We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Seinajoki
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hotel”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Near railway station located more spanis style restaurant but hotel is still very finnish and cosy. Clean rooms and most of them have suna.
televisions are not very good but still. Situated very well for Seinäjoki. Easy to walk everywhere in city.

Room Tip: Ask to have room with sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    38
    26
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
15
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The hotelroom was clean and spacious, but the shower should be renovated. Normal Sokos hotel; everything works but no fancy.

Breakfast was normal Finnish breakfast and is served in enough big room.

There's a Fransmanni restaurant. Service was there nice but serving started a little bit slowly. The reception service was excelent in the evening and basic at morning. No complains though.

Roomprice was suprisingly high for a town like Seinäjoki.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PauliM945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is definately better choice than Hotel Lakeus (both belonging to same chain of hotels).

The rooms are okayish. Pleasant stay, but for that quiet time of year the pricing felt like a highway robbery. So you can't really say you will be receiving value for your money. Same price you can have a night in Berlin or in Helsinki.

When you don't really have choices this is probably what you are getting in this Town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deadpixel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel with my wife for three nights when attending a convention in Seinäjoki. We chose a superior room, which we found to be of quite fair size. The furniture was slightly old stylish but the bed was good.

The hotel has a restaurant on the ground level. We only had some drinks there and found the service to be very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-JA_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed with my wife 2 nights in this hotel. Hotel Vaakuna was good choise. Our room was clean, bed was comfortable and hotel overall was nice and quiet. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard, but this means no complaints. Parking is nicely located right below the hotel in hotel garage. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jouni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulunsalo, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Sokos hotel Vaakuna belongs to S-hotels chain in Finland and is accompanied with another S-hotel Lakeus at Seinäjoki. Vaakuna is a good example of how S-hotels usually are; it's clean and quite newly renovated. Rooms are not very large but they have all the necessary amenities, not luxury but still meets the demands. Breakfast in Vaakuna is as good as normally in S-hotels, though maybe just a tiny bit smaller in selection than some other S-hotels.

The hotel is located in the very centre of Seinäjoki. It is easy to explore the town by walking and one can find quite decent selection of services nearby. If you arrive by car, there are some parking places on the street just opposite the hotel, or you can choose to drive in to a parking garage just next to the main entrance.

What I learned while staying in Vaakuna is that unlike many other S-hotels, the superior rooms do not have a sauna as I thought they would have. So, if you feel like you want to have a room with Sauna in a S-hotel in Seinäjoki, then you might want to choose S-hotel Lakeus just 400m away from Vaakuna. They have superior rooms with sauna as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikoFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Lovely hotel, very clean and presented. A large sauna on each floor which are spotlessly clean and very relaxing.
Good restaurant within hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seinajoki
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Lakeus
0.1 mi away
Cumulus Seinajoki
Cumulus Seinajoki
#4 of 4 in Seinajoki
52 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Sorsanpesa
Hotel Sorsanpesa
#2 of 4 in Seinajoki
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel Simpsionkullas
Hotel Simpsionkullas
#1 of 2 in Lapua
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotelli-Ravintola Alma
Hotelli-Ravintola Alma
#1 of 4 in Seinajoki
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Address: Kauppatori 3, Seinajoki 60100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southern Ostrobothnia > Seinajoki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Seinajoki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pleasant Hotel situated near a shopping center, 500 meters from train station & 15 km from Seinajoki-Ilmajoki Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing