We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heinola
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The outstanding feature of this hotel is the location. It is on the edge of a lake with superb views of the water and a large bridge in the distance. The outlook from the breakfast room/ restaurant is beautiful. We stayed here a couple of years ago and noticed that the area near the reception has been renovated recently. There was a problem with our reservation on arrival but this was quickly resolved. We were given a very nice room with a balcony and a great view of the lake. It had a double bed and seemed to have been renovated recently with a modern bathroom. It may have been a deluxe room even though we paid for a standard room.The breakfast was acceptable with a small range of hot and cold food. We did not use the restaurant as we had a car and travelled to the centre of the town for a meal. The rooms facing the car park would not have been as enjoyable.
We had a very enjoyable stay here and would most certainly come again provided we could get a room with a lake view. We did not use the spa section of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    3
    0
    5
See reviews for
5
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Sorry to say, but the new spa area and the old hotel are from two different worlds! The spa was nice and stylish, but staying in the hotel ruined the experience. It almost seemed like these two facilites would be owned and run by two different owners. The hotel seems more like a motel, even though the price was as high as in a luxury spa hotel.
We stayed one night in late January, and it was certainly low season and most of the hotel was empty. Still, we were given a worst room ever with very ugly view over the parking lot. So, unless you pay for superior, don't expect a lake-side room.
The room had very old and worn-out decor and it was in fact very dirty. The bathroom was worst with plastic floors in 70s colours and dark mold in the shower. The minibar was removed (there was supposed to be a vending machine for cold drinks in the hall, but it was, surprise, surprise broken. Two soft drinks from the bar cost almost 10 euros), the chair had visible stains and the remote control was greasy. The hotel book has ads on pre-Christmas parties in late January and some information in the book was dated.
The service in the hotel reminded me of a hotel school. Once we entered the spa we found out that you needed coins for the lockers, so we had to return to the room to get that. The spa was nice, but minor details spoiled it a bit, like the fact that hot and cold walking pools were neither hot nor cold but kind of luke warm.
A friend had adviced us not to dine in the hotel. Well, we did, as walking several kms into the town during a snow storm did not appeal.A big mistake. I'm not particularly picky, but the food was worse than in a gas station cafeteria. I ordered Devil's chicken with risotto and got obviously frozen food warmed in a microwave. "The devil's chicen" (19 euros) was plain chicken with industrially made sweet chili souce. The "risotto" was actually just risella - plain boiled rice, not other incredients added. We complained to the waiter, but she explained that the "chef" had answered that the risotto was made "according to the instructions". First, I serioudly doubt that there was a chef, secondly, I'm sure the rice was boiled according to the instructions in the box. This, however, does not make it a risotto. I was surprised that we were not given any refund or even free cup of coffee. I just checked the menu and noticed that they have luckily changed the menu to include "vegetable rice" instead of risotto.
The best was yet to come. We returned to our room and were ready to go to sleep. Unfortunately my husband touched the light switch and almost got an electric shock. All the electricity and lights in the room (and in fact the entire wing) were out. The reception gave us another room next door, but changing rooms and collecting our things in dark at 1 am in the night did not exactly meet my expectations of a hotel room that we paid 130 euros in a small town out of season. We would have assumed a better room and a refund for this, but the new room was as bad as the original. The mold issue was also evident and no wonder there was problems with electricity - the lamp in the new room was wierdly fixed with a regular tape. Not very safe. We got a refund of 9 euros when cheking out, but it was still clearly overpriced for what it was.
Just a hint: for the same price you pay for Kumpeli hotel standard (more like economy) room, you will get a luxury hotel in Helsinki or a room in a proper spa hotel like Långvik in Kirkkonummi. Can't believe such a hotel is still up and running. A majority of spa guest seemed to be day-visitors, a wise and recommended strategy. Go for the spa if you are in town, but stay somewhere else, such as Scandic Vierumäki. Dine in Kettu and Kana in Heinola town centre and forget the restaurant in Kumpeli.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heinola hotels

Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Visiting Heinola two days on business, I needed a quiet place to sleep. Also, after a long day it would be nice to relax. So I stayed one night in spa hotel Kumpeli. The room was clean and quiet, and there was a beautiful lake view. The spa was a nice surprice: small but pleasant. Different types of saunas and jacuzzis, I really was able to relax. Breakfast was excellent and staff was polite. I do recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kariv7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We attended a wedding in Heinola, stayed 2 nights. I have to be truthful and say we did not experience any problems. The spa was superb and looking out at the snow while in the Jacuzzi was great. A wide variety of foods available for breakfast. hot oats, cinnamon and sugar with cream, just great. We did not eat any other meals at the hotel so cannot comment on meals.

The only suggestion would be to have complimentary tea and coffee either in the rooms or at reception.
All in all a good stay.
Beware, taxis are very expensive!!!

Room Tip: Lake view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne_a_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Oh man, where to begin. stayed there for 4 nights, not by choice. This hotel is absolutly stunning grounds, lakes, walkways etc. it is extremely close to the town of heinola, and very close to a 'kind of ' water park. Excellant for swimming, surrounded by fantastic lakes, and you can direcctly walk out through reception and dive into the lake. BUT wow, this hotel is so old, dangerous and definatly not for familys. Seriously Expensive, for a 2 star. It would barely pass as a hostel in ireland. No baths, just showers, which were not very clean. After a day of walking around, coming back to the hotel, and standing then for another 10 mins in a shower was not very nice. Weather was unbeliveably hot, and there was no air conditioning, so reception provided us with a fan..... (great)... Twin beds, for couples. All they have are twin beds, even in the HONEYMOON/BRIDAL (so-called suite). I really wouldnt stay here, it was really really bad, service was crap. Everything is closed on a Sunday, the restaurant, the spa, the swimming pool, everything in the hotel is closed... And it also costs €20 a pop to use anything... Altogether, Really really really good surroundings, but stay in a different hotel... not recommened.... And when booking, we were told Yes of course there is Air Conditioning........ and of course, there is not. Also, its usually €120 per night, for a twin room, FOR A 2 STAR........

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlkenRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

the older members of staff were not helpful or accomodating, they squashed five beds into a double room for myself, husband and three children. No air conditioning, no fans, no bottles of still water, no towels left in the room, ants in the ground floor rooms.
The bar was overpriced, the restuarant was closed on sunday, the pool was 20euro per person to use each time. The old play ground was very dangerous, everything in it was rotting. Some of the balconeys were very unsafe for children, large gaps between the bars. My family of 20 people were there for 4 nights as my brother was getting married in heinola, we would all have nothing good to say about the place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duke70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heinola
6.8 mi away
Scandic Vierumaki
Scandic Vierumaki
#1 of 2 in Vierumaki
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
19.5 mi away
Solo Sokos Hotel Lahti Seurahuone
19.8 mi away
Scandic Lahti
Scandic Lahti
#2 of 6 in Lahti
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Cumulus Lahti
Cumulus Lahti
#3 of 6 in Lahti
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
19.7 mi away
Kauppahotelli Grand
Kauppahotelli Grand
#5 of 6 in Lahti
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
6.3 mi away
Vierumaki Country Club Ilkka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli

Property: Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli
Address: Muonamiehenkatu 3, Heinola 18100, Finland
Location: Finland > Tavastia Proper > Heinola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heinola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Finlandia Hotel Kumpeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing