses.
The couple that run it are VERY kind and wonderful

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HermanandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Lovely location. Ideal for families with ducks, cats, goats and a donkey. Not a smelly farm just a few animals to give the place character. We didn't use the restaurant but looked nice. Very charming place. Our only complaint was lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room but this is normal in France. Take your kettle from home and some tea bags.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgchamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVRARD C, Manager at Hotel du Moulin aux Draps, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are terribly sorry about this lack, but as its written in the guest directory tea and coffe making facilities are available on demand at reception.

We hope that you 'll be back in our Hotel,

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Nice hotel in lovely surroundings . Friendly staff and more than adequate rooms .

Evening meal was a delight - recommended to book in advance - and breakfast also good including scrambled eggs/ bacon if required .

Free parking with security cameras .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redrumUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

Beware if you have any problems during your stay: the aggressive (woman) owner/manager of the hotel obviously has very little skills in dealing with customers.

We had an issue with the housekeeping during our 5-day stay: One day they entered our room at 8:45 in the morning without knocking; the second day our room wasn't made up at all. We complained that evening and of course expected an apology and an assurance that it won't happen again.

Instead, we were treated quite aggressively by the female manager/owner of the hotel, who accused us of lying about the first incident, and of not respecting the "clearly posted rules" on housekeeping: according to her, keys have to be at the reception at 11am sharp or the room will not be made up that day. Of course the only thing posted is that check-in is at 3pm and check-out is at 11am, which would lead you to conclude that housekeeping takes place between 11 and 3. On the day when our room was not made up we had left the hotel for the day at around 11:15am. She gave us one(!!) large towel and 2 small towels and said there is nothing more she can do. We were quite shocked by her behaviour, which was definitely not appropriate for a 3-star Best Western hotel.

Therefore: avoid this hotel at all costs, especially for stays of more than one night.

Rooms are nicely decorated, although they're on the small side and you can hear a lot from your neighbours. The soft mattress has an uncomfortable rubber protective cover.

All of this is a pity because the hotel itself is quite nice, with a quiet and charming countryside location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVRARD C, Manager at Hotel du Moulin aux Draps, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are terribly sorry to know that your stay was not a succes. In fact, we didn't find a certain agreement. However, understand that we are a small hotel and that the room staff is present only in the morning, what leaves not enough time to make all the rooms if there is a late departure. We made that for you, to gave you the service you request and to assure the cleanliness of your room.
So concerning the matress pad , its an element present to assure the hygiene in all the hotels, not just in our Hôtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parcay Les Pins
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

A friendly welcome and attention to the little details which make a stop worthwhile. The restaurant was pleasant with a good selection of dishes for our evening meal. Set in pleasant surroundings, even on a grey February day, a relaxing environment after a long day's travelling. Well placed for the Channel Ports away from busy establishments and noise. A good night's sleep. Safe parking.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frenchholiday01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desvres
6.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau Clery
Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
13.1 mi away
Kyriad Le Touquet - Etaples
9.8 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#2 of 3 in Neufchatel-Hardelot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
La Ferme du Vert
La Ferme du Vert
#1 of 2 in Wierre-Effroy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Ferme de La Raterie
Hotel Ferme de La Raterie
#2 of 2 in Wierre-Effroy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
17.3 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Moulin aux Draps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Moulin aux Draps

Property: Hotel du Moulin aux Draps
Address: Rue De Cremarest, 62240 Desvres, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Desvres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Desvres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Moulin aux Draps 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Moulin is a charming, modern, three-star hotel tucked away in the peaceful countryside of the Pas-de-Calais, near the village of Desvres in Northern France. We are only forty minutes from the Eurotunnel at Calais and within striking distance of the Opal Coast, Boulogne, Lille, World War historical sites, fascinating museums, fantastic restaurants and golf courses with beautiful countryside you can explore by foot or bicycle. Le Moulin is a convenient over-night stop as you drive through France, the perfect place for a quiet weekend away and an ideal location from which to explore the secrets of this fascinating region. Restful nights, magical mornings You will definitely get a good night's sleep at Le Moulin. This is a truly tranquil location and our scrupulously clean rooms with comfy beds, lovely cotton duvets and blackout blinds are conducive to deep slumber! In the morning, the sound of birdsong in the woods and the ducks having a dip in the pond add to the peaceful atmosphere. Whether you are here on business, taking a break in the stunning Opal Coast or simply overnighting near Calais, we promise you a restful night and a magical morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Moulin aux Draps reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Desvres
Desvres Best Western
Best Western Hotel Desvres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing